NOD32 no longer updating properly

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by BurtieLad, Jul 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DontPanic

    DontPanic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    It looks like we are stuck on 3311 now. With about 1/4 of our clients still not updating from 3303.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    Are these clients on notebooks that they don't update from a central mirror?
     
  3. duijv023

    duijv023 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Rijnsburg, Netherlands
    in my case my notebook EAV 3.0.563.0 (automatically updating directly from eset servers) tonight for the first time in days is updated again.
    I'm now on 3315 :D

    This afternoon I saw a strange thing. While is was troubleshooting my problem of the ERAS mirror not being updated, i cleared the mirror, and mirror\v2 folders. After restarting the ERAS service, and hitting the "update now" button in ERAC, the v2 folder was filled again with update files, but the v3 folder was not?! During a coule of hours I repeated this procedure, but kept the same result.

    As I checked it a few minutes ago, hitting the update now button did fill the v3 mirror folder again. Now the mirror is at 3315.

    I hope for better times, it is too hot in Holland to have lots of problems :D

    Greetings from my garden :)
    (22.06 and still 28 degr.C)
     
  4. mongatu

    mongatu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    One would think Eset could afford to quickly put up as many servers as necessary to resolve this issue and avoid repeats of such issues in the future. But I guess not. I wonder how many customers they lost over this latest fiasco.
     
  5. davsan

    davsan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Add me to the list for no automatic updates. I upgraded to version 3.0.669 and my signature files stopped updating with 3309. Tried clearing the update cache but that didn't work either. Manual updates do work, but sometimes you have to do it 2 or 3 times in a row. At all times, I get the message that the updates are current when in fact they are not. Today, I got the 3315 update but had to perform a manual update 3 times in a row before it was downloaded.
     
  6. Philippe_FR22

    Philippe_FR22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Well, I made a test... Restoring image taken yesterday, just after installing update from 667 to 669... And still no update...
    Task (updating) were perform and I used Wireshark to analyse internet traffic... And no update !!! I shall be obliged to manually update...


    No news until a couple of hours ?
     
  7. JAA

    JAA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    What's the deal with this forum, we are here to support one an other and we don't share solutions, I am not going to V3 so lets move on and share the
    F*%@#ing FIX
     
  8. Philippe_FR22

    Philippe_FR22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Well regarding the frequence you post, I'm not sure you share anything...
    And let your "F*%@#ing" words outside of this forum please !



    Sorry, I'm not the moderator... They will decide what to do...
     
  9. acooldozen

    acooldozen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    221
    Location:
    White Rock, BC, Canada
    I agree.............share the FFix! And NO we are all not on NoteBooks! As mentioned in a previous Post this problem is a real pain having to update manually, with dozens of trys prior to getting the update. There has been No 10MB update at this endo_Oo_O
     
  10. Philippe_FR22

    Philippe_FR22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Problem seems to come from update servers... I sniffed traffic from my NOD32 and scheduled tasks performed as they did...
    We now are to wait from eset disponibility from their servers... Theorically, overload traffic should have been about to be finished now...
     
  11. cbowers

    cbowers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Just as a data point. Subsequent to my previous posts, the updates did stall again. No amount of manual firing of updates on the server would get an update. Most of my workstations as well as the server are on 3.0.621. Though I have a few at .650 and .669 (dipping toes in the water).

    It wasn't until I renamed the mirror folder and recreated it on the server that the updates immediate came through again, and seem to have been fine since.

    After that all workstations except one, updated. That workstation was on .650 and I just had to clear the update cache to get it to update as well.

    For another thread, that just leaves me to wrestle now with the braviax.exe mess that Nod32 let through.
    Plus some unexplained restarting of the Eset kernel service on workstations, phantom threat emails from clients with empty variables including %s as the subject line, and tracking down a few instances of "During execution of Personal firewall on the computer ------- , the following warning occurred: An error occurred while starting proxy server. Checking of application protocols (POP3, HTTP) will not work."

    So far from the "it just works" glory days of Nod32.
     
  12. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,716
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I just updated automatically from 3311 to 3316.
     
  13. Oleg

    Oleg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Posts:
    442
    Location:
    USA
    Just got updated as well :cool:
     
  14. loser

    loser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    still not updating =/
     
  15. acooldozen

    acooldozen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    221
    Location:
    White Rock, BC, Canada
    Tis now becoming a Joke!
     
  16. bornconfuzd

    bornconfuzd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Hi Everyone,

    Just want to post that Nod32 has automatically updated again to 3316. So while it may a bit slow, looks like it's back on track to deliver automatic updates.

    I'd also like to say that even with the occasional glitch from Nod32, it's still light years ahead of the "Big Mainstream" names I used for many years before switching over to Eset. Yes, even v.3 :D

    I'm only a single license user, and certainly I don't have the headaches the corporate folks do with dozens or even hundreds of machines that must be kept up and running, so I am in no way trying to minimize the trouble they're experiencing.

    Just speaking for myself, thanks to Eset for a great program, and to all the folks who post here regularly and help the rest of us keep our systems tip top.
     
  17. loser

    loser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    ive tried every server on my list a dozen times.

    still nothing.

    *sigh* :rolleyes:
     
  18. tommyboy

    tommyboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    huh? v3 doesn't allow us to select servers. how you doing that? what list of servers are you using?
     
  19. loser

    loser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    not using version 3, as stated before.

    this isnt isolated to just version 3 users...
     
  20. mickhardy

    mickhardy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Australia
    I just checked all our servers (V2.7) and all clients (V3.0.xxx) via ERA. All definitions are fully up to date. I've never manually updated any of them.

    I haven't noticed any updates failing but I haven't been paying much attention.

    Some problems go away on their own if you leave them alone for long enough. ;)

    Imagine the chaos if Microsoft released updates on a daily basis. Patch Tuesday once a month can be chaotic enough on its own.
     
  21. iopa

    iopa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I still have the same problems in my 250 Client Corporate environment.
    I use the server's EAV for mirror creation, which now has the 3316 update.

    Had the same problem a couple of days before, so I uninstalled the EAV from the server, installed it again and made the mirror from scratch.

    My clients have the 3313 and do not update. I have tried some troubleshooting though, so it has come to my attention that:
    Clients are downloading the updates, but do not install it.
    There is a 10MB file, as there was before. I deleted it from my mirror server. Still nothing.
    So, I cleared the cache of my server, the cache of a client and the update says "Up to date" but it contains the 3313 update.
    So my guess is that the 10MB is needed perhaps?
    My problem is that I can't delete all cache at all computers since it's placed in "All users" folder where my users do not have admin privileges.

    I will try to reinstall the EAV with the mirror and rebuilt the updates, it would be much easier if I had the mirror by the ERA.
    Edit: Installed the mirror to the ERA, deleted all the previous updates, rebooted my server and voilah! Clients update to 3316!
    Thanks ESET
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2008
  22. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432

    Hello,
    could you please try deleting the update cache on one of those problematic workstations to see if it makes a difference? If it does, we'd need to get the content of the "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus\Updfiles" folder as well as exported registry key "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ESET". Please let me know about your findings. If necessary, I will provide you access to our ftp server to upload the files.
     
  23. davsan

    davsan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Friday Morning. Last update was 3316 performed manually on Thursday. On startup no automatic update. Visit the Eset Threat Sense page and the latest is 3317. On the second manual update attempt 3317 downloaded and updated successfully.

    Not the most ideal situation to have to keeping using manual updates to stay current.
     
  24. Bakker

    Bakker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Posts:
    90
    For me it's a bit better now as well, iv'e been monitoring the RA server all day and sometimes it updates properly and sometimes it doesn't (about 50/50 chance now of a succesfull update).

    Not at all ideal but it's better than what it was a while ago :p
     
  25. spiketoo

    spiketoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    This is just insane 'customer service'. I've been trying for THREE DAYS to manually update v2 at various times throughout the day to no avail. I understand to some extent why ESET no longer provides the updates outside of the software, but in this instance they should make an exception and post this 11MB file where people who cannot receive it thru the update delivery channel can at least obtain it somewhere. And not on a case-by-case basis that requires some type of intervention - it should be unilateral in this instance.

    Update to v3? I'm seriously considering taking my own, and all of my clients business elsewhere. Dont get me wrong - though this could have been avoided with a better release schedule, I do understand that these things happen. And IMHO, its how companies respond to these types of anomalies that determine their true measure of customer service. ESET is woefully lacking in such.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.