Nod32 v4.0.467 and Windows 7 error when saving pictures from IE8...

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by GAN, Sep 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PRJUS

    PRJUS Guest

    Well ESET had NOD32 4.0.437 and it doesn't have the problem and they decided to "patch" it to version 4.0.467 which does.
     
  2. PRJUS

    PRJUS Guest

    Actually the problem isn't isolated to saving pictures from IE - generating a PDF using Microsofts plugin for Office 2007 will also fail with 4.0.467 because NOD32 takes some sort of lock on the file after it has been created.

    Process Monitor is a download from Microsoft (www.sysinternals.com) but it probably won't help you document the problem because as it logs all activity on the system it slows down everything long enough for NOD32 to release it's lock and you won't see the problem.
     
  3. the1

    the1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    Well the issue isn't isolated to any particular software application.

    And to whoever said there is only a "dozen" complaints is wrong. I didn't even know this forum existed until I posted in another forum which led me to here. I think you would find this issue is widespread but some people may not have come to the realisation that it is an ESET issue.

    RE - Re-installing Windows 7.
    When I first received the error in iTunes I thought it must have been something I did during the install. So I did a complete format and re-installed Windows 7. The issue came back which then led me to search and ask for some help. I was led here.
     
  4. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    I have not heard about anyone having this problem with nod32 3.x and Windows 7, but i cannot say it never happened either. Unless i'm wrong nod32 3.x is not officially supported on Windows 7.

    As you said there could be a problem with Windows 7 even if other antivirus software don't have this problem, but i assume Eset have some kind of relationship with Microsoft which is common for companies that develop software for Windows. When they find bugs in Windows 7 that cause problems for the products they created they should report this to Microsoft and not their customers. The customers cannot provide the details Eset can provide since we don't have the sourcecode and don't know any details about how the code looks like and exactly what is does. Also Eset should get higher priority with Microsoft assuming they have some kind of relationship with Microsoft as a software developer company that create software for Windows. So yes the problem could be a Windows bug, but i seriously doubt that. Either way Eset need to figure out what is causing this problem and fix it or report a Windows bug to Microsoft. It's also in their best interest to do so.

    If you look at my first post you can see that i provided some of the info you ask for and have UAC disabled. I don't have other security applications like firewall, antivirus, antispyware etc installed except what is default enabled by Windows 7 which is basically just the windows firewall. Nod32 is also the only antivirus i installed after a Windows 7 clean install so no other antivirus ever installed and no leftovers. Also an important piece for information is that none of these customers (as far as i can see) with this problem had this problem using 4.0.437. The problem started with 467/468 and those that revert back to 437 no longer have this problem. Also reading all the postings from other users it's obvious this problem is not related to IE only. It happen with many different programs in different scenarios. I haven't done a lot of tweaking and for sure didn't do any extra tweaking after installing 467. I use most of the default settings, but enabled the potential unwanted/unsafe programs, removed all automatic deletion/cleaning when a threat is found, since i always want to be asked. I also disabled the startup scan. I don't think the problem boil down to tweaking though.

    Since pretty many users report this problem i think there is a bug somewhere and find it hard to believe we all have some other software installed that cause this problem. To reinstall my system and install nod32 only is way to much work just to check if the problem still happen or not. No one can except the customers to do that. I think they would rather move on to another product. Also it seems like the problem happen after using the computer for a while. Right after i installed Nod32 and did a reboot i couldn't reproduce this problem. After a while of using the computer the problem return.

    To say that only a dozen of users have this problem is actually something we don't know. Out of all the nod32 users i bet that most of them do not use this forum. I also bet that most have not yet upgraded to the latest build. A lot of them might have no idea that nod32 is the reason for this problem. I read about this issue in other forums as well where they discussed this problem and everyone thought it had to do with Windows 7. Some don't even know that nod32 might be the reason. In one of the forum someone posted a link to this thread and then it turned out that a lot of them in fact had nod32 4.0.467 installed. I cannot say if that was the case for all of them because someone didn't respond if they use nod32 or not. So out of the millons as you mention how many use the build where this problem exist, how many use this forum and how many know that nod32 is the reason. If they know can we expect all of them to come forward and post about it. If 20 users report a problem in a forum you can assume that a lot more actually have this problem. When there is a bug in Windows that affected 10 million users you will never find close to that many actually reporting the bug. Some Nod32 4.0.467 users maybe never seen the problem yet or seen it a couple of times and ignored it like i did in the beginning until it happened too many times.

    Believe me i have checked my end and there is no way to make 4.0.467 work properly while 4.0.437 works just fine. I'm not saying i'm an expert that know everything, but based on the experience/knowledge i have i'm pretty sure this is a bug either in Nod32 or Windows 7. Also i would be a bit surprised if the bug is not in Nod32. I'm not saying this is correct, but that is my opinion and guess where the problem is.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2009
  5. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    I totally agree. This problems is actually too widespread to be any likely chance that the problem is our fault or problem in our end. I believe those that claim this is isolated to a few users only just jumped into this thread and read a few posts only. They have most likely not followed the whole thread or tried google to search for other forums where users report the same problem.
     
  6. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    This is the forum that the eset website support section directly points to, and I only see a handfull of people posting about this.It's good you explained it a little more though, this will help them isolate the problem.It would be nice if you guys had help from Mark Russinovich himself, he would find the cause in a few minutes.
     
  7. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    I'm pretty sure he could help out a lot, but don't think he have the time to help out with cases like this:)
     
  8. Deviad

    Deviad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Meanwhile I switched to Avast...

    To sum it up:
    1) NOD32 has a bug that shows up a window saying basically you can't access a certain file to write it;
    2) Avira has a problem with its own services which suddenly halt.

    Anyhow GAN (any reference to W.D. Gann?) made a good summary. I went through the very same path.

    I keep wondering what these guys did during these months... I mean when a new operating system comes out it should be the time when companies make money by selling new products for the new operating system.
    Think of those Acer notebooks and so on that come with Norton installed or F-prot...
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    I, too, wonder what Microsoft engineers have been doing since the release of Vista. How come the same bug causing memory leaks is still present in Windows 7? o_O And they have hundred times more engineers than AV companies and it's been too long since the release of Vista already.
     
  10. the1

    the1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    Windows 7 is a great improvement to Vista. MS engineers haven't been too bad this time round.
     
  11. LeoPheonix

    LeoPheonix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I have just downloaded the 4.0.437 from this link. I have uninstalled the 4.0.467 version, rebooted installed from the link. The program still appears to be 4.0.467!

    Any ideas what I have done wrong or is this the wrong link?
     
  12. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,853
    Location:
    USA
    I would like to see them fix this as well.

    However, for anyone having the problem that is the subject of this thread (which I am having as well) all of the complaining about "What has ESET been doing?" isn't going to help or motivate anyone. I am assuming that they still haven't been able to reproduce the problem. Maybe it is random, which it so far seems to be, or there is a common problem we have yet to identify. At least these guys try to be helpful, which I can't say about some of the forums for other products where I have been attacked for trying to report a problem.

    I am running Windows 7 x64, on a desktop and a laptop. Laptop is Intel dual core, 4GB of RAM, ATI 3870 video. Desktop is Intel quad core, 8GB of RAM, ati 4870 video. Windows Defender is off on both machines, UAC is default, and no other third party security software is installed at the moment. This problem happens with both IE8, Firefox 3.5.4, and the type of file makes no difference. It does not usually happen, but when it does it seems to happen several times in a row. When it first denies access to save the file, if I attempt to save again to the same location it will ask if I want to overwrite, which it does successfully. This happens on both machines, so I expect with a little work it could be duplicated without too much effort. If there are any more details needed I am more than happy to provide them. Let's see if we can help identify this problem.
     
  13. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    We're currently working on a logging version of a driver that should shed more light into the issue. When ready, we'll provide it to some of you. If there's anyone for whom reverting to v. 4.0.437 didn't work, let us know.
     
  14. Sumatra

    Sumatra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Where can we download v. 4.0.437?
     
  15. Tank878

    Tank878 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same problem, again with Nod32 v4.0.467.

    I have un-installed and reverted back to v4.0.437 with no problems. Definately some sort of issue with 467.
     
  16. at_keranov

    at_keranov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Marcos, I have the same problem and managed to record it with the Problem Step Recorder in Windows 7.
    Usually I get the error earlier, but with the Problem Step Recorder running I got it at the 12th try.

    I'm not allowed to upload .zip or .mht files here so I can send the file to your e-mail, skype etc. (if i know them)
    I'm not allowed to send you private message too (I don't know why).
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2009
  17. meichelman

    meichelman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    FYI, experienced the same issue as everyone else with Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit. Received the same "permissions" message saving through Word & Excel 2007 and saving attachments in Live Mail. I was using v467 of NOD32 Antivirus Business Edition. Uninstalled, reinstalled v424 of the same, and the problem has disappeared.

    Thought I should confirm to lend yet another experience.
     
  18. elyoh

    elyoh Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    I've been experiencing this issue in Windows 7 Professional x64. For me, the issue can occur at any time when saving files to the desktop or any other location. It is therefore a pretty serious. Often repeating the save action allows the file to be created.
     
  19. adoucette

    adoucette Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I have the same issue on two clean installs of Windows 7 Pro with Nod 4.0.467.0

    Where can I download ver 437? (Seriously, the link provided above is to the free trial version.)

    Thanks,
    Ari
     
  20. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    I have 4.0.437, Business Edition, both x86 and x64, saved on my server. I suspect I'm not permitted to link to them though, unless Marcos etc says otherwise?


    Jim
     
  21. Zaskar

    Zaskar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Happens here as well, testing inside of a Windows 7 Professional 64 bit client in VMWare.


    It is a VERY easy thing for anyone to test, just go to these forums, and try to "save picture as" the Wilders Security Forums picture at the top to the desktop, and save it like 15-20 times, it WILL happen atleast once (don't overwrite at all, just throw random characters into the name to make new files, the problem happens only on the creation of the file)

    Make sure your using IE aswell, I dont know if it happens with firefox.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2009
  22. djolehotsauce

    djolehotsauce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hello everybody,
    I discovered how to fix this problem,
    First you must go to C:\Users\ and then click right click on folder
    "Your user name" and choose propreties

    http://i35.tinypic.com/2q00v2d.jpg

    and go to security tab and click Edit then click Add => Advanced...

    http://i37.tinypic.com/mtl6h0.jpg

    If you click on advanced now click on Find Now and choose Everyone and click Ok

    http://i37.tinypic.com/2q02jih.jpg

    Then again click Ok
    And now click on Full control => Ok

    http://i33.tinypic.com/2s7ig3n.jpg

    If the account folder (C:\Users\"Username") stay lock http://i35.tinypic.com/2rym5w8.jpg, you don't fix a problem,
    If the account folder (C:\Users\"Username") not lock http://i34.tinypic.com/2utrxw9.jpg, you can save pictures without any problem.

    That's all

    Enjoy...
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2009
  23. djolehotsauce

    djolehotsauce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    But I have other problem with ESET Smart Security 4.0.467,

    How can I set my nod to first scan the files until the end, and then asks me if I want to delete it.

    And not to ask me as soon as it finds.
     
  24. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    Off-topic....
     
  25. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    I'm also having this problem when I try to save files from any program anywhere on my system. Running 4.0.467, Win 7 HP x64. I saw the solution one person posted but don't like the idea of giving everyone full control on my system (should only be me, the admin).

    Anyway, this was originally posted on this forum on September 25th and I'd like to know from ESET what the status of a fix/solution is?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.