NOD32 complementary software

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by 1commander, Nov 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 1commander

1commander Registered Member

I am pretty new to the security scene and am trying to get myself protected well. I don't mind learning new things, although I obviously prefer simplicity. I have NOD32 v3 since it was highly recommended by people on this forum for being lightweight but also a good av program in general. I am trying to build a security setup around NOD32.

My setup so far:
    NOD32
    Comodo Firewall with Defense+
    Mamutu

And on demand:
    Sandboxie (trying it out)
    MBAM
    SAS
    Spyware Blaster

I am looking for any and all suggestions. I understand that one should have the following: an antivirus program, a firewall, a HIPS program, and several on demand (non-real-time) anti-malware programs.

Thanks for any suggestions.

2. Capp

Capp Registered Member

It sounds like you are the right track already.

One package I use and recommend is SuperAntiSpyware.

The free version is an on-demand scanner only, but has the option to be real-time with the Pro version.

3. Jaki

Jaki Guest

Hi 1 Commander

The only flaw in your security is NOD32. Get rid of NOD32 man, do not trust it . Get instead Avira or Kaspersky or Avast Pro or free or VIPRE or Dr Web. That's my advice to you.

Peace.

4. emperordarius

emperordarius Registered Member

I don't know if you should use both Comodo with D+ and Mamutu...seems like too much. I'd say you're fine with comodo with d+ only.

Anyway, I recommend:

Keyscrambler: Best protection against keyloggers, if they ever bypass your security apps. Free version available, premium recommended.
    Defensewall: Great security, easy to use, really recommended. Not free though.

Also if you're not using a backup app you could start using one. There are a lot of free ones, but personally I'd recommend Acronis True Image.

5. Capp

Capp Registered Member