NOD32 connections

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by The Seeker, Jan 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Whilst perusing TCPView (as I often do) I noticed that NOD32 has two seemingly permanent connections. They have only appeared since upgrading to the 2.51.20 version.

    I can understand NOD32 connecting for updates and sending statistical data but do these two connections need to be constantly open?

    http://tinypic.com/m9y737.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2006
  2. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Would Marcos or Happy Bytes care to comment on this?
     
  3. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I'm assuming the lack of response means there's nothing to worry about? A little clarification would be highly appreciated :)
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have asked for someone from Eset to respond to this thread.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. gue_st

    gue_st Guest

    Here it closes connections properly.
    If it didn't, you would hear some bashing :D:D:D
     
  6. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Thanks Blackspear :thumb:
     
  7. Bandicoot

    Bandicoot Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    California
    No connections left open on my machine either (version 2.51.20 installed). Obvious question: have you re-started your machine?

    Bandicoot.
     
  8. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yes, several times since I started this thread.

    The connections seem to be a hit and miss affair; sometimes they're there, sometimes they're not. Currently there's none open. I'll keep an eye out from time to time and see if they decide to show up again.

    Before I end, please be aware that I in no way think these are surreptitious activities, I was asking out of pure curiosity (as this has never happened with earlier versions).
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Is u6.eset.com listed in your update servers list?
     
  10. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Funny should you ask actually because I did think it strange that it wasn't contained in my server list.

    My servers are as shown below.

    http://i1.tinypic.com/miozno.jpg

    I thought the 82.165.237.14 may in fact be u6.eset.com. I assumed this because of the servers before and after it (2,3,4 etc).
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Same as mine. I really don't know what to think concerning your u6 connection. :D
     
  12. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    You are correct.
    u5.eset.com = 82.165.250.33
    u6.eset.com = 82.165.237.14
     
  13. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I've just found another connection only to an address not on my update server list. The whois information can be seen here.

    I'd really, really like some information about this.

    http://i1.tinypic.com/mmano3.jpg
     
  14. FirePost

    FirePost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    212
    I get that address for u1a.eset.com.
     
  15. gnervt

    gnervt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    Germany
    hi! dont worry - the conx are not established any more... the conx state CLOSE_WAIT indicates a passive close. the server just received the first FIN from a client - waiting for an ACK... sorry for my poor english...feel free to correct me...
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2006
  16. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Thanks a lot for your posts FirePost and gnervt; it's nice to have some responses.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.