NOD32 V3 Compatability Report

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by gud4u, Nov 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gud4u

    gud4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    206
    So far, NOD32 V3 is perfectly compatible with these other security measures on my XP system:
    - NAT Router hardware firewall protection
    - Comodo Firewall Professional RC1 (both Network Monitor + HIPS active)
    - Comodo BOClean 4.25 resident anti-spyware protection
    - Spywareblaster innoculator protection
    - SuperAntiSpyware (non-resident scanner-only) anti-spyware protection
    - Acronis TrueImage 10.0 Backup/Restore utility

    I've only used IE7 browser.

    No problems at all.

    Edited to correct Comodo 3 version (RC1)
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2007
  2. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Can Add Comodo Firewall Pro
    A squared free


    Is not compatable with Spybot search and destroy - SB slows things down to a crawl.
     
  3. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Using Threatfire here too.
     
  4. Gren

    Gren Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    93
    Thanks for the info.

    The software above looks very similar to my setup but am currently sitting on 2.7 until things settle down a little more
     
  5. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Can't get Juniper SSL VPN to work through v3.
     
  6. gud4u

    gud4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    206
    I thought things were working flawlessly - but not so.

    Suddenly, I couldn't update NOD32 V3 definitions. I'm not sure whether the difficulty was due to NOD32V3 or Comodo RC1 Firewall/HIPS or Comodo BOClean 4.25 or the combination, but NOD32 is worthless without definitions updates.

    Current configuration:
    - NAT Router hardware firewall with SPI protection
    - Comodo Firewall Professional V3 final release (both Network Monitor + HIPS active)
    - NOD32 V2.7
    - Spywareblaster innoculator protection
    - SuperAdBlocker resident anti-Adware/Spyware (on trial)
    - Acronis TrueImage 10.0 Backup/Restore utility

    Final release of Comodo V3 Firewall/HIPS works nicely and includes great help descriptions.

    It occurred to me that the tight control of Comodo Defense+(HIPS) makes anti-spyware requirements pretty simple. In place of resident anti-spyware program, I'm trialing resident SuperAdBlocker (which includes most of the functions of free SuperAntiSpyware). SuperAdBlocker plays nice and seems quite effective as an ad-blocker and dumbed-down AS program.

    Hope this helps!
     
  7. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    You need to exclude BoClean from ESet and vica versa. Use V3 or the Comodo Firewall as that has no problems.
     
  8. NodboN

    NodboN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    :thumb: No problem so far with NOD32 V3, and the following:-
    * D-link router with hardware firewall enabled,
    * Webroot Spy Sweeper 5.5.7.103 and
    * ZoneAlarm Pro 7.0.462.000

    :thumbd: Noticed however, that NOD32 had a penchant of deleting the advanced browser integration feature of Internet Download Manager 5.11 Build 8. After the http filtering in NOD32 was disabled, this problem seems to be solved (for the moment.)
     
  9. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    Did your CFP pass the leaktest?
     
  10. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    Are you saying that NOD32 v3 will not work/update with BOClean?
     
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    There is or was a small issue between BOClean and v3 of Eset products . The solutions is simple :
    1. Add ekrn.exe and EHttpSrv.exe in BOClean's exclusions
    2. Add BOClean's folder to NOD32's exclusions
     
  12. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Forgot to do that when I put BOClean back on.:thumb:
     
  13. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    So , do you mean it is no longer necessary to exclude the exes ? Incompatibility fixed?
     
  14. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Just seemed to work fine without being excluded.
     
  15. cpj

    cpj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    What about Kerio firewall ( Now called SPF from Sunbelt)? I just installed this on a client's machine yesterday along with NOD32 v 3.0. Did I make a mistake. This is a machine used by a non-geek so it needs to be pretty much self sustaining. V2.7 and Kerio was very stable for me.

    CPeter
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.