Nod32 v4.0.467 and Windows 7 error when saving pictures from IE8...

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by GAN, Sep 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. djolehotsauce

    djolehotsauce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    If the account folder (C:\Users\"Username") lock, you don't fix a problem,
    If the account folder (C:\Users\"Username") not lock, you can save pictures without any problem.
     
  2. the1

    the1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    I would like to see if this works for anyone else. This was first mentioned to me in another forum however the error did indeed come back. Hence which led me here to these forums as I established it was an ESET error.
     
  3. Somahann

    Somahann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Just thought I would join up and say that I am too experiencing the same issue. This happens when using itunes, or when downloading file in Firefox and Chrome.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    I've tried installing the update mentioned in this thread as well as all available Win 7 updates to no avail. Everything works fine on Windows 7 x64 and neither me nor the developers and testers have encountered a problem saving files. Those who are willing to install a logging version of eamon.sys, PM me or let me know in this thread and I'll provide you with further instructions.
     
  5. kem

    kem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Same problem here. Win7 Ultimate x64.

    Seems to happen most when saving a download in IE.

    PLEASE RESOLVE THIS ISSUE - THANKS

    - KEM
     
  6. Jolo

    Jolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Then SOMETHING that ALL users are doing/installing, the ESET Dev team aren't.

    Could be a Device Driver, a Software, a Setting?

    I've read in other place (can't remember) that the Workgroup setting in Windows could be the problem. For example, I always change the Workgroup from my systems from "WORKGROUP" to "COMPANYNAME".

    Cheers.
     
  7. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,654
    Location:
    USA
    This could be a rights problem. Are you running as an administrator? Check your security settings under iexplorer. Windows 7 still has a few bugs to be worked out like not remembering folder settings, and it took me a good 40 minutes one day to get windows 7 to allow me to alter a folder on an external drive. No matter how many times i changed the folder's security settings it would not remember them. I believe a thread should be started on Windows 7 bugs alone. If you have eliminated this as a possibility then i apologize. I just did'nt feel like reading through this novel of a tread. :)
     
  8. kem

    kem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    I changed my workgroup name from the default immediately when I did a clean install of Win7 Ultimate (x64). Hopefully that will be a clue.

    - KEM
     
  9. kem

    kem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Thanks for your comments. In my case I always just try to save the file to my own desktop.

    - KEM
     
  10. the1

    the1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    I am up for the logginf Marcos.
     
  11. LeoPheonix

    LeoPheonix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I am still having diffulculty downgrading to 437. Couls somebody please give the correct link and instruction on how to do this. I have uninstalled and reinstalled with the file posted earlier in the thread. My version does not seem to downgrade and the issue persists.
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    A logging version of the eamon driver has been distributed to those who were willing to help pinpointing the issue. Now we'll wait for the logs and keep the fingers crossed that the logs will reveal the information necessary to locate the root of the issue.
     
  13. Ice_Cube

    Ice_Cube Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Having the same issues on Windows 7 x64 using latest build.

    iTunes is acting up as well.
     
  14. jmc777

    jmc777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    244
    For me, it isn't happening with the logging-enabled driver; files are saving fine.
     
  15. adoucette

    adoucette Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    For me, it happens not just in IE8, but also in Word, Firefox, and other programs I use frequently.
    So this problem is occurring multiple times daily.
    Now I feel really guilty I recommended Nod32 to a couple of business associates a few weeks ago...:oops:
     
  16. SwissSteph

    SwissSteph Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    For your help, we must put the "437" it poses no problem for me !
     
  17. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    667

    Except it doesn't seem to install on Win7 x64. Marcos, I've PMd you and I'm still keen to help. In fact I totally wiped a partition this morning and installed a clean copy of Win7 x64 and ESET 4.0.467. I just need for the SFX patch to work...


    Cheers,


    Jim
     
  18. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    I know, it behaved really strangely. I can't make drivers appear through file managers, they are visible only in explorer in spite of having hidden files to be displayed and superhidden files are enabled as well. The other guy I sent the script to told me that extracting the sfx archive and running the bat file worked for him, please try it.
     
  19. jmc777

    jmc777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    244
    jimwillsher: Make a system restore point before you install it, because the batch file doesn't switch you back to the old driver when you run it a second time (even though it's supposed to).
     
  20. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    Ok, I've got it installed. The batch file added the reg key okay, but was unable to copy the files across. Probably a Windows 7 UAC issue (UAC is actually usable in Win7, whereas it was the very first thing I disabled in Vista!).

    So, my eamon.sys is installed, and my log file is building. 9MB so far.

    I've downloaded over one hundred pictures from various websites - jpeg, bmp, gif, and 14 mp3 files. I've also created new files in Word, Excel and Notepad. And....I cannot recreate the error. All works fine for me. So I fully appreciate the difficulties ESET are facing in recreating the problem.

    Perhaps it's more obvious on slow hardware, or specific chipsets (unlikely I know, but a recent release of iTunes fails on Intel X55 chipsets, so it can happen).


    I'll keep testing. But for me, it's working well, and no sign of the error message.



    Jim

    PS HP nw9440 laptop, Core 2 Duo E7700, 4GB RAM, Win 7 Ultimate RTM x64. No software installed other than Win7 (clean) and 4.0.467 (and now also Office 2007, for some more testing)
     
  21. Jolo

    Jolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    How many people with this problem CHANGED the Windows Workgroup from the default value to any other?

    Cheers.
     
  22. Somahann

    Somahann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I have this problem...and i Changed the workgroup.
     
  23. Zaskar

    Zaskar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    We really do need an official link to .437, if we no longer have the older version to revert to we need to be able to get it through an official trusted source.

    Just reinstalled and am stuck till I get it, And for an antivirus you don't want to get it from any 3rd party website.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2009
  24. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    Couldn't agree more. Strange that Eset recommend to use the previous version for those with issues, but do not provide a download link. I believe there always should be an option to download the previous version without having to contact Eset. It's not the first time time that a new release have bugs and it won't be the last time.
     
  25. kem

    kem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    As stated previously, I changed the workgroup.

    - KEM
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.