NOD32 simply shuts down !!

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by zooburner, Oct 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    I have tried to scan my hard drive (in depth scan) somthing i do every day.

    When i tried to scan it scans a few files then simply shuts down, the 'on demand scan' window simply shuts and the program stops scanning.

    I re-started then it worked fine, looking in my logs afterwards it had 'cleaning' as its status, but no indication of what it was cleaning and why, that coupled with the fact that it handled the situation simply by shutting the 'on demand' window with no information showing. Also the control center profilesettings seem to have been altered.

    When i re-started it allowed me to do a full scan and nothing showed up, and the profiles were correctly set.

    This program just seems a little vunerable to me.. any suggestions ??

    zooburner :rolleyes:
     
  2. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    I had the same problem on one of my computers. It turned out to be a bad overclock. Even if you are not overclocking, it could be that your computer has some sort of hardware stability issue.

    I had my K6-3+ overclocked from 400 MHz all the way to a blazing 550 MHz. It seemed stable in everything else, but it would make the NOD32 on-demand scanner die. I did some more troubleshooting, and found that Prime95 would also crash on occasion. However, the NOD32 scan would crash or get stuck even sooner than Prime95. Apparently, the NOD32 on-demand scanner can be very stressful on your computer. :blink:

    Ever since I reduced the overclock to 500 MHz, the problem has not reappeared, and that was months ago. Of course, there are other possibilities, but I am just passing along what worked for me. :thumb:
     
  3. Kostan

    Kostan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Sorry no answer mate but the same happened to me 3 days ago but not anymore.o_O
    No overclocking here
     
  4. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    No overclocking here either, also ran a stress test on the puter, no problems shown. all temps were running okay, no instability in other programs.

    Also the fact that the profiles were all changed worried me more

    zooburner
     
  5. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Eh? The profiles were all changed? What do you mean?
     
  6. TJP

    TJP Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    120
    Hi all,

    I've had the same random shutdown of an in-depth scan with the beta software.

    The strange thing is the scanner log shows zero files have been scanned & the status is listed as cleaning, even though the process has shut itself down o_O

    I can initiate another in-depth scan straight after the original has terminated & it will run fine. 160K files scanned in 11 minutes :D

    The beta was setup per Blackspear's guide & I have not overclocked my machine.
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    If it were me using the beta at this point, I would try the typical settings on installation and see if that works.
     
  8. TJP

    TJP Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    120
    Hi,

    I just reinstalled 2.5, but then I am a wuss :)
     
  9. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    A lot of the scan options appeared unticked in profiles, meaning that the scan was less substancial than it should have been, when i re-booted everything had returned to normal, it may have been that profiles didnt properly load the previous time and i only noticed it when i did an in depth scan.
     
  10. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England

    This is not the Beta its the latest version 2.5

    zooburner
     
  11. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    I looked at my profiles again today, they had been changed, and each time i looked at one it said changes had been made and should i save them.. !!

    I can only put this down to a corupt profile file.. does anyone know where its kept by any chance ?? as these problems have appeared after using a backup program.

    zooburner
     
  12. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Often this is because of a newly added or changed drive letter.

    Cheers :)
     
  13. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    Why would that matter, given that XP retains its drive letters and file associations, doasnt seem to worry any other program ??


    zooburner
     
  14. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    I can not complete a scan using the In Depth scanner but I can scan with no problems using the On Demand scanner.
    I may have to switch back to the 2.5 version also.

    Edit: Found a thread that details some of my problems
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2006
  15. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    If this is the case, next time the On Demand Scanner is opened there is a change to the available choices in the scanning targets tab and so the information in that tab is now different, even if your selections have not been changed. Similarly if a new mail file/archive is created it may also cause a change to the list of available scanning targets.

    Cheers :)
     
  16. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    Im talking about profiles though, they have changed radicaly, IE some scanning option box's are unticked leaving your computer much more vunerable if it does this every time you plug in a usb storage device then i find this a very flimsly program.

    In any case a re-install seems to have sorted the problem, even when drives are added and unpluged i must say NAV and others ive use simply adapt to the aditional drives rather than ask you to re-configure (ie in a full scan they simply scan all availiable drives... a full scan means exactly that... now thats common sense)

    zooburner
     
  17. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    This only happens in the on-demand scanner profiles, so hence the explanation I offered.
    NOD32 adapts as well but doesn't record your preference to scan or not scan the new drive (or even remember it was in the list) without asking first, but I'm glad to hear it's sorted now :)

    It would be well worth your time to make your way through this thread if you haven't had the chance to do so already, regardless of your level of experience.

    Cheers :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.