NOD32 v3 blocks internet access

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Saigon, Feb 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Saigon

    Saigon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    OS: Windows XP SP3
    Browsers: IE7, Google Chrome, Firefox
    ESET: Nod32 Antivirus v3

    I've read many rave reviews about ESET NOD32 Antivirus so I decided to try it out. I installed the program & boom my internet access was disabled. I tried to disable nod32 to no avail. I changed firewall settings, again to no avail. I've uninstalled the program & reinstalled it twice. To no avail yet again. I finally resolved to just get rid of it completely & now I'm running without an av. I loved NOD32 from the short time I used it & I wish to continue to use it. If anyone can help, please do.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,899
    Location:
    Texas
  3. Saigon

    Saigon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Ok, I did every step. Didn't work. I repeated it. Still didn't work. o_O
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,899
    Location:
    Texas
    Are you using ESET Antivirus or ESET Smart Security? What firewall are you currently using?
     
  5. Saigon

    Saigon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    ESET Antivirus, Only the basic Windows XP firewall.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,899
    Location:
    Texas
    What other security programs have you used in the past on this computer?
     
  7. Saigon

    Saigon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Prior to this: Avast! (from November to Early January)
    ...............: Windows Live Onecare (From January to early Feb)

    Windows Live onecare wasn't good enough, researched, found ESET NOD32. & here we are...
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,899
    Location:
    Texas
    It sounds like a driver conflict of some sort. Are you using a router?

    One thing you could check in the Control Panel is the network connection with NOD installed and uninstalled.
     
  9. Saigon

    Saigon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Before this I was (Linksys BEFSR41). I had problems with that too so I decided to just go with a direct connection.

    I did that. The connection was displayed as connected, firewalled. I did a repair. That didn't help. I ran the command prompt, flushed the dns, released the ip, renewed the ip & then registered the dns. Nothing...
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,899
    Location:
    Texas
  11. Saigon

    Saigon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    I should've meantioned that before. I tried both. No connections between the two (even after I did the steps you directed me to in the posts above).

    Sorry if I've become a harder problem than I should be. :oops:
     
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,899
    Location:
    Texas
    Which firewall settings did you change?

    Clearly, something is preventing NOD from connecting.
     
  13. Saigon

    Saigon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    I disabled the windows firewall. I'm starting to think this is a bit much for someone who is only a trial user. I will try something else in the mean time...
     
  14. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,899
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm using the same operating system and V3 at this time and don't have any connection problems so I am stumped at this point. Sorry.
     
  15. Saigon

    Saigon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Don't think too much of this. I appreciate the help you provided. Thanks again.

    - Saigon
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.