NOD32 v3.0.566.0 Uses Less CPU Resource

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by xp_1839, Nov 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xp_1839

    xp_1839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    67
    Finally, NOD32 no more using 50% of CPU resource,:)
     
  2. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    610
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    its good to hear that.. :D
     
  3. bahamutzero

    bahamutzero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Japan
    I agree on you on that too. I just upgraded from v2.7 to v3.0.566.0 recently & it works fine.:)
     
  4. NodboN

    NodboN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    Agreed!!!

    NOD32 3.0.551 did consume more CPU resource than the current version does.
     
  5. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    The ekrn.exe ESET file is using 100% CPU on and off every two minutes as per the GUI on my Comodo firewall. Other folks have the same problem per another thread.
     
  6. leviathan

    leviathan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Japan
    Nod32 version 3.0.566.0 has improved a lot. I think my opinion of version 3 has changed.:D
     
  7. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I re-installed 3.0.566.0 this afternoon just to see if it would help. It is now fluctuating from 65% to 80% but I have also seen 99% too.
     
  8. qwer1304

    qwer1304 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    16
    Same thing here - ekrn.exe suddenly consumes 100% of CPU.

    Configuration: Win32 XP Pro w/ latest patches.
    NOD32 BE v3.0.566.0 latest virus DB

    Restarting or killing the process helps for a while.

    ZA firewall or no firewall at all have no effect.

    Disabling NOD32 doesn't lower the CPU.

    Examining the handles with PE doesn't reveal anything special.

    Bummer :( :thumbd:
     
  9. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    wait for update.
     
  10. Hangetsu

    Hangetsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    259
    It seems to only happen for updates, then quickly goes back to using minimal resources.

    I haven't seen a 99% spike, but it does get up there.
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
    If you experience a problem with a high CPU utilization by ekrn and you are able to replicate it, please send me a private message. We'll need to get a complete memory dump from such a computer for perusal.
     
  12. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    I think alot of cpus usage problems comes from people using NOD32 3.0 along with Comodo. I am using NOD32 3.0.556 along with OA and getting no cpu issues.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.