NOD32 v2.51.8 slow to start on XP PRO x64

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Marauder, Oct 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marauder

    Marauder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Ok NOD32 v2.51.8 is slow to start on XP PRO x64 and same with the local area connection icons. I think I may of stoped or set a service to manual that caused this :( which one do you think I did it to I can'r seem to find it. :(
     
  2. Marauder

    Marauder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Ok I uninstalled nod32 same I seem to have net access but local area connection icons take a while to get there, with what nod the splash screen would stay for a while.
     
  3. Marauder

    Marauder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Its all good now :)
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    What was the solution?

    Cheers ; D
     
  5. Marauder

    Marauder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    I used this http://www.tweaknow.com/RegCleanerPro.html
    It wiped some nod32 and system files that is supposedly thought were obsolete well I guess they weren’t.
    This reg cleaner supposably is compatible with XP PRO x64 guess it’s not 100% there yet.
    Had to reinstall.. it was effecting networking f\was slow to start etc, nod would be very slow to start and going to the control panel and trying to open anything took a good while it would become almost unresponsive and open what ever you were going to.

    Now all is good :D not touching that reg cleaner again.
     
  6. networm

    networm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    I have the same problem when I have both Nod32 and network or internet connection, the Nod32 icon and network or internet connection icon wouldn't show in the system tray,

    The solution is don't let the AMON module start with system.
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I would suggest following the instructions to "Repair" found in post number 40 and failing this I would point you at repairing Winsock.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  8. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Hi networm:

    That would be a workaround and not a solution.

    I have x64 running without any issues.

    Any additional security software installed that may hinder the loading?

     
  9. networm

    networm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    No additional security software installed
     
  10. networm

    networm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    I tried that "Repaie Now" function, but it says "cannot change network setting, maybe there is no connection", but I do have wireless connection befroe I press that "Repaie Now" button.

    After Nod32 fails to "repair" the network settings, I find I lost wireless connection and I try to reconnect to wireless network by Windows itself, but failed,I have to restart the computer to get wireless connection.
     
  11. Vlatko27

    Vlatko27 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    i have this exact same problem for a while now and i don't know what to do. i tried to unistall and reinstall nod it doesn't work. i notcied that if i disable my local area connection, windows(and nod) all fire up immediatelly. though when my local area connection is disabled i can't connect my dsl cause it uses PPPoE. does anyone have any idea?
    thanks in advance!
     
  12. Vlatko27

    Vlatko27 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    thank you very much. :)
     
  13. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    My pleasure.

    Cheers :D
     
  14. Vlatko27

    Vlatko27 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    i'm having this problem again. :mad: oly this time when i follow the steps in your "extra settings for nod" it doesn't work anymore. i did it exactly the same as i did the last time but with no effect. what gives?
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Did you use Winsock XP Fix and then did you try repairing IMON?

    Cheers :D
     
  16. Vlatko27

    Vlatko27 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    i only used those steps in your "extra settings for nod". and that worked the first time. now i did it all again and it didn't work. shoud i use the winsock xp fix? if so, which should i run first, that fix or repairing the imon? or should i do only one of the two?

    thanks.
     
  17. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Just to make sure, have you tried the following?

    - download NOD32 2.51.26
    - uninstall NOD32
    - restart the pc
    - delete the program files/eset folder
    - install NOD32 2.51.26
    - restart the computer
    - update NOD32
     
  18. Vlatko27

    Vlatko27 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    no. does it make any difference if the installer is older? i update it regulary.
     
  19. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
  20. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Always best to download the latest installer.

    Then if you still see the issue, run Winsock XP Fix

    Then "Repair IMON"

    By the way, the issue you are seeing I have seen on occasion after updating ZoneAlarm FREE version.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  21. Marauder

    Marauder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Let me know how you go, I haven't used XP x64 for some time now but I have it as a dual boot set up so I can try the latest nod32 on it if you have no luck and see how it goes for me.
    Should be fine though :)
     
  22. Vlatko27

    Vlatko27 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    i seemed to have found the problem i use net limiter to keep track of my net activities and to limit my bandwidth from time to time. the programme always made some problems to me cause it messes with the connection to install itslef properly. i didn't want to stop using it cause it was importnat to me. i'm through using it anymore though. :D does anyone know of a alternative programme?

    thanks for the help guys.

    marauder i'm sorry, i use xp 32, not 64.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.