NOD32 no longer updating properly

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by BurtieLad, Jul 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,716
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Your looking at the world through rose coloured glasses.:) I remember the days when so few servers were a problem for updates.:D
     
  2. rothko

    rothko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    UK
    are you going back to the days of 3 nod32 modules and the pulsing heart - or was it a pulsing eye.....? i bet you have access to that one in the eset museum!.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2008
  3. nrms

    nrms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    My NOD32 is also stuck at 3301 (27th July). It says no update is necessary as I have the most uptodate virus signatures - patently not true.

    I have cleared the cache (no change)
    I have cleared the UPDATES folder (no change)

    NOT HAPPY. I PAY for this program so I don't have to worry about it keeping udated automatically.

    NigelS
     
  4. rothko

    rothko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    UK
    of course you do, and of course it should. but there is a problem that is being fixed. while it is being resolved you have one of the best AVs that can recognise threats not yet in the databse. a little comfort, surely.

    EDIT: i've just updated to 3307. thanks eset.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2008
  5. Oleg

    Oleg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Posts:
    442
    Location:
    USA
    I have also have found in my log saying "Username or Password is invalid.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2008
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    If this record is fresh, it must be a problem with your license. Could you please PM me your username?
     
  7. Oleg

    Oleg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Posts:
    442
    Location:
    USA
    PM send.
     
  8. WEG

    WEG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Should I open a ticket for my corporate license? The client on the server is updating but my clients on user machines are not, it downloads a ~10mb file then fails on the update process.
     
  9. eTuner

    eTuner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    **Update!**

    If you try to update several times, it works. Thankfully, I have a fast connection, so it takes me less than a second to ping the server.

    If the 0kb of update.ver is sent, you won't get an update.

    If 1kb is sent, your username/password will be checked by ESET's servers, but no update.

    Anything 2kb+ will surely update. I downloaded almost 10mb of them in one shot.

    I hope this is fixed today.
     
  10. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    It seems to me that some of their update servers are giving out bad info. My laptop is stuck at 3300. One of my RA's was stuck at 3304 for 2 days. This sucks. Renewals are up in a month. I'm getting tired of spending 3 hours a day supporting Nod32.

    So my laptop is now updated from .657 to .669 and it says when I click update that pattern file 3230 from 28 days ago is the most current. Obviously .669 still has some bugs -- it should see the update dated 28 days ago and from that alone know I'm not up to date.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2008
  11. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    This thread is about Nod32 not updating properly, not about why I'm not using V3.

    There are more V2 users than V3 as you said yourself.
     
  12. ddre78

    ddre78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    This is starting to get very annoying. At this stage, I haven't had any calls from my clients, but if the Windows Security Center starts telling them their AV is not up-to-date, all hell will break free.

    I'm trying to deploy v3 on 12 PCs and none of them will update. Ive reinstalled most of them and ive deleted the cache, makes no difference. In fact, deleting the cache on a new install actually causes the detection engine to fail to start because it doesn't have an sigs to work with so these PCs are completely unprotected. NOT GOOD ENOUGH!
     
  13. eTuner

    eTuner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Despite the fact that I updated seamlessly, it is now reporting that my username/password are invalid, when I am 110% sure that they are.

    Any ideas? This is really, really, annoying.
     
  14. jobejufranz

    jobejufranz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Guys, is 3308 the latest update?

    If yes then i may consider myself lucky. Just few tries only then i managed to get the update.

    Anyway, I'm using 3.0.650.0 Business Edition and managing around 50 corporate workstation. Also quite disappointed few days back.

    I believe it has nothing to do with the software version or something but the ESET is receiving overwhelming updates on their Update Servers.

    I would advice not to touch whatever software you are currently using, though it may sound so ridiculous but no choice we have to be patient until our NOD V3 will be able to successfully updated.

    IMHO.
     
  15. Bakker

    Bakker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Posts:
    90
  16. martindijk

    martindijk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    537
    Location:
    Gorredijk - the Netherlands
    Well, i got lucky today, when i turned on the laptop this morning, a few seconds later a notification screen appeared on my desktop saying Nod has updated to "3308" with no intervention on my part, great, finally. :D

    Hope it stays that way.
    Running 3.0.669 (dutch version on XP, SP2)
    Thank you very much Eset.
     
  17. mongatu

    mongatu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    Mine updated to 3307 yesterday (after several days of not updating at all) but nothing I do will make it update to 3308 so far today.

    I don't understand why ESET cannot fix this by now. Are they living in some imaginary world where everything is working just fine? What are they doing to get this issue resolved?

    This is really unacceptable. It's one thing after another with this company. If enough people get disgusted, give up on NOD32, and move on to another AV provider, perhaps that will solve ESET's server problem.
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2008
  18. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Just wondering about your statement there. What's the one thing after another? The only things I'm aware of is the Nod32 Exchange server crashing (which has happened twice) & this latest extended update server failure. :doubt:
     
  19. sim34

    sim34 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Good Morning,

    We bave this configuration

    Server-AV : there are the Nod32 Server

    Pcs have Nod-32 client (3.0.650.0 with signature 3304)



    This morning, client can not update the virus signature database through the lan


    1) The server update correctly the signature database from internet

    2) PC can ping server-av



    According settings on clients: the client use http://server-av:2221


    From clients, when I try telnet server-av 2221: there is no answer, the connection failed.


    From server, when I try telnet server-av 2221: there is no answer, the connection failed.


    It was working fine since 2 months.

    Today, clients can not update through the lan


    Please give me assistance.

    Thanks,

    Regards,

    Sim 34
     
  20. Bakker

    Bakker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Posts:
    90
    Might be a long shot, but have you tried restarting the ESET HTTP server on the RA server? Or even the entire server?
     
  21. martindijk

    martindijk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    537
    Location:
    Gorredijk - the Netherlands
    Re: NOD32 properly updating

    Well, feels like the bugger has left the building, for Nod just updated to "3309" :D

    I have a good feeling about this, hoping it stays that way.
     
  22. mladen

    mladen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Croatia
    I have the same situation and yes, I have tried with restarting the service as well as the entire server. It did not help.

    Some clients are stuck with Virus signature 3308 and some with 3306. All clients have version 3.0.657.0. Update is working on the RA server.
     
  23. mongatu

    mongatu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    Well, I haven't been around all that long but in my short time using the product there have already been several, shall we say, "incidents" that should not have, in the exercise of ordinary care, happened, imo.

    The one I can think of off the top of my head atm is the recent update that caused all kinds of problems with hundreds if not 1000's of user systems and resulted in many people spending many hours troubleshooting and trying to get their systems working properly. A lot of productivity was lost in that incident. Unfortunately, information regarding the cause of the problem was not communicated to the user base effectively in a timely manner which made the situation even worse and caused a lot of people to waste more time than necessary troubleshooting and recovering their systems.

    There have been other things, I just can't think of them right now.

    More importantly, I still can't update either manually or automatically.

    In this present situation, I wonder why Eset doesn't make their updates available for manual download on some third party site, like FileHippo, MajorGeeks, Softpedia, or something like that?
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2008
  24. kaseli

    kaseli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I still run the old version of ras on server and all clients in 2.7
    last update is 3307 and when trying to force update on mirror it says its up to date.Couple of stand alone clients I have that update directly from eset have last update 3306 and also report that its up to date.
     
  25. 9evill

    9evill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Hi, i reslove this problem, by deleting all update mirror files and downloading them again. After what all my host began to update normally.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.