NOD32 v3 and Windows 2003 SP2 Server OS

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by angelo_lopes, Jun 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. angelo_lopes

    angelo_lopes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    Back in the v2.x old days it was "forbidden" (not recommended) to enable "IMON" on servers. Now there's no AMON, IMON, DMON... are there any issues with NOD32 v3 and Windows 2003 SP2 please? I can't find a thread with recommendations for v3 configuration in this Operating System.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Here is one for v2:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1262716&postcount=2

    For v3 , I could say it this way:

    • add frequenly used or highly-network based programs to the exclusions
    • change real-time file system protection settings so that only files with certain extensions are scanned
    • disable scanning network drives
    • set protocol filtering to "Applications marked as Internet browsers and email clients"

    However , in v2 IMON disabled is a must if you want a running server . The above recommendations are not a must but simply a suggestion
     
  3. angelo_lopes

    angelo_lopes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    Thanks for your reply, HiTech_boy. As a Massive Poster, do you remember to read any issue between Nod32 version 3 and Windows 2003 server or Server Applications in this Foruns? Other Members replies are also wellcome ;)
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Well , yes , there are some posts with issues but there will always be such things . This is the official support forum , people are here to ask and complain ;)

    I resell ESET products and since 3.0.657 came out , I have started to upgrade all my business clients to v3.0 . With the settings correction I posted , none of them have had problems so far. Previously , they have been running either no AV or NOD32 2.7
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 22, 2008
  5. Rapid Dr3am

    Rapid Dr3am Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Posts:
    60
    Exclude *.mdf *.ldf or you'll regret it. Imagine a 14gb SQL database being scanned on every transaction.
     
  6. jmbo1701

    jmbo1701 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    REDENE / FRANCE
    Hi all,

    today we had a problem on our two dc controllers (W2K3)
    it was impossible to us to browse something in the Group Policy Management Console.
    after uninstalling NOD32 everething was ok !!!!

    Any idea ?

    Regards

    JMB
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hello,
    what version do you have installed? Is it the latest 3.0.667? Was it a clean installation not installed over a previous version?
     
  8. jmbo1701

    jmbo1701 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    REDENE / FRANCE
    Hi,

    it was the french release 3.0.650 installed with the push installation method as an upgrade of the 2.7 release

    regards

    jmb
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I'd highly recommend uninstalling the current version and installing the latest one 3.0.667 which has some server-related issues fixed. An automatic program component update (PCU) will be available some time soon.
     
  10. jmbo1701

    jmbo1701 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    REDENE / FRANCE
    Ok thanks for that;

    I must confess you that we had the fear of our life today :rolleyes: :blink:

    so i will try this

    what is PCU ?

    do you think i can leave workstations with 3.0.650 ?

    redards

    JMB
     
  11. angelo_lopes

    angelo_lopes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    Yesterday I installed 3.0.667 on 12 W2K3 servers including 2 DCs, 2 Mail servers, 2 File servers, other servers runing "lots" of different applications. So far I hadn't a single issue. I uninstalled the previous versions, before rebooting uninstalled AMON from "hidden devices" in Device manager, rebooted, deleted ESET folder from Program files, and only after that installed v3.0.667, as posted here:
    http://www.eset.com/support/kb.php?option=com_kb&Itemid=29&page=articles&articleid=93
    and here:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=212656

    I wouldn't "push install" an AV on a server.
     
  12. jmbo1701

    jmbo1701 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    REDENE / FRANCE
    Hi angelo,

    thanks to share your experience.

    one question: How did you configure the cleaning level on your servers.
    Here i had a problem yesterday because on one file server the standard cleaning level was configured, and because we are not in the front of the server console to acknowledge it, the Double Take replication has hanged !!!!

    Regards

    JMB

    NB: I go to Porto this summer :D
     
  13. angelo_lopes

    angelo_lopes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    Hi jmbo1701

    I configured the cleaning level to "Strict cleanning" so that NOD32 will ask as few questions as possible (only for system files it will prompt).


    Regarding Porto, I am going to send you a PM ;)
     
  14. Fatalpuls3

    Fatalpuls3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    How comes when installing Nod32 v3 home version on terminal server it will not install yet prior to this we had nod32 v2.7 working just fine. Is it not compatible with Windows 2003 terminal server? I know that the v3 we have is running on our terminal server for in house yet we use business edition?
     
  15. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Follow the proper exclusions for servers...
    http://www.sbsfaq.com/Lists/FAQs/DispForm.aspx?ID=137
    The above list is for SBS, but you can easily separate the directories which are server/domain controller exclusive...from Exchange..and formulate what you should exclude.

    I've not installed 3 on any servers, I'm still deploying 2.7, I've had quite a few colleagues have issues with 3 on their clients production servers. And these are well seasoned consultants very familiar with how to configure AV on servers.
     
  16. Fatalpuls3

    Fatalpuls3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I am having issues installing nod32 v3 on windows 2003 server standard, it says that it is not intended for server computers? Nod32 2.7 worked like a champ how comes v3 will not even install?
     
  17. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Hi Fatalpuls3:

    Version 3 Home Edition is not licensed for a server operating system.

    One would need version 3 Business Edition for proper server licensing and installation.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.