Nod32, do I need anti-spyware as well?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Biscuit, Feb 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    I'm currently getting a lot of problems trying to get AVG anti-spyware running & I also suspect that Windows Defender is causing problems on my Vista pc. As Nod32 appears to detect a lot of malware, is there any need for additional protection such as Defender or AVG AS?
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Windows Defender is ON by default on Vista . I don't like this program so if you don't like it ,too , you can disable it permanently . With all the additional protections which Vista and IE7 have (Protected mode,UAC,etc...) + NOD32 which is excellent in detecting non-viral malware , I believe you can safely run without dedicated antispyware on Vista .
    Don't forget to have all these checked in AMON because lots of crap (in my opinion) is categorised as pottentially unwanted/unsafe applications
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Thanks, Alex :p

    I have UAC turned off as it pops up ALL the time & gets annoying. I also use Firefox, which I believe to be more secure than IE as it does not run ActiveX.

    Is there anywhere that I can see exactly what Nod categorises as unsafe applications?

    I am considering uninstalling Defender. Have you done this?
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2007
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    if you want an extra on demand scanner download superantispyware free version and use that for scans sometimes
    lodore
     
  5. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    That product looks interesting, thanks for the link.
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I'm running XP . Bulgaria still haven't received Vista so that we can't buy it. I'll be waiting for Vista SP1. The Office I asked about is for my XP ;)

    About Defender , I'll do the same when I get Vista :thumb:
     
  7. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Turning off UAC was the first thing I did, Alex! You won't believe how annoying it is! Now I'm itching to get rid of Defender! :cool:
     
  8. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Ah , will see ...this UAC ... Doesn't running in Admin account stops the pop-ups/its questions ? I didn't know Firefox supports Vista but one learns until he/she is alive . I just got something about the topic , you can run online scanners if you really suspect something
     
  9. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    The admin account doesn't work like in XP. You still get popups asking for permission to install things. To run as admin, you have to right-click on a program. Firefox v2 in Vista is about the only thing that hasn't caused any issues!

    On topic
    I don't really suspect anything at the moment.
     
  10. ejr

    ejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    538
    Well, 2 years ago the sales rep that sold me NOD32 told me that all I would need to secure my PC was NOD32 and a good Firewall (he suggested Outpost).

    That same sales rep today tells me that NOD32 is no longer enough. That you do need at least one designated antispyware application. What do I think? I think at a minumum you should have:

    1. NOD32 or a competitive AV
    2. A good Firewall
    3. 2 designated antispyware applications.

    But I am just an average joe, not a computer expert.
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    well a separate antispyware program could be useful but not really a realtime one.
    nod32 and firewall should be fine for realtime for the average joe who knows what is safe and what isnt.
    superantispyware for on demand scans should be fine
    you could also use avg antispyware for on demand scans and let it sink in to the free version
    lodore
     
  12. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Except that AVGAS doesn't even install in Vista.

    I've decided to wait for both A-Squared & AVGAS get get their acts together & produce a Vista compatible version of their software.
     
  13. arrowsmithmidwest

    arrowsmithmidwest Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Posts:
    165
    Location:
    Midwest
    Your sales rep is right in the way that NOD32 is not enough protection, but wrong in the way that it never was enough. But then again, spyware was rarely an issue years ago, so it may have been not so bad.

    For typical customers we ensure they have:
    1. NOD 32 antivirus

    2. XP built in firewall plus firewall on their router if possible. No extras like zone alarm etc. as they tend to stop ppl from doing their day to day business due to lack of knowledge.

    3. 2 Designated spyware cleaners, Ad-aware SE and Spybot S&D. But these are not realtime (Spybot has optional teatimer that is realtime but again, customers don't agree with it, and it becomes annoying to them.) Explain that they need to scans fortnightly with spyware removals programs.

    But with Vista, we have been just releying on Defender because it's real time, and find that it still does a decent enough job. So we havn't been so strong on putting on any extra spyware cleaners with Vista.
     
  14. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Spybot S&D have version 1.5 (which is BETA) and can be used on Vista . I find it stable but on my tests , it scanned slower than 1.4 (may be because it is BETA)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.