Nod32 v 5 and Emsi ?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by acr1965, Dec 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,964
    Anyone running both Nod32 and Emsi together in real time? I'm just wondering if the two will not conflict...I figure I would enable only on execution protection in Emsi and disable its web filters.
     
  2. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
    emsisoft has the ikarus antivirus engine and their own engine, which means there are two engines already. i guess they will conflict..use malwarebytes instead (as a second opinion)for realtime
     
  3. gugarci

    gugarci Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    288
    Location:
    Jersey
    I had both running briefly in my old desktop. I had EAM 6 and Eset 4. Had to uninstall one due to constantly locking up my PC during start-up.
    I had ESET running with all the real time monitoring turned off and it made no difference. I did not try it with ESET running in real time and EAM turned off.
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,964
    thanks. maybe I'll just try Eset and mamutu. I was hoping to at least be able to use Emsi from the context menu.
     
  5. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,102
    Location:
    Outer space
    Even if you turn off realtime components from AV software (or use exit/shutdown option if available) it does not mean they play nice with another realtime AV, there are still drivers, kernel hooks etc that can conflict.

    @acr1965
    I had ESS 4.2 and Mamutu running together for quite a while, nice combo and no conflicts :)
     
  6. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,964
    thanks for the info. I've added Mamutu to Nod v 5 and things seem to be going smoothly thus far. I disabled the Nod HIPS as well.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.