NOD32 no longer updating properly

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by BurtieLad, Jul 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mladen

    mladen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Croatia
    Yes. It helped. :)
    Thank you very much for the information.
    Regards,
    Mladen
     
  2. WEG

    WEG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I will give this a try. I deleted everything in the mirror folder and somehow my clients are still downloading a file. This is around a 10 MB file. Do things usually still download for you if you clear this folder?
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2008
  3. mladen

    mladen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Croatia
    I have deleted all files in the mirror folder and then updated (again) the mirror. After that, all clients started to update normally.

    The "problematic" file, where the update failed before,was around 10 MB in size. My clients are now dowloading this file without problem.
     
  4. WEG

    WEG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I removed all the files in the folder cleared client cache and tried to download and it was still downloading a 10mb file. Any recommendations?
     
  5. mladen

    mladen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Croatia
    I do not see any problem with that. If you take a look at the mirror folder (on the RA server) you will see a 10 MB file (10658 KB). Since it is there, I suppose it is needed for the clients. In the LAN environment it will not take long to download it.

    I did not do anything on the clients, just on the RA server!
     
  6. raben

    raben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, i reslove this problem, by deleting all update mirror files and downloading them again. After what all my host began to update normally.

    >>>> I proceed exactly the same, and it seems to work.
     
  7. jclark33

    jclark33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    How are the mods still claiming that it an issue with server load, when many post are concerning updating clients over a LAN, my server is current my clients are sheist'd.
     
  8. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    I've ended up setting up my server to update every 10 minutes as 90% of the time the updates fail. At 60 minute intervals I've gone over 24 hours without a download from the eSet update servers.

    I'm worried about my Internet connected PC's. Many of them are not updating. Some have pattern files that are extremely old.
     
  9. WEG

    WEG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    That is the issue i'm having. Between this and the incident with office files being attacked I don't know what to do. I guess i have to start making tickets until this is resolved.
     
  10. jclark33

    jclark33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    ^^WEG

    Deleting the cached files on the server helped the clients have started to update.
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Do you use EAV or ERA to create mirror?
     
  12. WEG

    WEG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    It is setup through ERA.

    So i deleted the files from lanupdate/mirror.
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2008
  13. natem50

    natem50 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Appears that our configuration finally updated to 3310 and all my clients started picking up the new file across our LAN. We're on 3.0.657 and using ERA for centralized management.
     
  14. 9evill

    9evill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Try to change mirror folder name from mirror to mirror1 or smtg in update module advanced settings. Then you server will create new folder and download all new files.
     
  15. WEG

    WEG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Through the ERA?
     
  16. LoPhatPhuud

    LoPhatPhuud Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Same here, although clicking repeatedly on 'Update virus signature database' eventually workedon both of my computers.

    Desktop: Vista (x32) SP1, Nod32 AV, 3.0.669.0 (was stuck on #3308 )

    Laptop: XP SP3, Nod32 AV, 3.0.669.0 (was stuck on #3292)



    I opened a support ticket on this issue. I'll check updates very closely for the next week or so before I consider this resolved.
     
  17. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    It took two clicks of the update button to go from 3308 to 3310. Updated to 3311 on it's own.
     
  18. WEG

    WEG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    It seems that it is working for individual clients but my server still having issues. I've tried many different things.
     
  19. slowofmind

    slowofmind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago
    I am running WIN_XP_SP2 (Media Center Edition)
    I am using ESET NOD32 Antivirus Version 3.0.650.0

    My last successful antivirus update was: 07/21/2008 09:50:57 PM
    Version of virus signature database: 3285 (20080721)

    Each time I try to update (manually) an attempt is made to download
    a 10657 KB file. After downloading only about 145KB of the file, the download
    reports that 100% (10657KB) of the file has been downloaded... and that
    my "installed virus signature database is current"!

    Of course, that is not correct, my virus signature is still 3285.
     
  20. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    120,559
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello slowofmind,

    You might try the most current version and see if it helps. Version 3.0.669
     
  21. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    If that was the Nod32 Exchange issue, then that has happened at least twice. I've seen no other issues, but all my users are on v2.7.
     
  22. katzal

    katzal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Could somebody with the Admin Version please create a cd image with the current definitions and upload that somewhere?
     
  23. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Posting the updates in public would be illegal because users with cracked/fixed versions will also be able to download what will be uploaded and update without paying for the program. You should be able to update from ESET servers . Otherwise , ESET support team should be able to help you.
     
  24. katzal

    katzal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    well. I'm still getting the 'youre up to date' message though im clearly not.
     
  25. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    I haven't recently had problems updating ESS/EAV automatically or manually. Could you please post here the information about installed modules (Help -> About) ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.