nod32 http 8081 & isa2000 update problem

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by peterjames, Oct 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. peterjames

    peterjames Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    hello all im having a problem with nod32 on a network with isa2000 its nod32 version 2.5 on a network and the server is running 2.5 with mirror on port 8081 now the server works perfectly (also with exmon) it updates frequently and doesn’t seem to skip a beat, but the lan computers which are updating via the mirror keep prompting for a username and password.. Eventually after cancelling the prompt and clicking "update now" the lan does update.. my guess is its isa2000 proxy? just wondering if any of you had the same problem if any of you could help id be grateful thanks

    ______________________________________

    is there a config file you have for the blackspear setup or how do i create one it takes bloody ages to set it up every time and setting it up 50+ times a week gets bloody annoying.

    _____________________________________

    Here is 2 helpful bits of information to other users (problems I had with nod32 that are now resolved)

    I got this message:

    "download file is damaged"

    1.if you have already tried to uninstall it and reinstall it and it still doesn’t work try this.

    2. i used to block *.nu sites on firewall routers because most *.nu sites = porn. Problem is *.nup files are the update files for nod32, make sure if you have any content filter/firewall its not blocking anything *.nu because this was my problem "download file is damaged"

    3. another thing is people say it happens because of "bad internet line" but i think its highly unlikely


    This took me about 1 month to figure out what the problem was, we had a server that every now very randomly would just restarted. It showed all the signs of a hardware issue (damit i cant remember the errors in the log file but) i found it was because of nod32 using advanced heuristics.
     
  2. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    The Nod32 EE edition setup I did on an ISA network, I did the standard UNC directory share mirror instead of the http update, so clients are set to update from \\servername\mirrorsharename with whatever domain user/pass you setup for that share (I usually just make an nod32/nod32 account and give that share read rights)

    Regarding the config file....are you setting this up over and over on the same network? Or looking for a generic package to roll out to various clients?
     
  3. peterjames

    peterjames Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    i was under the impression that the \\computer\share was pretty unreliable?
    i have used this b4 and its proven to be so, but i guess i haven’t got much choice @ the moment..

    is there a way of exporting settings from nod32 2.5 to a file and importing it into other nod32 2.5 on another computer? so i dont have to run through the whole setup each time.

    on different networks,

    p.s thanks for helping so far
     
  4. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    You can do this with the Remote Adminitrator Console.
    To do this, in the console, request the config file of the target computer, and after the request completed, save the .xml file.
     
  5. peterjames

    peterjames Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    and if its just a standard nod32 client?

    we sell a few computers, and would like to just import settings into a stand alone client

    lazy? probably... but if your passing 50+ individual pc's per week then running through settings can get abit repetitive
     
  6. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    I have not found any difference in the reliability between the UNC updates versus the http updates...both work like a champ, although I prefer and usually do the http update..hmmm...I'm just wondering what is getting in the way of the http update with ISA, if it's a LADT issue or authentication issue.

    I haven't been running ISA at home in a year or so, but plan on upgrading my SBS box to ISA 2K4 soon, I'll have to dork around with my NOD server and see what's happening there.

    Ooh...that reminds me, you're not running SBS are you? Sharepoint wants that port, so if you're running SBS change your mirror http port to something other than 8081...I make it 8088 on SBS boxes.
     
  7. peterjames

    peterjames Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    ISA 2k4 is like 2000 but with a friendly gui and less stuffing around.

    mind you give me a hardware firewall any day

    that will be my problem thankyou

    _____________________________________________________
    last problem
    _____________________________________________________
    and if its just a standard nod32 client?

    we sell a few computers, and would like to just import settings into a stand alone client

    lazy? probably... but if your passing 50+ individual pc's per week then running through settings can get abit repetitive

    once again thanks for all your help guys
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2005
  8. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    I agree on the hardware firewall part, every SBS client I have out there even if using ISA is still behind a NAT router. I was just running ISA naked on my home system (good old Microsoft Action Packs) for the purpose of dorking around and learning. I did upgrade to 2K4 but that was before SBS2K3 sp1 was released...and with the SP the ICWizard was broken if you stuck on ISA2K4. Now that I'm SP1'd, I'll fiddle around one day.

    So I take it you are running SBS? :D I ran into that issue a few months ago rolling out NOD EE and XMON on an SBS network....they were not running ISA, but the clients kept failing on the updates.....I pointed IE to the IP and :8081..sure enough, Sharepoint goodies...changing the port fixed it.
     
  9. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    You can use the xml file during the install process of a standard client.
    When you install Nod32, first it unpack the files. At this stage, stop the install process, put the nod32.xml file (the name is important) in the extract directory (usually c:\program files\eset\install\), and execute the setup.exe application. The settings of the setup.xml file will be used then.
     
  10. peterjames

    peterjames Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    thankyou pplz...

    one thing i love about the internet is you get genuine people helping complete strangers, i do my best to write as many articles as possible on web forums to help others and im just dam grateful people like the above exist, there is hope for this world :p

    thankyou all sincerely

    and thanks nod32 for a decent antivirus system this world sure as hell needed it

    regards

    peter james Melbourne Australia

    http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-user.cfm?id=6919
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2005
  11. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    The change in ports do it?
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Peter, welcome to Wilders.

    Glad to see you have everything sorted now, we also have a Nod32 Resellers Forum here at Wilders.

    Cheers :D
     
  13. peterjames

    peterjames Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    i havent had time to test it but i will early next week...

    :)

    the LAN's update it just takes a few times to eventually work so i'll change the ports mon or tues next week
     
  14. peterjames

    peterjames Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    it would appear it works perfectly thanks guys

    change the ports to 8088
     
  15. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Good to hear, thanks for checking back in. :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.