NOD32 Processes

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Silent, Apr 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Silent

    Silent Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    My task manager shows two processes for NOD32:

    nod32kui: 1352 K
    nod32krn: 23164 K

    Several users report NOD32 to be light on resources, but I cannot understand why: ~23164 K is a lot!. Is this normal? Luckily for me, I have 1GB RAM and this barely (or never) impacts on my pc's performance. But I think it's a whole lot and is quite the opposite of "light on resources".

    What are your values?
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    A lot compared to what? And yes it's approximately normal.

    NOD32 kui 1,116
    NOD32 krn 22,660
     
  3. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    That's a common mistake, sorry.
    An AV isn't measured on memory usage but rather CPU usage.

    Some AV's like Kaspersky are very heavy on the CPU which bogs down your system, while NOD32 is using pretty much no CPU resource at all. This makes it light and fast, and it has almost no impact on your system performance as a whole (unless you scan UPX packed files...)
     
  4. Silent

    Silent Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks for the fast replies The Hammer and Brian N. Glad to see this is perfectly normal, in terms of mem. usage.

    I was comparing the usage to that of AVG Free, which I think used ~ 7000 K before I uninstalled it. Another AVG Free user could confirm this.
     
  5. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    I actually had NOD32 go down to 4000 total when playing a game or two.
    Just make sure you enable "optimize scanning", it will save you resources and make the AV faster.
     
  6. Silent

    Silent Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    "Optimize scanning" is enabled in the AMON module. I've configured it exactly to Blackspear's settings.

    It's good to know that the value drops when playing games.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.