NOD32 v4 Problem

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by stufos, Jul 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stufos

    stufos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    All fine until a couple of days ago. The icon was not in the sys tray. I was then given an "error communicating with kernel" message.

    I uninstalled, but when I tried to reinstall I was told that the installer didn't have the privileges to alter certain files. I'm thus unable to use NOD32,even though I've paid for it, and am forced to use Avira instead.

    What's going on? I'm the sole user and admin of this computer.

    All thoughts welcome.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    sounds like malware
    see google cache and possible solution
    http://209.85.229.132/search?q=cach...nel&cd=5&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=uk&client=firefox-a
    "..
    KB Solution ID: SOLN2280|Last Revised: June 26, 2009

    Your computer is probably infected with Win32/IRCBot.ANR. Besides other harmful activities, this infiltration disables correct operation of some vital parts of ESET Smart Security/ESET NOD32 Antivirus, which will result in the following error message: "Error communicating with kernel“ appearing after computer startup. An attempt to repair/reinstall the program will fail accompanied by an Insufficient User Rights error message.
    .."
     
  3. stufos

    stufos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks for that but it didn't work. I ran the fix and restarted. uninstalled Avira but could not install NOD32. Same message about privileges.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    what os (and service pack) and what version nod32?
     
  5. stufos

    stufos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Windows XP SP3 Nod32 v4
     
  6. stufos

    stufos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    I'm currently running an Eset online scan.
     
  7. stufos

    stufos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Nothing found on Eset online scan.

    Any more ideas? I have paid for a product which I'm being prevented from using.
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  9. stufos

    stufos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks for your help. Time for bed. Report back in the morning. :)
     
  10. stufos

    stufos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    I have this already. Maybe I'll do a Hijack This scan.
     
  11. Zyrtec

    Zyrtec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    USA

    Hi there,

    It seems that the malware that infected your computer placed some restrictions when it was loaded into your PC. Try running this command: START--->RUN and type in this in the Run box and hit Enter:
    secedit /configure /cfg %windir%\repair\secsetup.inf /db secsetup.sdb /verbose

    You can also visit microsoft.com and look for a program that will reset your security policy back to its default settings [it can be found here : http://support.microsoft.com/kb/313222]

    This program can also be helpful [notice that it will work on Win XP only]:
    http://www.dougknox.com/xp/utils/xp_securityconsole.htm

    But before doing all that try to get rid of this piece of malware using Malwarebytes Antimalware [free version] and SuperAntiSpyware [free version] and disable system restore.

    Hope this helps.

    Kind regards,

    Carlos
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.