NOD32 Freezes Up My Computer

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by sakharg, Nov 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sakharg

    sakharg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Posts:
    62
    Ever since version 2.12 came out, I cannot run NOD32 on my computer. The system boots up fine, and goes into Win XP okay, but when I open up my settings, that's as far as I go. My system proceeds to hang and I have to reboot. There is absolutely no way I can access the GUI to do anything: the update procedure freezes the computer, and so do any of my attempts to open up configuration options for any of the modules. The only option in any of these cases is to press the reset button, even control-alternate-delete yields nothing!

    No version before this had any problem, NOD32 was very stable up to this point. My system is a P4 2.8, 512 MB ram, Win XP SP2, and I run the usual suspects when it comes to security software: Ad-Aware, Spyware Blaster, Spybot, TDS-3 (registered user).

    It's been several months since I've used NOD32 at all: my license doesn't run out until the middle of next year (2 year licence), and I would like to use it! There was no other AV installed on the system when NOD32 was installed (fresh format). I'm spyware free, virus free, trojan free etc.....I run these scans meticulously after every definitons update, so for the life of me, I can't figure out what's going wrong! Do I have to disable certain new features if I want to use it? What would be the point then?

    Hope someone can help, this is really depressing!
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Sakharg, can you please download a FRESH copy of Nod32.

    Uninstall your current version of Nod32

    Remove the Eset Folder from C Drive> Program Files.

    Reinstall the FRESH copy of Nod32 that you downloaded above.

    Let us know how you go…

    Cheers :D
     
  3. sakharg

    sakharg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Posts:
    62
    Blackspear, thanks for the reply. That was exactly what I did with each subsequent release after 2.12. Uninstall the old one, remove all folders, clean registry entries, then install the new minor version. Same freezing problem every time.

    I have also tried fresh installs of each minor version on a newly formatted harddrive: this is a fresh format for EVERY minor version, so you can guess how many formats I have gone through just to try to get this working.

    I doubt anything will be different, but I'll try again later tonight on a fresh install. Will keep this thread updated on the results. Once again, thanks for the help, Blaskspear.
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    If it's not, we'll tackle the problem from there. I am yet to see a system that I cannot get Nod32 running on happily, there may be one, one day, however to date there hasn't been. Hang in there and we'll get you sorted...

    Cheers :D
     
  5. sakharg

    sakharg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Posts:
    62
    Blackspear, no luck, I'm afraid.

    After the initial installation, everything is okay. System is fine, I can surf the web, etc before the required reboot. But after rebooting, there is an update approximately 2.6 or 2.7 MB in size: it is rebooting after this update that the system becomes unstable and freezes up no matter what. Before rebooting but after this update, the system is okay, though.

    Sigh....any ideas?
     
  6. Labrie

    Labrie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain
    Do yu have another antivirus as resident? My computer had the same problem when i had 2 antvirus.

    Un saludo.
     
  7. Labrie

    Labrie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain
    oops sorry you say you dont have 2 av...im so ashamed. ;)
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Can you please try the "Repair Now" option in IMON> Setup> Miscellaneous Tab> Repair Now as per screen shot.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    If the above does not fix your problem, can you go to post number 2 here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=47830 and follow the very first step by downloading Winsock repair, and then run that program, there is also a manual version of the same (repairing Winsock) at the end of that thread.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  10. sakharg

    sakharg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Posts:
    62
    The first solution did not work, haven't tried the second. Is the second supposed to restore the Internet connection? I don't have a problem with that at all. The first update runs fine, it's rebooting after that update that the freezes all start.

    If I manage to shut down NOD32 after that reboot before it has a chance to freeze the computer, I can still surf the web, albeit naked without an AV. So the Internet connection is okay: I'm behind a NAT router, by the way.

    System still freezes after that first solution. If I uninstall NOD32, and try to reboot, the system doesn't even shut down at all, just freezes at "saving your settings."

    Labrie, thanks for your attempted advice. Gracias mi amigo.
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Nod32 affects the Winsock chain, I would definitely try Winsock fix or manual version, I have used the manual version many many times with great success.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  12. Bob

    Bob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    49
    I also had all kinds of freezing problems with NOD32.
    Somebody gave me a hint to check what gets loaded with a startup manager, etc.
    There was a conflict with my internet banking program for which the security setting where automaticly loaded.
    Now I only load it on demand and have no problems with NOD32.
    Bob
     
  13. sakharg

    sakharg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Posts:
    62
    Blackspear, I tried the Winsock fix, same freezing problems after the required restart. System starts up ok, then freezes less than 2 minutes after everything's been loaded. And strangely, IMON has been disabled from starting up after this winsock fix.

    Bob, thanks for the advice. I use Ace Utilities to monitor my startup programs, and I really have only 2 programs in startup: ctfmon.exe and diskeepersystray. That's it, so I don't think that's the problem, but thanks anyway.
     
  14. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    What does your event viewer tell about the errors? Anything? XP event viewer.
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    OK, hang in there, I have sent an email to Eset asking for further assistance with this matter.

    Cheers :D
     
  16. sakharg

    sakharg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Posts:
    62
    Ronjor, there seems to be nothing out of the ordinary in the event viewer. But I'm no expert, so should there be anything I should keep a lookout for? Plenty of messages about ATI smart (graphics card, i guess), Diskeeper, Autocomplete and something about database engines stopping and starting (wuauclt, wuaueng.dll). That's pretty much it.

    Blackspear: I'll wait.

    Thanks much to both of you.
     
  17. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    I would do an online scan just to see if anything is flagged. Google for online virus scan.

    Since you have sp2, does NOD ever show in the security center?

    Other than that, there is a conflict somewhere for sure.
     
  18. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
  19. sakharg

    sakharg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Posts:
    62
    Tried Ad-Aware, Spybot, CWS Shredder, VX-2 and Spycop: nothing, not even tracking cookies.

    Tried Trend-Micro and Panda online scans: nothing either.

    I should add that this system has no problems with other major AVs: McAfee, Norton, Kaspersky, Panda and F-Secure have at times worked flawlessly with SP2 on this machine. Only NOD32 freezes it to a standstill.

    And before anyone asks, yes, all of them were removed (including folders and registry entries) before NOD32 was installed. Whenever NOD32 was tried, it was the ONLY installed AV on the system: it's even been tried on fresh installs as the very first AV on a newly formatted harddrive, so there should have been no problems with remnants of other AVs that I might have missed.

    These problems with NOD32 only began with version 2.12 onwards: others were fine, and I have been using NOD32 since the middle of last year (2 year license). I was using Kaspersky before, and I might have to revert to them soon if this doesn't get resolved. This would only be for MY primary workstation; I would merely transfer the NOD32 license to my sister's desktop instead, on which it works flawlessly, version 2.12.3 and all, go figure!

    So Nod32 wouldn't go to waste, and I would renew the license next year when it expires, just that my sister would be the one enjoying it, not me! Bloody hell! And it has in no way soured my experience of the product, given the excellent support I have gotten so far witrh Blackspear: guess it's just my luck that's all!
     
  20. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    We'll get you sorted, like I said, I am yet to see a system that I can't get Nod32 on, there may be one sometime, but to date this is not the case :D

    I don't plan on you being that case ;) :D

    Can you please list the programs that you have on that machine together with their version numbers.

    Cheers :D
     
  21. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have sent you a PM.
     
  22. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    If it were possible I would try booting up into Safe-Mode and begin disabling Modules and filters one by one starting with AMON, re-boot and into Normal-Mode. From what I had quickly read, this problem occurs upon load of Windows? No human intervention like mouse clicks, key presses? If this is the case, you should be able to determine quickly exactly what Module or filter is flipping out.
     
  23. sakharg

    sakharg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Posts:
    62
    Blackspear, have replied to your PM.

    Phantom, you are right. This freezing occurs one or two minutes after loading into Windows, and it doesn't matter what program I have open, it just freezes. And no human intervention is possible, not even control-alternate-delete. Only the reset button will do!

    By disabling modules and filters, you mean those associated with NOD32, right?
     
  24. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes.

    Are you capable of booting up Into Safe-Mode, without freezes?
    If that is the case you can fiddle with NOD32 settings in the Control Center?
     
  25. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.