NOD32 ECMD command line update commands?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by glitch, Aug 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. glitch

    glitch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Posts:
    127
    We are building a script here and want a command that starts the update procedure of NOD32. We think we should use the ecmd.exe however if I use Snipped: undocumented command removed it says command accepted but nothing happens. Does anyone know where to find the list of commands?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 23, 2010
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Ecmd.exe does not serve for any purpose to users. There's no way to run update from the command line.
     
  3. glitch

    glitch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Posts:
    127
    So the only way possible to update NOD is to change the scheduler? I'm asking because our company has a special setup that was put together by one of your developers.

    Is it possible to script then that the update time changes when the software is allready installed?
     
  4. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    If you bought business edition licenses you can run a remote administrator server from which you can push down configuration changes to the attached client systems.
     
  5. glitch

    glitch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Posts:
    127
    It is a business edition but not connected to the RA server it is just a stand alone installation.
     
  6. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    Why not just use the scheduler?
     
  7. glitch

    glitch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Posts:
    127
    Because the user isn't experience to do it. We just want to script the entire thingy :)
     
  8. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    Well you could setup the scheduler on a computer and then export the scheduler settings from the registry to import on other computers running the command "regedit /s <filename>.reg" from a batch file. Or you could make those registry changes from a script or program you create. That way the users can be instructed to just run a single file you provide which could be a script, .exe file or whatever you prefer.
    It's also possible to export the settings from one client and import the xml on other computers. I guess that's a bit more work, but not too hard to create some simple instructions how to import the xml file for the users.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.