NOD32 and Vista 64 issue

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Wi11iam, Jul 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. auggy

    auggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I would agree that, if changing display drivers does not help, rolling back to a previous version of ESS/NOD32 that does not exhibit the problem is the best solution until the bug is fixed.
     
  2. mixter

    mixter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I'm running Vista Bus X64 w/SP1 and 8 GB mem with an HD 3850. NOD32 version 3.0.642.0.
    No BSOD's since I built the sys over 6 months ago.
    I did have some isthues with that funky sig a few months ago but straightened it out without any BSOD's and no damages.
    Still a happy ESET customer after 5 years.
     
  3. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,034
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    The issue is being investigated.

    Please keep the reports (and memory dumps) coming for examination by ESET's developers.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  4. Zymurgy

    Zymurgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Also 0X0000001E. 64bit, Vista Ulitmate, 4GB memory. Video is ATI Radeon 3850, Catalyst 8.6 (today), 8.5 prior and constant 0X0000001E.

    Originally thought it was my JMicron SATA controller. Currently disabled in BIOS and all drivers uninstalled.

    Common thread is: BSOD on boot, can happen consistantly, only solution is safe mode and UNINSTALL NOD32. Just installed the 3.6.650 version, fingers crossed.
     
  5. RealCybi

    RealCybi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    Using Vista since 4 weeks. Never had any BSOD.
    Vista Ultimate 64bit, 2GB memory with german NOD 3.0.650.0 and ATI Catalyst 8.6 (Radeon X1950).
     
  6. element119

    element119 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    thanks for the acknowledgment :thumb:
     
  7. alexonix

    alexonix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    heh... Glad I found this thread. I've also been experiencing BSOD's on every other startup after a reboot. Vista 64bit 4GB ram, 175.16 forceware drivers, nod at .669 . Going to try installing the .650 and if that doesn't work maybe installing older forceware will help... Hope this gets resolved soon, never had any problems with NOD before.
     
  8. Golden Eagle

    Golden Eagle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    ~Off topic comment removed. - Ron~

    I hope that NOD team will fix BSOD issue and IE7 incompatibility over Vista SP1 64 bit edition.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 20, 2008
  9. Sithicus

    Sithicus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Another one here. Vista 64 ultimate sp 1 with 4 gb of ram. 175.16 forceware drivers, nod version .669
     
  10. Venom850

    Venom850 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Unbelievable! I've been having this issue for days. I was like 'oh no' something is wrong with the hardware. So I search all day for driver issues and such. I came to the conclusion that it couldn't possibly be any of my drivers because they are all 64bit. (I had just recently reformatted my computer.) I realized the computer only restarted when NOD32 would load. (By watching the systemtray). I came here and found this post. This is exactly what is happening to me... right down to every detail.

    Vista 64 ultimate sp 1 with 4 gb of ram. 175.16 forceware drivers, nod version .669

    I never had this problem with NOD32 before. It must be the recent versions.

    Where can I send my dumpfiles and such so you guys can analyze it? I'm going to revert back to an older version until this is fixed.
     
  11. Venom850

    Venom850 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    btw this should be stickied or something... way too many people getting this issue.
     
  12. spelunk

    spelunk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    I wonder if this might NOT be eSet's fault but Microsoft..

    I came across this KB this morning:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/950772/

    Now 932596 was a security patch that updated Kernel Patch Protection, and is included in SP1.
     
  13. FlyingHorse

    FlyingHorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    33?59'43.1"N 84?09'03.1"W
    I spoke with MS over a week ago and got a copy of this hotfix. It did not correct the problem for me :(

    It is a good idea that others may want to try though.
     
  14. element119

    element119 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    tried it before i came here. didn't work.
     
  15. Martinus

    Martinus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    I had this problem alot last month. Each time I saw the Nod32 logo on screen I had an BSOD.

    I have Vistal 64bit 4gb ram and Nvidia 8800 (175.19).

    The BSOD started with version 667 for me.

    Here what I did to fix the BSOD :

    - After first BSOD. Started in safe mode with Network.
    - When in Safe Mode, restarted computer and logged as usuall (Don't know why, but for me logging in my account after an Safe Mode temporary fixed the problem)
    - Uninstall Nod32
    - Deleted Nod32 folder in Program Files (Saw there were a dat file still present in Nod32 folder)
    - Installed Nod32 again.

    Since then no more BSOD.

    I hope it may help somebody.

    Martin
     
  16. adc

    adc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I don't know if anyone else is seeing this too, but I'll mention it just in case. About the time that I started experiencing this problem, I noticed that the boot time seems to take forever. The system seems to hang up while attempting to connect to the network. Eventually it connects, but it take like 5 minutes or so. Anybody else seeing this or is it unique to me?
     
  17. jnuzzi

    jnuzzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    I have been experiencing the same issue. I have Vista Ultimate w/ SP1 64-bit w/ 4GB RAM, except I have an ATI video card. BSOD almost every time I log in.

    I will try your suggestion and see if it helps. I will report back tonight or tomorrow.
     
  18. Zymurgy

    Zymurgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Exactly the same here. 37 cycles of the little bars, v.s. the normal 6 or 7 at boot time.

    Gordon.
     
  19. Venom850

    Venom850 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Well the good news is that after downgrading my NOD32 to an older version I no longer receive the BSOD. Its obvious that it's something with the newer versions that is causing this. I'm going to stick with the 650 version until they can fix the newer versions.
     
  20. jnuzzi

    jnuzzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Well I'm sorry to report that this did not solve my problem.

    However, after I got the BSOD, I booted into Safe Mode, ran "msconfig" and disabled the "ESET Smart Security" startup item ("C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus\egui.exe" /hide /waitservice). I then rebooted normally and everything seems to be running OK. Unfortunately, as soon as I enable this startup item and reboot I get the BSOD again.


    UPDATE: I just tried running ESET from the start menu (after a successful boot with it disabled) and it ran fine. It seems to only cause the BSOD during startup.


    UPDATE: I have attached a copy of the minidump file that was generated when I received the last BSOD (rename .txt to .dmp). I also have the full memory dump if anyone would like to look at it.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 22, 2008
  21. element119

    element119 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    THIS seemed to be the case for me also.
     
  22. mongatu

    mongatu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    Forceware 175.80 wasn't working out so well (was causing Outlook 2007 to hang among other things) even though there were no BSODs, so I decided to try Lenovo's recently released official nVidia driver which is Forceware 175.97.

    I'm pleased to report that it is working well on my machine (Vista x64 sp1 T61p 4 GB ram) with EAV .669 and no problems or BSODs observed after several days and several reboots now.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2008
  23. jnuzzi

    jnuzzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Well I updated my ATI drivers to Catalyst 8.7 and the issue still remains. :(

    I opened a case with ESET support also. Hopefully we can get this issue resolved.
     
  24. Alaska99

    Alaska99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    24
    It's bad.... why eset are so slow to correct BSOD with 667 and 669...... :thumbd:
    :(
     
  25. jnuzzi

    jnuzzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    I just received a response from ESET Support on my issue. Here it is:

    ~Private communication removed per the TOS. No private emails to be posted without permission of both parties. Please state ESET's recommendations in your own words. - Ron~


    I can't test this until after I get home, but I thought I would share.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.