NOD32 no longer updating properly

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by BurtieLad, Jul 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. oldhead

    oldhead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Jersey
    Someone earlier in the thread suggested stopping "ekrn" to prompt an update...this worked perfectly for me. Also, I had cleared the cache.

    I killed the process (it never actually stopped) and my icon "greened up".

    One observation from an (obviously) semi-technical person is that in looking at the logs, whenever there is a failed update attempt for whatever reason, it is always in the "update" module. Then, successful using the "kernel" module. I'm sure that's elementary to the "brain trusts" on this forum. Me, I'm just a businessman who deals with common sense...something software & hardware occasionally lacks! ;-)
     
  2. Giftmacher

    Giftmacher Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    Well I'm still suffering the error, could you check your pms please Marcos?

    Gift.
     
  3. Proteos

    Proteos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I am still having this issue on occasion... how can i fix it?
     
  4. gexxy

    gexxy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Hi,
    I am a new italian (excuse my english) happy (but not very much) nod32 3.0.672.0 user !!
    Infact nod32 is very much faster then my old norton and my old mcafee... IT functions well, BUT IT IS VERY BAD with UPDATEs!!!
    I lost since the installation (yesterday!!) a long of hours to install and reinstall the sofware...I don't understand why sometimes the update functions and very much times no!!
    The autoupdate doesn't functions (only 1 time worked)...manual update functions sometimes when I clean the files in applications data and the cache... but not very much times...
    There is an update of the 1.25h but now it's 3.17h (in italy) and nothing!!! I hate this!!

    I tried this and for very very few seconds I have seen the new update installed...but it disappeared !!! and now it doesn't work again!!o_O you have to stop the process in same time of the update and you can see the new update installed...but it back to the old in few seconds!!!
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2008
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    What message do you get when you try to update EAV manually?
     
  6. gexxy

    gexxy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    it says that I have the last update....i am stopped at the 3490..
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    I'll send you a PM as I'll need to check your configuration.
     
  8. gexxy

    gexxy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    i don't see private messages
    I am reinstalling the software for the 100 time :mad:
     
  9. gexxy

    gexxy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    after reinstllation number 100 the update worked without using the file you sent ... I have the 3493...now I will wait the next update
    if it doesn't work alone I will try your file
    It it doesn't work I don't know what to do...
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Well, the instructions I provided you with can only be applied if you have a problem updating to the version in my mirror. Should you encounter the same problem again, please PM me first so that I can prepare the stuff for you. By the way, do you have EAV 3.0.672 currently installed?
     
  11. Bille1

    Bille1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Australia
    I have 3.0.621.0 and have what appears to be the same problem, subscribed until April 2010.

    When I try to update it checks and tells me "Up date not necessary The installed data base is current".

    Last successful update 4/9/2008 5:12:38 AM.

    Version 3494 (20081003).

    WTF is going on are they experiencing financial meltdown through the Financial crisiso_Oo_O

    Windows Box running Win XP Pro.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2008
  12. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,034
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    It looks like your copy of the software is downloading virus signature database updates correctly, but is not correctly displaying the date they were downloaded.

    One thing I noticed is that you are on an older build of the software, v3.0.621.0. Could you try updating to the latest build, v3.0.672.0? That may resolve the issue.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky


     
  13. Bille1

    Bille1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Aryeh for the response, I neglected to say that the Protected Status shows the RED PANEL with the white exclamation mark.

    To update do I uninstal the current version, download latest version 3.0.672.0 and re enter my Username and Password?
     
  14. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,034
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    You should be able to install it over the existing version of the software, however, if the problem does not resolve itself, you will want to try uninstalling and then reinstalling the latest build.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  15. Bille1

    Bille1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks, that worked and I now have the newer version running on my computer.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.