nod32 memory usage

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by mattc, Oct 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mattc

    mattc Guest

    I was planning from switching from Symantec 2005 anti-virus to nod32. I downloaded the trial and it appears that my computer is actually using MORE memory than when I used Symantec. I know all the boards indicate it is "light", but doesn't seem to be the case on my machine.

    Symantec memory available: 481316
    Nod32 memory available: 466960

    Found:

    nod32krn using 19,324
    nhlsrv using 1,964
    npfmontor using 3,488

    Don't know if the last two files are related to nod or not.

    Just wanted to know if the higher memory usage could be possible?

    Thanks.
     
  2. rawr

    rawr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Illinois, U.S.A
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong but the only 2 processes from Eset that should be running if NOD32 is loaded are..

    nod32krn.exe (19,056k)
    nod32kui.exe (1,320k)

    ..and if you're running the on-demand scanner, you'll see nod32.exe in your task manager..
     
  3. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Yes, rawr is right. And the RAM usage rawr has posted are also typical.
     
  4. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    rawr is correct on the nod processes. I think npfmonitor is Norton's Personal Firewall. Not sure about nhlserv.19MB seems kind of high to me though. Running at 9MB here.
     
  5. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    I Concur :-
    nod32krn.exe 14608k private bytes and 18260k working set.
    nod32kui.exe 1860k private bytes and 2380k working set.

    Also, if you have previously had Syamntec products installed on your machine, try searching their web site for the correct uninstallation tools to clean up any leftovers. Some PC's will run like they have their handbrake stuck on untill you do. HTH :)
     
  6. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2005
  7. shamsay

    shamsay Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    24
    why u all have nod32 memory usage is very high .i got only 14.534K(nodkrn.exe) and 988k(nod32kui.exe).how to minimize the usage?any settings?
     
  8. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    nod32krn.exe 15,204
    nod32kui.exe 2,820
     
  9. rothko

    rothko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    UK
    on my laptop:
    nod32krn.exe - 15,988k
    nod32kui.exe - 1,820k

    on my desktop:
    nod32krn.exe - 17,056k
    nod32kui.exe - 2,492k
     
  10. Xophile

    Xophile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    nod32krn.exe 4552k (peak 26092k)
    nod32kui.exe 2040k (peak 5604k)

    Sounds pretty good to me :)
     
  11. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    nod32krn.exe - 18,800k
    nod32kui.exe - 2,300k
     
  12. Stan999

    Stan999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX USA
    nod32krn.exe - 5,016k
    nod32kui.exe - 2,304k
     
  13. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    nod32krn.exe - 17,936k
    nod32kui.exe - 784k
    (XP Pro)
     
  14. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    NOD32KUI.EXE : alloced memory: 2053kbytes, used memory: 141kbytes
    NOD32KRN.EXE : alloced memory: 38440kbytes, used memory: 610kbytes
     
  15. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    The amount of memory used by the NOD32 processes varies according to the amount of data being scanned. For example, if you are doing a lot of heavy web surfing, the nod32krn.exe memory usage will increase. However, if you leave your computer alone for a while, the memory usage will gradually decrease.

    From my personal experience, *all* of the values listed here are reasonable. It just depends on how you have been using the computer lately.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.