NOD32 Antivirus protection is disabled

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Eagelberg, Oct 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eagelberg

    Eagelberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    hey, I get this weird message from nod32 antivirus..

    it says Antivirus protection is disabled. the icon is red and it also says
    "virus scanner initialization failed. most of the ESET NOD32 antivirus modules
    will not function properly."

    tried already to reinstall and same thing happened.

    anyone knows how to solve this?

    thank you very much.

    Dor
     
  2. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hello,

    Do you have any other antivirus or antispyware programs installed that are running with real-time scanning enabled? Are you using version 4.2.64.12 of ESET NOD32 Antivirus?

    Regards,

    Mark
     
  3. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello,

    Try downloading and installing the latest version.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  4. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  5. allnight4

    allnight4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    Wait, you're saying that Nod32 broke by itself, and the fix is to uninstall and re-install?

    That's unacceptable. I have several machines that all have this now, Win7Home, Win7Pro, WinXP...all running 4.x of Nod32, and all now broken with this.

    How about fixing the update? The Win7Pro box says 5521 right now, but first got this message yesterday, and rebooted Windows and the message was gone.
     
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Please address your query to whom has posted within this thread.

     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    It could be that the engine file got damaged somehow (e.g. due to a disk error). I'd suggest you supply all dat files from the EAV installation folder to ESET customer care for checking them.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.