NOD32 compatible with windows 2003 active directory?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by sqlcoder, Aug 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sqlcoder

    sqlcoder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    I searched without success in the official docs,,, I need to secure a w2k3 AD installation. Can anyone please point me the right direction to choose the appropiate AV soft.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello sqlcoder,

    Yes ESET NOD32 Antivirus V3 and V4 are compatible.

    Thanks,
    Richard
     
  3. tanstaafl

    tanstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Posts:
    207
    Actually, not sure why an ESET Moderator would say that...

    There are in fact a LOT of reported problems with v4 on servers...

    It is highly recommended that you stick with 3.0.684 on servers, and 4.0.437 on workstations.

    And be sure to add all of the Microsoft recommended exclusions - and have fun with that since ESET doesn't seem to care that not providing a simple way to do this by ticking a checkbox (that should be enabled by default at install time) really makes this a much more complicated and error-prone process than it needs to be.
     
  4. Leco

    Leco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Is there a list somewhere of what needs to be excluded? I've just had to revert my servers to the previous version as the network ground to a halt with V4. I did those first now wondering if I actually should (not) upgrade the workstations.
     
  5. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hi Leco,

    This ESET kb article lists the files that should be excluded when installing v4 on any server.

    Microsoft is more specific in these articles.

    BFG
     
  6. tanstaafl

    tanstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Posts:
    207
    Yes... then, when v4 brings your server to its knees for the 5th time in the first few days, you'll maybe do some rwading on the forums about all of the problems with the v4 release on servers, and install 3.0.684.

    Or, you could save yourself a lot of grief and just install 3.0.684 from the beginning, add the exclusions, and be happy...
     
  7. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    We had problems with 4.0.437 while having the recommended exclusions. Our AD's are either on 3.0.687 or another AV product.

    The exclusions on 3.0 make a major improvement in speed.
     
  8. Leco

    Leco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Thanks Bfg - I'll be sure to read all of those. I've actually cleaned my servers of V4, and all the workstations that installed to as well. Reverted to version 3, and installed that on the workstations. I'm not at all happy at having to do all of that when I had a perfectly good (working) network already.

    I am now getting messages about Update failures - mainly due to nobody being logged on. Is there a way to either stop the messages or better still update in the background with no user logged on?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.