NOD32 AV 4.0.467 is not working correct in Win2008 R2, server freezes!

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by fahlis, Nov 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fahlis

    fahlis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    Hello,

    I had an issue with latest version of NOD32 AV v 4.0.467, after I installed it on a Win2008 R2 RDS server I cannot right click anywhere in the servers GUI, doing that makes the server freeze and not working at all, I then have to hard reboot it altogether. The I unistalled it on the server and rebooted.

    Yesterday we noticed big+ problems when starting up Office Word 2007, explorer.exe hanged and timed out,no problem with other office applications, so I took a chance and just made a repair install of Office 2007, rebooted and all was fine during the days test run on the server, at least until I decided to give NOD32 v4.0.467 a chance again, so I installed and rebooted, and the exact same problem is there again.Word not starting as well as rightclicking and freezing altogether.
    This is why I suspect NOD32 big time to be the problem here. have you got any ideas what to do with this, I dont want to put this server into production without a AV software on it, and v3 is not compatible with Win2008 R2 I know, so what can I do about it ?
    Is there any known bug with NOD32 and Win2008 R2 ?


    thx /Tony
     
  2. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    Try version 3.0.694 and see if you can reproduce the problem.If you can't, then just leave Version 3 on there, it's more than sufficient for a server, V4 is not necessary for you.
     
  3. fahlis

    fahlis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    Ok, so I should just ignore the compatibility warning for version 3 then and check the box "don´t show again" ?
    It shows up for all separate user logins on the server.
     
  4. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    Yes !

    What do you mean ?
     
  5. fahlis

    fahlis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    Ok,
    well when I have installed version 3 and instantly when I login to the server a window pops up saying "this version of NOD32 is is not compatible with this version of Windows", it gives a link to check online for a solution.Solution then is install version 4 which I now know does not work, I can also click ingore and I have an option to click never show this again. I could have posted a snapshot of the popup window but right now I have it uninstalled ...awaiting som statement from Eset regarding the exact compatibility problem. If it doesn´t affect any important functions in this terminalserver then I sure an ignore it and use version 3, but as it´s a terminalserver that has to be done at first login for approx 40 users :(
    Also what happens in the future when patches and service packs for Win2008 R2 is released with this version 3 and compatibility one wonders...
    Hoep you understand what I mean by my "dizzy" explanation above :)

    thx /Tony
     
  6. fahlis

    fahlis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    Btw it would be nice if someone from Eset can state what versions of NOD32 AV is the right one to use for these different scenarios/servers.

    Win2008 64bit Exchange 2007 server
    Win2008 64bit Domain Controller-File Server
    Win2008 64bit Terminalserver

    Win2008 R2 Domain Controller-File Server.
    Win2008 R2 Terminalserver

    As version 4 seems not recommendable and for sure freaks out on a Win2008 R2 and also version 3 has compatibility issues, is it possible to use version 2.7 instead or does that not work at all ?
    This specific customer wont run the server without AV software on it and will switch to a different AV software that is compatible if this cant be solved :(

    thx /Tony
     
  7. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
  8. fahlis

    fahlis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    Hello Wayne

    Yes I have added some exclusions for 3rd party database files and some more that needs to be excluded, and I also have followed the steps from the kb you are reffering to.
    But it does not help, do you perhaps know exactly what the compatibility
    issue is for version 3 with Win2008 R2 ?

    thx /Tony
     
  9. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    Does it say in the compatability message why it isn't compatible ? something like, cannot integrate into security center ?

    Iv'e installed it and ignored the message and it ran fine.Other people were recommended to install V3 on server 2003 and 2008 so......
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.