NOD32 v3.0.566.0 Uses Less CPU Resource

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by xp_1839, Nov 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xp_1839

    xp_1839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    67
    Finally, NOD32 no more using 50% of CPU resource,:)
     
  2. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    its good to hear that.. :D
     
  3. bahamutzero

    bahamutzero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Japan
    I agree on you on that too. I just upgraded from v2.7 to v3.0.566.0 recently & it works fine.:)
     
  4. NodboN

    NodboN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    Agreed!!!

    NOD32 3.0.551 did consume more CPU resource than the current version does.
     
  5. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    The ekrn.exe ESET file is using 100% CPU on and off every two minutes as per the GUI on my Comodo firewall. Other folks have the same problem per another thread.
     
  6. leviathan

    leviathan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Japan
    Nod32 version 3.0.566.0 has improved a lot. I think my opinion of version 3 has changed.:D
     
  7. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I re-installed 3.0.566.0 this afternoon just to see if it would help. It is now fluctuating from 65% to 80% but I have also seen 99% too.
     
  8. qwer1304

    qwer1304 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    16
    Same thing here - ekrn.exe suddenly consumes 100% of CPU.

    Configuration: Win32 XP Pro w/ latest patches.
    NOD32 BE v3.0.566.0 latest virus DB

    Restarting or killing the process helps for a while.

    ZA firewall or no firewall at all have no effect.

    Disabling NOD32 doesn't lower the CPU.

    Examining the handles with PE doesn't reveal anything special.

    Bummer :( :thumbd:
     
  9. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    wait for update.
     
  10. Hangetsu

    Hangetsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    259
    It seems to only happen for updates, then quickly goes back to using minimal resources.

    I haven't seen a 99% spike, but it does get up there.
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    If you experience a problem with a high CPU utilization by ekrn and you are able to replicate it, please send me a private message. We'll need to get a complete memory dump from such a computer for perusal.
     
  12. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    I think alot of cpus usage problems comes from people using NOD32 3.0 along with Comodo. I am using NOD32 3.0.556 along with OA and getting no cpu issues.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.