Nod32 v4.0.467 and Windows 7 error when saving pictures from IE8...

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by GAN, Sep 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    I been using Nod32 4.0.437 for some time without any issues, but then i did a upgrade to 4.0.467 and been having a small problem. When i rightclick on a image from within IE and select "Save Picture As...", then select the location to save the image file and click the "Save" button i pretty often get an error that says:
    "You don't have permission to modify files in this network location.
    Contact the administrator per permission to make these changes."


    When i get this error the file will be created, but is 0 bytes in size. If i click Ok on the dialogbox with the error and try again i will be prompted if i want to overwrite the 0 byte file and then it's working fine when i click yes.

    It's pretty easy to reproducs since it happen pretty often. So on my computer if i try to do this operation 5-7 times in a row it will always happen. Sometimes on the first try and sometime on the seconds, third, fourth....and so on, but i never managed to do this operation many times (like 5-10 times) in a row without this error. Usually it will happen within the first 5 attempts. I did this test many times by trying to save 10 pictures in a row and was never able to do that successfully without this error. When i disabled Nod32 i was unable to reproduce this error and everything was working fine again. Before i installed Nod32 4.0.467 i have never seen this error and now i uninstalled Nod32 4.0.467 and then reinstalled 4.0.437 after a reboot and cannot reproduce this error again. So it seems like a problem with Nod32 4.0.467.

    For the record the account logged on to Windows is a Administrator, UAC is completely disabled and the location where i try to save the picture is my local disk and not a network location. I use Windows 7 Enterprise x64 (RTM) and IE8 (the 32 bits version of IE). I do not have any other security products like Antivirus, antispyware or firewall except what is included and enabled by default in Windows 7. Nether do i have any popup blockers or toolbars installed in IE8. I have not tried to do the same thing using another browser like Firefox to see if the same thing happen since i only have IE8 installed on this computer.

    So anyone else have the same problem using Nod32 4.0.467? Any comments from Eset? If more information is required please let me know, but if this is a general problem it should be easy to reproduce.

    I know Windows 7 is not yet officially supported by Eset, but i believe it would be in the interest for Eset to know about this problem if more users are affected and hopefully to solve the problem soon.

    gan
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2009
  2. Pepi74

    Pepi74 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    22
    Confirm this: saving picture from Irfanview give same error: but not always: in 10 time: I vgot 6 error. Created file has 0 bytes and file is without extension. On previous version of ESS there was no error ( or I didnot noticed)
    Windows 7 x64 version RTM build
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Does disabling self-defense and restarting the computer make a difference?
     
  4. bruno74

    bruno74 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having this problem too. I'm using the RTM of Windows 7 on a 32 bit system, and Eset Smart Security 4.

    When I turn off the real-time file system protection, downloads work without problems; when it's on, I get those weird 0-bytes files.

    I think there's something wrong in the latest updates: everything worked perfectly until a few days ago...
     
  5. Pepi74

    Pepi74 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    22
    How to make that?
     
  6. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    I have not tried what you describe and currently went back to the previous version (4.0.437) so to do this test i would have to upgrade again and then downgrade after the test since i won't be using the new version until this problem is fixed. I assume Eset is in the process of testing their products on the Windows 7 platform and like i said it's easy to reproduce. Since other users are affected as well i assume this is a general problem and not only a problem on my computer. It should be easy for Eset to perform this test unless they are unable to see the same behavior.

    Are you unable to reproduce the same behavior Marcos? If Eset are unable to see the same behavior i could do some more testing, but would prefer if Eset actually do the testing to find out what module that contains a bug since it's a bit time consuming for me to upgrade, uninstall, reinstall with reboots inbetween everytime i'm going to test since i'm at 4.0.437 again now.

    gan
     
  7. drgoldie

    drgoldie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I am also experiencing this behavior (Win7 x64, final).

    It happens almost every time when I save something in Irfanview.
    However, this is not restricted to image files only. When I save a new text file in Notepad++ I also get this message.

    Saving the file again (overwriting the 0 bytes file) always works so there seems to be a problem with creating new files.

    This is very annoying. So I'll probably go back to the previous version.

    And btw: Disabling self defense does NOT help.
     
  8. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    Does unticking the "scan on create" help?


    Jim
     
  9. drgoldie

    drgoldie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    @jimwillsher: I've just tested quickly, but disabling "Scan on File creation" seems to fix the problem.
     
  10. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    But aren't you giving up all your virus protection by doing that ? marcos ?
     
  11. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    I have this option disabled on all my systems. I figure that scan on execute is the most critical one, and scan on create just seems to slow things up too much.

    Just my 2p....
     
  12. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    Then i assume you also enabled AH on file execution?
    I only have AH enabled on newly created and modified files so if i disable "scan on create" i assume i would have to enable AH on file execution to use AH at all. I also believe that could affect system performance.
     
  13. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    Assuming AH is Advanced Heuristics, if I click Setup on the "Antivirus and antispyware" line, then click ThreatSense setup, AH is enabled. If I click Setup on the "Real-time file system protection" line, then click ThreatSense setup, AH is disabled.

    I haven't changed either of these options manually.

    Jim
     
  14. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    Well yes that's exactly my point. AH (Advanced Heuristics) is only enabled by default on create/modify (for the realtime scan) unless i'm wrong. So if you turn off "scan on create" completely then you do not scan the file on create and AH is disabled by default on execute. So then basically you have AH completely disabled for the realtime scan. AH is one of the strengths of nod32 so sounds to me like a bad idea to not use AH for the realtime scanner.

    As i also said it's possible to enable AH so files executed are scanned with AH enabled, but that could have affect on the system performance and not recommended to do as far as i have read. So most likely better to have scan on create with AH enabled.

    I'm just saying to turn off scan on create will lower the protection of your computer. I would rather recommend to use the previous version of nod32 4 (where this issues does not exist) then to turn of features that will lower the protection of your computer. I'm not trying to convince you to enable "scan on create" if you want this setting disabled so more like a heads up to others before they decide to follow your example.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2009
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I also can confirm this when I download MP3 files on Win 7 and IE8!

    TH
     
  16. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    It would have been very interesting to hear if Eset also can confirm this problem and to let us know if this will be fixed with a automatic update for the modules of if we have to wait for a new version to manually upgrade. Also it will be very useful if there is somehow to get noticed by Eset when fixed so i know when i can upgrade to the latest version without being affected by this problem. I will stick with 4.0.437 until this problem is sorted out.
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I think they will let us know! ;)

    TH
     
  18. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Does it happen with larger files only? I've tried to download a bunch of photos with IE8 on Windows 7 x64 RTM with no problems.
     
  19. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    In my case it happen with small image files (gif, jpg etc). I rightclick the image and choose to save it to my local disk. They vary in size, but all of them i used while testing nod32 v4.0.437 vs 4.0.467 were 2kb and below in filesize.
     
  20. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have the problem with Windows 7 32bit RTM.

    TH
     
  21. PRJUS

    PRJUS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Posts:
    95
    Location:
    Denmark
    After updating from 4.0.437 to 4.0.467 yesterday I suddenly have a problem when publishing PDF files using the PDF/XPS Plugin for Office 2007. It does create the file (but it's corrupt) and displays an error message saying "You don't have permission to modify files in this network location" even though the files is being created locally.

    It worked fine with 4.0.437 and if I disable NOD32 or disable the "scan on create" it also works.

    I'm running Windows 7 RTM 32-bit, local administrator UAC disabled so GAN, you are absolutely right about this.
     
  22. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Would someone create a log using Process Monitor from Microsoft with file operations captured while reproducing the issue? We've tried to replicate it on several Windows 7 systems to no avail so we hope the log would shed more light.
     
  23. wrathchild

    wrathchild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Neoplantesis
    Same here with Photoshop CS4, Illustrator CS4 and Dreamweaver CS4 (Windows 7 x32 RTM, EAV 4.0.467).
     
  24. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    I am having this issue with ESS on Windows 7 x64. I do not have time to create a log tonight but if nobody else has posted one by tomorrow I will try.
     
  25. SwissSteph

    SwissSteph Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    :mad: in my Windows 7 Pro x64


    I have exactly the same problem with version 4.0.467.0!

    These are hours that I want a solution and why I have this error message "you don't have permission to modify files in this network location" ... thank you Eset !

    How to download the version before 4.0.467.0 ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.