Nod32 V4 rootkit detection?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Paul Bradley, Apr 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul Bradley

    Paul Bradley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    I just recently upgraded to version 4 and am having an issue. With version 3 when I plugged in a flash drive, or another hard drive, if it had a rootkit on it, NOD would immediately pop up warning me of it and remove it. Since version 4 I do not get this, and one hard drive I know has a rootkit it wouldnt even detect it. Is there something I need to turn on? If not, is there an option to manually update definitions with version 3? I had rather go back to that if possible. I liked the scan interface much better.
     
  2. Hagla007

    Hagla007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    "I just recently upgraded to version 4". Why don't you test out version 5?
     
  3. Paul Bradley

    Paul Bradley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    I did. Didnt like 5 at all. Maybe I'm just used to 3. It was easy to use and very user friendly.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    No manual updates, I'm afraid. What rootkit was on the drive?
     
  5. Paul Bradley

    Paul Bradley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    Backdoor.Multi.ZAccess.gen
    Virus.Win32.ZAccess.h
    Rootkit.Boot.Pihar.b

    TDSSkiller and Combofix both detect these, but cant remove them for some reason. Trying not to have to format the drive.

    Combofix also pops up something about tcp/ip stack infection but dont remember the exact wording there.
     
  6. get_it

    get_it Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Posts:
    99
    If you are certain that your hard drive has a rootkit on it and you are testing detection submit the file to ESET for analysis.

    Otherwise have you tried creating an ESET SysRescue bootable CD or USB flash drive and scanning with that?

    V5 might appear alien at first but it is very user friendly, simple to navigate and coming from V4 doesn't require much time to familiarise with, not to mention the latest product version superior to both V4 & V3.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.