NOD32 no longer updating properly

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by BurtieLad, Jul 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    PM sent.
     
  2. pribo

    pribo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    No updates here, still update version 3359 o_O o_O
    :'( pribo.
     
  3. Proteos

    Proteos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Mine is still saying I am not up to date on occasion, but it is. I am currently at 3370, but when I woke up my computer said NOD32 had issues updating...
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    Please send me the exact error message from the event log when such a problem occurs. When you wake up the system from standby mode, it usually takes some time until the connectivity is re-established. If EAV tries to update at the moment when there's no Internet connectivity, it will end up with an error.
     
  5. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    So my PC quit updating 20 hours ago. I have 675 station license. This PC is directly on the internet. No Proxy etc.

    Wireshark is my friend.

    When eSet tries to download /set_upd/update.ver your servers send back HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified.

    All I can say is, WTF?

    Your GET request has If-Modified-Since: And then todays date and time in my time zone but with GMT at the end.

    No wonder why updates aren't working.
    nodwtf.png
    nod32wtf2.png

    All I can say is I am rather fed up. It is renewal time for my 675 license. Symantec End Point Protection is cheaper than Nod32 is. As much as I hate to, eSet is forcing me to look elsewhere. Kaspersky is Russian, so that's out for the time being. NAV's the only other real solution in the same detection league.

    Another problem with your update routines is that once the update selects one of the many eSet servers to update from - that's all it will use - just that one. So if you are having problems on your end on one server, and I just happen to select that one, then it does me no good that you have any others. I just continue to fail to update from the one. This includes when I have LAN servers and Internet servers both setup as update sources using multiple profiles and multiple scheduled entries.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    Could you please send the whole Wireshark log to support[at]eset.com with this thread's url in the subject? I recognize only ts00.eset.com which is a ThreatSense server and has no connection with updates, the other servers listed are unknown to me.
     
  7. Proteos

    Proteos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8

    It isn't right after I wake up... I never let my system sleep. It happens randomly while ima ctually using the system. If I catch it doing it again I will send you the error.
     
  8. darnit

    darnit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Well I’m coming to the end of my trial period with NOD32 and I’ve just hit this updating problem. This is the second trial version I’ve taken up and it seems that the problem continues on from the previous version. Luckily, this happened both times towards the end of the trial period and I was able to look elsewhere for anti-virus software.
    I find the most concerning problem is that after hitting the manual update button, NOD32 tells me that it is all up to date. This is clearly not the case. Its like me telling my boss I’m working, while I’m still laying in bed. And no, I’m not in the porn business.
    As well as improving the updating, it is really important that NOD32 gives out the correct information to its users. I.e, if the signature database is not up to date, then don’t let it fib that it is!
    NOD32 should have something within its system which indicates that it has not received a download within one day. Even if the signature download it receives, is simply an acknowledgement that it has downloaded something and therefore up to date. If a download is not received within one day, then NOD32 will indicate that it is NOT up to date when the manual update button is pressed.

    Surely it cannot be that difficult to make NOD32 tell us the truth.
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    Unfortunately, we are not aware of update problems that would affect EAV/ESS trial users. If you are having problems updating the program, please let me know and we'll investigate it further with your assistence.
     
  10. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,206
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Went from wireless to wired (Since router is broken) and its not updating on my family PC. :( Saying something about the password and user name being incorrect.No one has changed it AFAIK.
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2008
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    Please PM me your username so that I can check your license.
     
  12. Incredulous

    Incredulous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Not aware of update problemso_O You're kidding, right?

    I'm probably not the brightest bulb on the string but it didn't take me more than a few minutes browsing to see that there obviously IS a problem. Well, actually there's two problems and I'm not sure which is the larger one. Your software simply will NOT update correctly, number one, and number two, you people absolutely refuse to accept that fact no matter how many people report it to you.

    Thats okay though. Just keep right on telling everybody there is no problem, there is no problem, there is no problem, and sooner or later it'll be true. You'll no longer have any customers to be reporting problems, but hey, they were just an annoyance anyway. Better off without 'em. Right?

    Frankly, I don't plan to be bothered with jumping through a thousand hoops in an obviously futile attempt to beat the facts into your thick heads, I've watched too many try and fail already. I'm simply moving on. Based on what I've read here I'm sure I'll be in the company of many others. You WOULD have had at least eight more customers on my reccommendations, but due to the fact that not a single one of them have been able to reliably get updates on a fresh install of your trial software they'll be moving along to one of your competitors. You know how it is. You won't find too many people willing to shell out good money for a broken bicycle.

    Please don't waste your valuable time responding to this post as I'll be listening to you about as well as you've been listening to everyone else like me the last few weeks. Perhaps when your bottom-line takes enough of a nose dive you'll take your fingers out of your ears, sit up, and pay attention, but somehow I doubt it.
     
  13. ABXZone

    ABXZone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Add me to the list. Its clear there is a problem with your servers or your software. To say otherwise shows your lack of knowledge of software development. This many people reporting an identical problem across different platforms clearly indicates a problem on your end.

    As the above poster said, no update may equal no customers. I'm a long time Nod32 user, and I suppose I'll have to go check out the new NAV 2009 beta.
     
  14. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    If there is a problem, please provide as much information as possible (ie. whether it's a full or trial version, ESS/EAV, 32-64-bit, etc.). I'll need you to send me the exact error message you're getting when trying to update as well as exported ESET registry key. Please let me know and I'll PM you the email address where you can send all this information to.
     
  15. Demente1982

    Demente1982 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hi Marcos, i Have about 700 PCs, since trouble of 3304 Update. Some of my machines appers the follow message "The virus signature update file has not been digitally signed! Do you wish to apply this update anyway?". I have ERAS and ERAC v 2.0.110.

    Some of my users have EAV V3 BE (different versions)

    How i can solve that..o_O
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2008
  16. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    The problem is with certain proxy servers (probably used by your ISP) that modify the HTTP header and thus corrupting the digital signature. We have already analysed Wireshark logs from clients having this issue and all of them turned out to be caused by a proxy modifying the HTTP headers.
     
  17. Demente1982

    Demente1982 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    yes, but that only happens before 3303 - 3304 Uptade.o_O Since 3 years with NOD32.

    How i can solve the clients, because from 700 clients 600 are ok but the other 100 (aprox.) doesn't update(all with version 2.x).

    I tried deleting the updfiles from update folder in clients and works good... but are 100 of clients in differents locations... so.. theres a way to do that from ERAC o ERAS..(v2.0.110)
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2008
  18. JohnWin

    JohnWin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I also have the updating problem and I'm on a trial license.
    Last time I killed the nod32 processes and restarted and it updated ok. It was 2 days ago, and today again NOD32 won't update properly.

    I sent you a support request and no news since 2 days.
    Trial is ending soon and of course I won't buy it if you don't resolve this issue.

    PS: XP Pro version 2002 sp3 32bit, Intel cpu
     
  19. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    There is no proxy between my PC and the Internet. It's sitting with an IP address right on the Internet. No hardware firewall either. (screen shots of wireshark PC.)

    Also, some of these PC's not updating now have some virus on them. Nod real time didn't detect them but the scheduled scan did. I scheduled a cleanup scan and they disappeared, but there are now a ton of password protected .UI files that I can't touch which look like perhaps belong to Antivirus2009.??

    Ah, fun times.
     
  20. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    Unfortunately, I can't check the status of your case as you have probably contacted the US office or your local reseller. I'll send you a PM.
     
  21. mongatu

    mongatu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    I'm dumbfounded that this issue hasn't been resolved yet and that you can't make the software accurately report the status of the update situation.

    And no, I personally am not currently having a problem with updating, but it still concerns me the way the issue is not being dealt with properly and the software continues to report erroneous information to many people regarding whether their signature database is up to date or not.
     
  22. betsla

    betsla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Add me to the list of non-updated... I'm stuck with ver. 3375.
     
  23. JohnWin

    JohnWin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    v. 3378 here.

    The update seems to goes fine but at the end It shows:

    "Virus signature database could not be updated"
    "Undocumented serious error (0x101a)"

    I killed the ekrn.exe process, then the process auto-started again by itself (I guess it's a protection) and then I retried updating and voilà! this time it went ok and updated to v. 3382
     
  24. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    This is strange as error 0x101a mainly occurs if there's a problem writing to the system temp folders. Should you come across the problem again, please use Filemon or Process monitor from Microsoft to monitor what file operations are being performed when the error occurs.
     
  25. BeanCounter

    BeanCounter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I have had this error a few times when during an update, as I have reported in another thread. Regrettably the error has always occurred in the small hours of the morning when I have been asleep so I have been unable to investigate further.

    My biggest concern with this error is that NOD32 doesn't seem to be able to recover without manual intervention.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.