NOD32 and McAfees??

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by blueglide, Dec 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blueglide

    blueglide Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I just purchased NOD32 and will install it tonight after work. My question is can I install and use NOD32 and have McAfees Virusscan (came installed on my Dell PC) going at the same time?? I have another year left on my McAfee's subscription but my home PC got infected a few days ago with the W32/Loosky.Gen@MM virus and McAfees couldn't get rid of it. I realized I need something more. I'm a total noob but I read alot of good stuff about NOD32. Thanks
     
  2. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    I wouldn't...I'd be getting every instance of Mcgufee off of the rig, let NOD32 do its just, snag the bad guys, while at the same time enjoying new found speed and zippiness in your system.

    Some people like to run several antiviruses at the same time, if you want to follow that camp, best to only let one of your products do the real time protection, have the others do only "on demand" only scanning. Major conflicts usually will happen if more than 1x antivirus product is on a rig doing real time protection.
     
  3. UnknownEntity

    UnknownEntity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Not unless you want to corrupt your system. If you don't want to corrupt your system, then you need to remove the second virus scanner before installing nod32.
     
  4. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    I agree wholeheartedly - if you want a peaceful computer, just use NOD32. Symantec let something in - do you trust it?

    I was in the same boat 18 months ago - and I was bitten by an infection let through by Norton AV - that's good enough reason to let the blighter go... just because you have a year left of subscription is not reason enough to put yourself through the trials you would have to endure trying to run 2 AV solutions...

    but that's my opinion...
     
  5. Elwood

    Elwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Mis'sippi
  6. Ga1tar

    Ga1tar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    U.K
    Could not agree more with regards to Mcafee, had it on my machine and it let too many viruses through. Stick with Nod you will not regret it :thumb:
     
  7. blueglide

    blueglide Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you all for the input. I uninstalled McAfees and have had a few days to play with NOD32. I'm getting more comfortable with it and I am much more impressed with its capabilities.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.