NOD32 no longer updating properly

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by BurtieLad, Jul 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ProbSolver

    ProbSolver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Posts:
    3
  2. mps_surcouf

    mps_surcouf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Posts:
    33
    This was confirmed by ESET as a problem with their update servers having different versions of the definitions.

    Since the thread has gone quiet I asume they have fixed it.

    Cheers

    Mike
     
  3. mongatu

    mongatu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    Or maybe it's just that most people that were still having problems at this late date have simply given up and moved on to something different that works (updates) better and has more responsive support.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    We haven't recently seen an update problem that would have been caused by problems with the update servers. It must be misconfiguration of your update settings or a problem with your license. In order for me to tell, I'll need to check your configuration. I'll PM you further instructions.
     
  5. XtenZ

    XtenZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Could you pm me those instructions as well.

    All our clients update to the mirror fine but the Mirror/Server cannot do [read: invalid username/password] automatic updates unless done manually.

    Thanks.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    Have you fiddled around update parameters after installation, such as primary/sec. profile configuration, changing the interval for checking for updates, etc? Try removing the update task and scheduling it from scratch.
     
  7. mongatu

    mongatu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    Thank you Marcos, however, my comment was not meant to imply that I personally was still having problems updating. I was merely making a general observation. I personally haven't experienced any problems updating for quite some time now. But I certainly appreciate your offer of assistance, however, it is not needed at this time.
     
  8. enduser999

    enduser999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    418
    Location:
    The Peg
    Also getting notifications via email that a couple of clients are also having the update problem today. Their installs are from May and June and have had no problems until now. Have not been on site yet.

    Is there a solution for the problem?
     
  9. sagittarius

    sagittarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    I've got the same thing happening .. about 2 dozen emails from client's computers saying "Update attempt failed (Server connection failure)"

    Coincidentally I had a new client with me & had just finished installing Nod32 on her computer when they started to arrive in my inbox ... at least I knew it wasn't her computer that had the problem.

    Maybe there's a notice posted somewhere about the update servers being down .. does anybody know?
     
  10. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    While I am sure this isn't the sole cause of my update problems, I have isolated and resolve one of the update issues that was plaguing me.

    I run BIND DNS servers. They are patched against the BIND DNS vulnerability, but there is some concern about my second, redundant firewall. This vendor has NAT/PAT which changes the source port of my DNS requests, bringing the vulnerability back to me on my one DNS server which uses that route.

    So we switched to a combination of OpenDNS and UltraDNS as resolvers.

    Not only did that cause NOD32 to quit updating at times, it caused my Surfcontrol EUM and other things to fail.

    Apparently there is something broken in the Windows XP SP3 name resolver (Hosttable/DNS/WINS). I will see at times the DNS lookup not "myavserver.mydomain.com" but the entire "myavserver.mydomain.com:2221" which my DNS server doesn't know about. Without using these forwarders, I would get that it is invalid and resolution would continue and the proper IP would come to the client.

    Using UltraDNS or OpenDNS, if something doesn't match then their wildcard IP for their website is sent down. So my NOD32 clients were trying to update from UltraDNS/OpenDNS webservers. My Surfcontrol was having the same DNS issues and trying to send EUM info to the same IP's.

    I change my DNS not to use these services and my hundreds and hundreds of e-mail alerts from NOD32 updates failing have gone back to the normal dozen or so.

    Like I said, it's not the sole cause, however I imagine this is the partial cause of others having update issues.
     
  11. Hantmus

    Hantmus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I too had a problem with updating

    I had last updated on July 26. Since then, I had been getting the message "No update required".

    I searched the internet and came across this simple solution.
    Just keep on doing the update repeatedly for 5-6 times, that is,

    1. Press Update
    2. Press OK("no update reqd.")
    3. Press Update
    4. Press OK("no update reqd.")

    and so on...

    After trying a few times, the update will start. The size of update is around 11mb.
     
  12. Proteos

    Proteos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I am having the same problem. NOD32 notifies me that it cannot update and then when i try to manually update it sometimes wont even get thru a single file. Sometimes it goes through a couple, but it always goes back to the screen where you manually update.
     
  13. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    Maybe you played with the update task settings (ie. altered somehow the primary/sec. profile settings) which caused the task cease working. Try deleting the update task and rescheduling it from scratch.
     
  14. Proteos

    Proteos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I did that actually. Still won't update. I didn't mess with anything after installling it. This is a new format because I just built this computer. It is stuck on Virus signature 3360 (20080815). I tried deleteing the updfiles folder and it still won't do it.
     
  15. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    I thought 3360 was the latest. ?
     
  16. HankPiano

    HankPiano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    62
    I haven't experienced any problems with updating and my last update is 3360. So it must be the last one indeed.
     
  17. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

  18. ae_otg

    ae_otg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hi, guys.

    Update problem seems to be over with EAV (3), but ESS (3) is still having some problems, even though not as frecuent as before. Is anybody having the same problem with ESS? My NOD32 has the latest virus signature, but my ESS stays one to three-four versions behind.

    Despite the problems (which EVERY software has) NOD32 is en excellent program. The only thing I would complain about, is maybe the creation af a dedicated part within the official ESET website, where one could find official response to the problems one might have with ESET software.

    Thanks.

    Just after making this post, I went to my PC, which had ESS 3356, and after one clik in manual update, it updated flawlessly to 3360. I hope everything is ok now! Ciao!
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2008
  19. Proteos

    Proteos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    It looks like mine is doing okay now too... it was updated by the icon was orange and windows had a warning saying my virus scanner wasn't up to date... odd.
     
  20. Proteos

    Proteos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I spoke too soon. It's back to orange again... what exactly is going on here? If I have the latest Virus signature why is it saying it is having trouble updating?
     
  21. Giftmacher

    Giftmacher Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    Same problem here, most odd. I currently show as having 3362 (20080817) i.e. the current version but NOD seems to think that's out of date.

    Gift.
     
  22. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    Could someone please post here a screenshot of the orange message? Also please make sure that the system date is set correctly.
     
  23. Giftmacher

    Giftmacher Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2008
  24. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    If you have the update server set to Choose automatically and the problem occurs though, would it be possible to capture the communication on port 80 during the update by means of Wireshark (former Ethereal) ?
     
  25. Giftmacher

    Giftmacher Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    I really don't have much of an idea how to use Wireshark but think I've managed to generate a log file, it's fairly big and I've no clue what I'm looking at. Any way I can mail the file to you? (PMs don't appear to allow attachments, and I'd use the forum post but I've no clue how sensitive any of the data is.)

    Gift.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.