NOD32 no longer updating properly

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by BurtieLad, Jul 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    Build 3.0.667 -- same issue. I had Nod32 realtime disabled (Not surfing Internet) while I organized ~10,000 files. It took about 2 days to do this. On the 27th Microsoft SC alerted me that Nod hadn't updated since the 25th. Update now didn't work. I cleared cache and then did update now & it updated.

    Is there a way to schedule clear cache? Perhaps something I can run once a week? It wasn't my laptop and the user doesn't have the password to Nod GUI.
     
  2. Giftmacher

    Giftmacher Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    I'll add my name to this list. Clearing the cache doesn't seem to have made a difference on my Vista 64 (SP1) machines.

    I'll have a proper play around with them tonight though.

    [EDIT Curiously booting up today seems to have prompted an update. Why this didn't happen after I cleared the cache and rebooted yesterday though... well that's anyone's guess. Just FYI I've build 3.0.563.0 and sig DB 3303(2008072:cool:]

    Gift.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2008
  3. jongie

    jongie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Mold, Wales, UK
    One is XP Pro and the other two are XP Home (all build 2600, SP2 with all the latest updates).

    The fact remains, though, that all was working perfectly well before and no changes have been made to the OS.

    Looking at the latest logs, though, I think the problem might have been solved:)
     
  4. WEG

    WEG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Looks like I have the same problem also. Only 4 out of our 200 machines are on the current db version the rest are on 3279 any help would be good.
     
  5. paulsaz

    paulsaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    There's obviously something wrong server side with this many problems suddenly appearing.

    I've always been very happy with Nod32 but I'm a bit dissapointed with the support. I sent an in depth ticket in explaining how this intermittent problem had become permanent and that I was running a well out of date version of the software. The response was that I'd probably typed my username or password incorrectly. That's pretty abysmal troubleshooting. Still no one from Eset has suggested on this board that UPGRADING TO THE LATEST VERSION FIXES THE PROBLEM and instead people are being told to clear their cache.

    I would suggest that when new versions of software are released users should be informed and actively encouraged to update to the latest version.
     
  6. WEG

    WEG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I have updated the server to the newest version of the server and still no luck. This is pretty frustrating. I'm sure i will be getting calls soon.
     
  7. man1

    man1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I have same issue ;
    Win XP SP2 - 32bit
    Nod32 3.0.667.0
    Updates stopped on 3301(20080727) ; current web database sign. is 3304 ;
    Nod shows me "Update of virus sign. database not necessary, the installed virus sign. database is current" ;

    clearing the update cache folder manually didnt help me

    not blocked by any firewall ;
    didnt install any new program ;
    not changed any settings in nod ;
    not using any proxy server ;

    Solved ; it was a Nod update server failure according to Marcos , and my nod updated to 3307 ;
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2008
  8. WEG

    WEG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I get "error downloading file from server". After it downloads a bunch of files. It freezes during the install part.
     
  9. Cytoned

    Cytoned Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Same issue here (Vista SP1 x64). Reformatted system the other day, and installed ESS 3.0.669.0 -- updated to 3300 after the install (which was the latest version then) and I'm unable to get any more updates after this -- says the DB is current.

    My username/password are correct.
     
  10. slowofmind

    slowofmind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago
    I have cleared the update cache.
    However, I am now receiving the message:
    "Update of the virus signature database not necessary"
    "The installed virus signature database is current."...
    ... when not update has been done.
     
  11. cbowers

    cbowers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I'm back to updated status

    I'd also noted intermittent update failures through Friday, and then stuck at 3300 all weekend. I didn't worry too much given that 3300 was the lastest version listed at ESET, and given this thread I wasn't alone.

    Now the server and 45 clients are updating again and currently at 3304.

    I sure like to see an issue like this on an ESET status page.
     
  12. Cytoned

    Cytoned Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Re: I'm back to updated status

    Good idea about the status page. This is clearly either a server issue -- or something to do with update 3300 - would also like to see some reference to this on the main site.

    Still stuck on 3300 for me though.
     
  13. New2NAV

    New2NAV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Hi all. I'm very new to NOD32 and to this forum. I'm a home user with limted technical knowledge, running NAV on a laptop with XP Home Edition SP2. I hadn't been online since 0723 and found my Definitions stuck on V3293, 0723 when I came back today. I finally figured out how to clear the cache but doing a manual update got the same results reported above -- message says my definitions are up to date and don't need updating. I take it from a quick review of this thread that no one has a simple solution to offer a non-technical user at this point?
     
  14. mongatu

    mongatu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    I was having the same problem with .669 not updating for the past day or so stuck on 3302. I exported my settings, uninstalled the program, deleted any ESET directories still remaining, reinstalled the program, imported my settings, and the program updated itself to 3304 among other things. Whole procedure took 5 minutes (slow internet connection). Time will tell if it will continue to update or not.
     
  15. Banger696

    Banger696 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    274
    I think the servers have got themselves in a bit of a mess. Just had to clear my cache.
     
  16. capatt

    capatt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    84
    :(
    I have update problems on two machines.

    I just purchased EAV tonight for my laptop (XP SP2), downloading the most recent version. Uninstalled a trial version, and installed .669. The virus signature version is 3230 20080701, a month old! The update screen says no update has been run, but when I run it manually, it says it's up-to-date. Clearing the update cache has no effect.

    My desktop (XP SP3) currently sits at program version .669, signature version 3300 20080725. A manual update says the system is up-to-date. Again, not!

    I've never seen such a problem with ESET before!:mad:
     
  17. nfgxon

    nfgxon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Hastings
    I renewed my licence yesterday, and stupidly downloaded version .669. Ever since i too cannot update, automatically or manually. Until the it was fine.

    I haved deleted the folders as suggested, but it makes no difference, I would seem the adage, don't fix what isn't broken, applies to ESET too

    I want my money back , i think
     
  18. nfgxon

    nfgxon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Hastings
    I forgot: the database is 3230 (20080701)
     
  19. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    The problem is that a very large, so-called base update with more than 100,000 new signatures has been generated for v2 users which, due to a high number of v2 users, currently affects also v3 users even though not in such an extent as v2 users. We are trying to find a way how to notify the user in the case of server overloads instead of giving a message that the program is up to date, which I understand is not correct.
     
  20. nfgxon

    nfgxon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Hastings
    i have managed to revert to version .621 via system restore now and it updates fine. That would suggest that the fault lies with version .669

    I'll stick with version .621 at least it works
     
  21. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    I assume it was just a coincidence that the update servers were not so heavily loaded after you installed v. 3.0.621. I was able to update the latest version after several attempts.
     
  22. nfgxon

    nfgxon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Hastings
    perhaps it was, I'm not convinced though.

    It would be a huge coincidence that version .669 could not update once in 24 hours but version .621 immediately.

    I'd rather think that there is a problem with version .669
     
  23. Cytoned

    Cytoned Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    The point is that server overloads shouldn't be happening. ESET should have enough capacity to cope with the large amount of users downloading a large update.

    When can us V3 users expect the software to update correctly?
    Just reinstalled 3.0.669.0 and it's not updating past the signatures it included with the install.

    I'm very happy with ESS and ESET in general, but this is a bit disappointing.
     
  24. Bakker

    Bakker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Posts:
    90
  25. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    We'll give the v3 users a priority for a couple of hours. You're right, this should not be happening. Unfortunately, the large update was made prematuraly before installing another bunch of new update servers. If there weren't so many v2 users, there would be no such probles - v2 users currently download a 11 MB update while v3 users only about 1 MB. We do not expect a problem like this to occur in the future and apologize for the inconvenience.

    Please try clicking "Update virus signature" several times until an update gets downloaded.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.