NOD32 does not start up when I restart my PC

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by dyson2004, Nov 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dyson2004

    dyson2004 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    Hello,
    When I restart my PC, The Nod 32 AV control center does not appear in my start up icons (the ones next to the time and date on my screen). I do not think that it is automatically checking my PC when this is not there. Anyone know why it disappears when I restart? I have to go to START, PROGRAMS and start it manually. It then goes back to my startup section.
    Thanks,
    Dyson
    PS Sorry if I did not explain that in techno-jargon!
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    dyson2004

    Welcome to Wilders

    Is this happening on a new install? If so, you might want to uninstall, delete the NOD folder in program files, download the latest version and try again.
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
  4. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Not sure if this will help, but when I was using Prevx the Nod CC icon would not show after a fresh boot or a cold start. The service was still running and it would still catch the eicar test files but the icon wouldn't show. I uninstalled prevx and problem solved. After following ronjor's suggestion, if you have Prevx, try uninstalling it, either way after a reboot check if the Nod services are still running(there are 2 nod32krn.exe and nod32kui.exe)and try downloading the eicar testfile to see if Nod still catches it.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hi Dyson2004,
    what operating system do you use?
     
  6. myluvnttl

    myluvnttl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Posts:
    150
    I think you are using Win XP SP2. I'm I right?
     
  7. AJohn

    AJohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    935
    When I was using Ad-Watch I had to turn off the Automatic option to get programs like NOD32 to install.
     
  8. Phil_S

    Phil_S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    UK
    FWIW I am using NOD and Prevx on an XP2 Pro machine with no conflicts at all.
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Same here, there was an update of the main prevx engine this morning to 2.2.01 (build version)

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.