NOD32 v4: are any files excluded automatically?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Reedmikel, Jan 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Reedmikel

Reedmikel Registered Member

Hi All,

I'm new to NOD32 and was wondering what files, if any, are automatically excluded from scans and real-time monitoring? e.g. pagefile.sys, hiberfil.sys etc?

I saw mention of automatic exclusions in a forum thread, but it lacked details and I found nothing in the NOD32 docs about what might be automatically excluded...

TIA,
    -Mike

2. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

Automatic file exclusions are first supported in the server product line 4.3. Version 5 scans files in a smart way and may skip those that are 100% clean (ensured by various mechanisms).

3. Reedmikel

My NOD32 client reports v 4.2.71.2, so I presume there are no automatic exclusions.

Is there a recommended list of typical exclusions that should be made for the various Windows operating systems?

Maybe there's a sample config (.xml) that contains typical exclusions?

4. Marcos

Unless you're running a server there's no need to exclude anything.

5. Reedmikel

Hmmm, all past AV products we've ever used recommended certain os files be excluded. Many products even auto-exclude such files, or provide a list in a sample policy/config.

So you're saying NOD32 will scan files like pagefile.sys, unless we specifically exclude them in our policy?

Even Microsoft has a list of files they recommend be excluded by AV products.

Maybe I misunderstood you Marcos - is it possible there are some files that NOD32 excludes by default (even though they may be hidden)?

6. Marcos

I'm not aware of any such list recommended by Microsoft for home versions of Windows. Files exclusively used by the oper. system are not scanned as the OS does not allow other apps to access them.

7. Reedmikel