NOD32 new release bug?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by The Hunter, Jun 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fosius

    fosius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    Partizanske, Slovakia
    I have no problems as you explained. But sometimes after system startup, NOD32 Control Center's icon does not show in Taskbar. Process nod32kui.exe runs in a memory. Icon is placed there when I run Control Center manually.
     
  2. DANSBLACKCAT

    DANSBLACKCAT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I sent an email lastnight as per the request and received a reply almost immediately. It read

    "the delay is caused by the fact that the NOD32 kernel service is waiting for
    another service (most likely network related) to start (e.g. if you use a
    wireless connection). Couldn't it be the case?"

    Could this be true? I have a PCI wireless card in all 3 computers but dont have a wireless internet connection.

    There must be some way around this.


    Dan
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    123,573
    Location:
    Texas
    Maybe you could try disabling, or set to manual, the service for the card if using XP and see if that helps.
    Start, run, enter, services.msc to see if a service exists for those cards.
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Indeed, if you are not using Wireless, try an experiment with removing one of the cards and see if this resolves the issue.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    LOL, I can't type that quick and watch "The Sheild" at the same time ;) :D

    :D :D :D
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    123,573
    Location:
    Texas
    The more the merrier! :D
     
  7. DANSBLACKCAT

    DANSBLACKCAT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I tried disabling the card and then even removed it - still no joy.

    I also sent another email "I do have wireless PCI cards but only use a dial up connection.
    I turned off all programs that run on startup including WIFI and Nod32
    still hangs."

    And received the reply-

    "it's not only about programs, certain system services could still use
    wireless connection. I'd suggest that you try disabling the card drivers (or
    better remove the card) completely to see if it makes a difference."

    I do use wireless only for my laptop - ie. i dial up from my pc and then use the wireless connection for my laptop to gain access to the internet


    Cheers

    Dan
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    123,573
    Location:
    Texas
    I wonder if turning off auto updates would make a difference? NOD looks for updates at first boot and you are using dialup. It may not make any difference.
    You could also turn off the splash screen.
     
  9. Bandicoot

    Bandicoot Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    California
    Hi DANSBLACKCAT,

    Have you got any redundant ISP setups common to all 3 machines?

    Bandicoot.
     
  10. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I clicked on the repair button on IMON and the time was cut to 18 from 40 seconds on next startup.
     
  11. gnervt

    gnervt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    DANSBLACKCAT...

    - use a static ip for your nic (dont let apipa trying get one for you)
    - uncheck in imon settings-miscellaneous->automatic detect changes in network...

    cu
     
  12. BigT

    BigT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Same issue on my PC:
    If AMON is disabled while I reboot, the splash screen hangs. If AMON is loaded and enabled or unloaded and then I reboot, the splash screen does not hang. This can't just be explained by AMON taking time to load because it has to load at every startup.

    This really seems like a bug in NOD32...
     
  13. DANSBLACKCAT

    DANSBLACKCAT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Hey All
    I've tried playing around with the suggestions that I have been given and also with the software I'm using to run my wireless cards. I now have my Nod startup time down to 10 seconds at times. Also now when I remove my Wireless card there is no delay whatsoever, when Nod appears the build code is already there and the splash screen only hangs around for about 1-3 seconds.
    Am I always going to have to wait if I have a wireless card installed or is there still a fix for this problem?

    Dan
     
  14. DANSBLACKCAT

    DANSBLACKCAT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11

    No redundant ISP, only ever had one
     
  15. Bandicoot

    Bandicoot Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    California
  16. Bandicoot

    Bandicoot Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    California
    Received your NPE log, thanks. All seems to be OK in this area, so something else to cross off the list.

    Have you got any huge backup folders sitting in a corner of your HD possibly?

    Bandicoot.
     
  17. ragnarok

    ragnarok Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    36
    very strange prob. u have there, i have never experienced something like this, maybe it could be something to do with computer´s characteristics like ram, mobo´s cache or cpu, (talking in terms of putting nod32 settings to max, especifically depth scan settings, cuz maybe activating it to scan registry with this option enabled could cause on an average pc to delay some extra time at boot up, along with a loaded system startup of course, cuz i have an upper mid-range pc Pent.4 3 ghz with 1 gig ram and an average mobo and still on a depth scan with whole nod32 set up to max it kinds of takes pretty much cpu´s usage to very high levels (with intervals of freeze of one second at doing click on SCAN, the thing is that it indeed shows that nod32 is doing a depth scan on all sectors of the pc), so in theory activating in depth scan on all nod32 settings (especially on boot stuff) could have this effect on average pcs, hope this to be helpful
    P.D (sorry for my bad english!!!! :p)
     
  18. DANSBLACKCAT

    DANSBLACKCAT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I have no back up folders that I can think of. I experienced the same problem with a clean install. So that can't be it.
    Remove the wireless card and the problem goes away surely must mean that the problem lies there somewhere?

    My Pc has reasonable specs so I dont think this is the problem-
    P4 3.2ghz
    1024Mb DDR400 ram
    ASUS P4P800-E Deluxe
    250g SATA Hdd
    ATI X850XT PE

    MSI PCI Wireless card (Damn you)
    Also tried an Intel version - same result

    I know almost nothing about wireless networking other than how to very basically set it up (network wizard)

    Cheers for all the help so far

    Dan
     
  19. vee

    vee Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Zagreb, HR
    @DANSBLACKCAT

    hey, I dunno if it will help, but can you try to DISABLE SSDP Discovery Service and Universal Plug and Play Device Host in Administrative Tools -> Services (or simply use program from www.grc.com... unPnp (http://www.grc.com/files/unpnp.exe)...) and also check in Add/Remove Programs that Window Components -> Networking Services that Internet Gateway Device Discovery and Control Client and uPnP User Interface (I don't have administrative access to this machine so I can not check at the moment if I remeber correctly) is not selected... please post result!

    Hope it will help...
    regards,
    vee
     
  20. Bandicoot

    Bandicoot Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    California
    ...and also,

    Can you check for Windows Updates. You've probably got automatic updates setup, but when you check manually there is an option to do a "Custom" check which will find software and hardware updates that aren't necessarily critical. Just a thought that there might be an update for your MSI PCI Wireless Card perhaps.

    Bandicoot.
     
  21. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Hmmm, now that I think about it, wasn't there another thread around here in which someone was complaining about how it takes almost a minute for NOD32 to start if they had a wireless connection? I believe the problem was tracked down to the fact that Windows wireless networking does not start until you login as a Windows user, and it closes the wireless connection when you log back out.

    Windows is probably giving the wireless network a high priority, so it seems to hang NOD32 because it is busy looking for a wireless connection. Once Windows gives up looking, then NOD32 proceeds as normal.

    If we could somehow find a way to change the priority, or at least tell Windows to quit looking for a wireless connection when you log in (make it manual instead of automatic), this could get around the problem? Does this sound like it could be on the right track?
     
  22. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,174
    Location:
    Denmark
    This also happens to people whos on dsl, cable etc.
    But only if they disable AMON or IMON - Which people do when they install software, I know I do and I also suffer from the bug or whatever it is.
     
  23. DANSBLACKCAT

    DANSBLACKCAT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I had no luck with any of the above suggestions -Sorry

    However I have been able to get the start up time down to a consistant 10 seconds by downloading the very latest driver for my wireless card and by also unchecking the box "use windows to configure my wireless network settings". Im using the software that came with the card to configure and run it.

    10 seconds is ok - but there is still a problem


    Dan
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.