NOD32 V3.0563 Web Access Protection

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Fatalpuls3, Nov 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fatalpuls3

    Fatalpuls3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    -NOD32 V3.0563 Web Access Protection-

    Having issues when enabling Web Access Protection within the new V3 of NOD32.

    If you insert the extension *.com*; *.net* ETC.. This is a total internet lock down environment. While doing this i have decided to EXCLUDE specific websites IE *.weather.com*; *.accuweather.com*; ETC. These sites can be visited but the entire formatting of the site is completely distorted. I am unable to view the websites as they are originally displayed without web access protection. Does anyone have any suggestions and(or) having a similar issue please post, thank you.
     
  2. TheBozz09

    TheBozz09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    The problem appears to be within the browser itself, or you may have some programs running in background that causes conflicts.

    I haven't experienced such. I'm using Mozilla Firefox v2/Opera v9/IE7 and ESET NOD32™ v3.0.563.0. Try checking your browser and application settings.
     
  3. Fatalpuls3

    Fatalpuls3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Problem still exists with the last release of NOD32. The access protection still distorts the web. once turned off the browser operates just right.
     
  4. nodHead

    nodHead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Posts:
    85
    I'm still seeing this problem too.

    I hope that ESET is hearing it's customers.
     
  5. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    I had that also with the versions preseding v. 3.0.566 - but it is OK with this version. I also set it to not scan the following file extensions: jpeg, jpg, or gif and thing seem to fine now.
     
  6. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    I am having no problems at all. Ever since 3.0 came out. Version 3.0.566.0 is the latest and has all bug fixes.
     
  7. NodboN

    NodboN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    I found that the 'Web access protection' slowed down my internet speed and chose to disable it. My internet connection was tested on a couple of sites for speed-tests, with 'Web access protection' enabled and disabled during different hours of the day. Unfortunately, there is a consistent drop in speeds - good news for users who have left it enabled is that it seems to be scanning (as it's supposed to.)
     
  8. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Add JPEG, JPG and GIF to your exclusions and then retry your speeds with web access protection enabled/disabled.

    Made a massive difference to my speeds.

    Thanks to someone else for this tip.
     
  9. NodboN

    NodboN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    Got to agree with you on this - come to think of it, definitely makes sense. I'm keeping mine disabled due to some other constraints, too - have many other programs on my system each vying with the other for web filtering (Spy Sweeper & ZoneAlarm to name a couple.)

    Thanks for that interesting tip, though - have made a note and stored it just in case 'Web access protection' need to be enabled anytime in future.:thumb:
     
  10. Fatalpuls3

    Fatalpuls3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    NOD32 V3 Web Access

    In the same boat with the web protection excpet i am noticing that it does not stop website for example i put in the blocked sites of all the conm; net; edu; gov; and all the other web types into the block address list. I have tested them with *.com and as *com*

    then i put in exclusions in the list in the following forms:
    *weather*
    *weather.com

    this did not work well at all. I am noticing that this feature is not functioning as i hoped

    I wanted it to block all website access except specific websites.

    Any help would greatly appreciated as our customers would like the latest NOD with this feature properly working.
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Re: NOD32 V3 Web Access

    No problem blocking websites here:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Re: NOD32 V3 Web Access

    Try what Marcos picture shows or try to add it *.weather.* . This way it works normally here
     
  13. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    If I add *.com as a blocked address entry and then add *.weather.com or *.accuweather.com as an excluded address entry, both weather sites can be visited without being distorted.

    Have you tried without the trailing asterix * at the end of com or net ?


    Bubba
     
  14. Saint Satin Stain

    Saint Satin Stain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL and Greenwich Village, NYC
    Try Bubba's last suggestion. I have never seen a trailing asterisk after .com, .net, .org et cetera and don't believe it's in the convention. This might be possible *.doubleclick.*, where, say, a cookie blocker would block ads.doubleclick.com, .net, .org etc. Once you've blocked .com (etc) anything trailing that is also blocked.

    I have ESS with no probl+ems.
     
  15. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    Also toss in .bit - that's all you need to do. Leave everything else at default. On v.2.7.xx you can make these extension exclusions on the IMON setup "Misc" tab then "Settings" - then > "Exclusions".

    It definitely works and the exposure is very negligible. :thumb:
     
  16. Saint Satin Stain

    Saint Satin Stain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL and Greenwich Village, NYC
  17. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    This is how rumors start! If you continue with the article (which by the way was almost 5 years old) you will see that:

    June 13, 2002
    By Gretchen Hyman:


    The highlighted in green part about *how* the virus is transported was 'conveniently' left out and it is the *most* important! NOD would stop this...but wonder why we haven't heard of this infecting thousands of units, as it is almost 5 years old and wouldn't it be refined - *if it really was a threat*??.

    Please don't post 'partital' rubbage just to 'stir' up a false idea. Read more than the header of articles and this would not occur.

    Allen :cautious:
     
  18. Proactive Services

    Proactive Services Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Petersfield, Hampshire, UK
    weather.com may be affected by that set-up because it calls most of it's images and CSS (files which define the layout) from imwx.com. You'll need to allow access to this domain name as well before weather.com looks "normal" again.
     
  19. CyberMew

    CyberMew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Mine is a different problem. Sometimes eset.exe hogs up the cpu and for some reason System as well. CPU usage can be 40-60%, 70-99% or even 100% all the way.When I end task it, somewhere the 'net' will die, i.e msn/specific torrent. Sometimes downloading multiple files via flashget, my connection will totally die off either within seconds of downloading or sometime later. This has been disturbing me for 2-3weeks. I have disabled the startup service today.

    Forgot to mention that it will delay part of net access during startup. i.e going to specific site there is no problems (VERY slow), otherwise it will appear to be loading. I thought there is some configuration error but I couldn't even access my router page! But it's weird my torrents/download manager can keep on downloading.
     
  20. CyberMew

    CyberMew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Now I have one problem. It keeps trying to load NOD32 during startup, and after a while it will say error communicating to kernel. How can I disable it totally temporarily?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.