Nod32 to scan Gmail

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by psych1610, Jul 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. psych1610

    psych1610 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Redneckville, FL .. originally Newburgh, NY!!!!
    Hi, I use Thunderbird to access my school email (pop), my AIM mail (IMAP) and my Gmail (converted to pop via gmail options). Nod32 scans both my school email, and AIM mail without any extra configuration, however, I've noticed it's not scanning gmail. I don't get too much through that one right now so it's not a big deal but in the future I plan to.

    I saw a thread here awhile back that attempted to explain it using a program called stunnel I believe. Sorry, I don't know who wrote that answer. Anyway, it was too complicated for my brain and involved editing a file or something.

    My question, anyway to get nod to scan incoming and outgoing gmail messages without something really complicated that might confuse a novice? Or if there is no way other than the complicated way can someone provide clear, step by step type instructions.

    Thanks,

    psych1610
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Stunnel is the only way iirc. Also what part of the instructions confuse you? To edit the file, you just have to open it with notepad.

    If you post screenshots, I could help you. Or you can also PM VaMPiRiC_CRoW and ask him.
     
  3. psych1610

    psych1610 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Redneckville, FL .. originally Newburgh, NY!!!!
    Ok, here's what I did. I took the instructions and copied and pasted them to what was there. Then I saved it.

    I also made the settings for the screenshot in thunderbird look like how they should.

    What's next?

    Is it,

    Run stunnel
    Service Install
    Service Start
    Service Stop
    Service Uninstall

    I think I did everything else right. Bear with me, I'm struggling to figure out how to upload a screenshot.

    psych1610
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Find stunnel.conf and open it with Notepad. Then see these instructions for posting a screenshot.
     
  5. psych1610

    psych1610 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Redneckville, FL .. originally Newburgh, NY!!!!
    Thanks, I was close lol

    This is a screenshot of what I added under pop3s in stunnel notepad.





    Under start menu/stunnel it gives these options:

    Run stunnel
    Service Install
    Service Start
    Service Stop
    Service Uninstall

    Trying any one of the ones that says service install gives me an error. This is how thunderbird looks. I erased my username.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    759
    Gmail is using Port 995 (Incoming) & Port 465 (Outgoing).

    You may need to add the port here (the default has only Port 110):

    IMON -> Setup -> POP3
     
  7. psych1610

    psych1610 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Redneckville, FL .. originally Newburgh, NY!!!!
  8. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    759
    I am not using Gmail.

    Perhaps you might want to give it a try?

    IMON -> Setup -> POP3

    If it doesn't work, you can always delete them.
     
  9. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    IMON cannot scan SSL, so adding port 995 to the list wont do anything.

    ****************

    Anyways psych, you already did Service Install, correct? Did you then try Service Start?

    Check task manager for the stunnel service.
     
  10. psych1610

    psych1610 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Redneckville, FL .. originally Newburgh, NY!!!!
    Stunnel.exe is running.

    If I click on service install I get error: Create service error: 1073: The specified service already exists.. so yes, I guess I did already do service install.

    Service start I also get an error, says "an instance of the service is already running". When I mouse over stunnel tray icon it says 0 sessions active.

    Trying to download mail in thunderbird I get error message "connection to server localhost timed out" after about 1 minute.
     
  11. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    In stunnel.conf delete the semicolon behind "client = yes", then retry using Thunderbird. If it still gets the same error, put back the semicolon.
     
  12. psych1610

    psych1610 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Redneckville, FL .. originally Newburgh, NY!!!!
    WSFuser, You SOLVED IT!! Thanks so much for your patience through this. My Gmail messages are coming in as being scanned by IMON just like all the other accounts I have.

    Few stupid questions, if you don't mind.

    1. What exactly did this do? Did it wrap the ssl encryption in pop to allow IMON to scan it?

    2. I assume in order to have Gmail scanned by IMON stunnel would have to be running.

    Do you know whether it starts up with my PC?
    Or perhaps it starts up with Thunderbird itself (ideal) and closes with it also.

    I already saw how to eliminate the task bar icon, otherwise I would be asking for that to lol

    Thanks again

    psych1610
     
  13. psych1610

    psych1610 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Redneckville, FL .. originally Newburgh, NY!!!!
    Also, is there a particular place where I have to put this command:

    Tip: You can hide the stunnel icon from the system tray by adding this in stunnel.conf:
    taskbar = no

    I tried adding it and I ended up having to reinstall stunnel. It kept telling me there was an error and the server was down even after I deleted "taskbar=no".

    The server wasn't down, because now it works fine.

    psych1610

    p.s. I answered my own question of whether it starts up or ends with thunderbird and whether it starts at bootup.
     
  14. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Honestly, I dont know what that option does, I just got the idea from this guide. But Im glad I was able to help you :thumb:
     
  15. psych1610

    psych1610 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Redneckville, FL .. originally Newburgh, NY!!!!
    You wouldn't believe it, I'm back.

    Ok, here's another one for you all, sort of on the same topic.

    I need to drop AIM in my Thunderbird client because for some strange reason they don't support tagging.

    I found another email provider called fastmail: http://www.fastmail.fm/docs/imap/thunderbird.htm

    For some reason IMON isn't scanning fastmail.

    It's an IMAP mail server
    Currently using port 143 with no secure connection (same as AIM which is also not getting scanned). There is no smtp server for fastmail.
    It can support ssl port 993 but I would rather not do this because of the stuff I went through to get IMON to scan gmail with ssl enabled.

    Can IMON not scan IMAP mail? Or do I have to add port 143 to nod32 to get it to scan?

    Also, if someone can provide directions to get a normal free yahoo account scanned and then I swear I will leave you all alone.


    Also, if anyone knows how to configure stunnel to hide it from the taskbar (using the configuration file) without me killing it, that would be appreciated.
     
  16. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    IMON does not scan IMAP.

    As for yahoo mail, the free version does not allow POP access from a email client. Theres various programs (like freepops) and even a Thunderbird extension to let you do POP, but then I wouldnt know how to set up scanning.
     
  17. psych1610

    psych1610 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Redneckville, FL .. originally Newburgh, NY!!!!
    Does anyone know if nod will eventually scan IMAP email? If not I think it's a feature worth adding.

    psych1610
     
  18. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    As far as I know , the new Eset Linux product (which are currently in beta) can scan IMAP
    http://www.eset.com/company/article.php?contentID=3715

    But they won't work for your Windows workstation ... :D

    Did you forget AMON ? :thumb:
     
  19. psych1610

    psych1610 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Redneckville, FL .. originally Newburgh, NY!!!!
    Never, I just like the comfort of the signature on the bottom "scanned by nod32".

    Maybe I'll just ask everyone who writes me an email to put that at the bottom.. eh?

    I also enjoy the feeling of two scans being done with it. I suppose you're right, if anything did create itself AMON would catch it.

    psych1610
     
  20. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    :D :D :D
     
  21. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    The Stunnel site itself is confusing!
    How the heck do you download the program so it just works.
    Source code, binaries WTF?
     
  22. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    You need to download the binaries (stunnel-4.20-installer.exe)
     
  23. psych1610

    psych1610 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Redneckville, FL .. originally Newburgh, NY!!!!
    Hahaha, I agree. I had to try a few times before I got it. Then I just saw the.exe file and hoped for the best. Even after you download it, it seems like there's a heartache. So much for nod and gmail just getting along. Damn ssl encryption.

    psych1610
     
  24. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    You already editted stunnel.conf, correct?

    edit: look here ^ rogervon.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2007
  25. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    OK, I've installed the service & started it. Changed the server settings on my gmail account, entered by gmail ADDRESS - not the user name as usual?- tried with and without the @gmail.com in the user name.
    I try to connect and a box asking for my password on localhost pops up. o_O Just for the hell of it I have tried my Gmail password & also left it blank.
    THIS appears:-

    http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n297/penfro/errormessage.jpg


    So what next I wondero_O??
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.