NOD32 and Battlefield Bad Company 2

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Ashtoruin, Aug 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ashtoruin

    Ashtoruin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    BFBC2 was working fine before I installed Nod32, and after I installed Nod32 my computer basically freezes when it starts up... after 10-15 minutes BFBC2 will finally start and then lags horribly, so I uninstalled NOD32 and BFBC2 worked fine again... any Ideas on how to fix this?
     
  2. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    A quick use of that widely-used feature called "google" came up with this page, which suggests it's got zilch to do with ESET...
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,408
    Do you use default settings? Does disabling advanced heuristics for newly created / modified files make a difference?
     
  4. Ashtoruin

    Ashtoruin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    Been there, Tried that, got the T-shirt... Next please...

    And Yes, I am using Default Settings Marcos, though I have tried adding a few Exceptions to Nod like site Jim linked to said...
     
  5. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Have you configured your settings for gaming ? If no joy, please submit an issue ticket to ESET.
     
  6. Ashtoruin

    Ashtoruin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    Yes, I did like that page said and then at the bottom it has the Exclude game-specific applications from protocol filtering guide, and my Nod32 windows don't match the windows that the guide shows.
     
  7. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    If this is the case please refer to the latter comments in this post

     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,408
    Could you confirm or deny that disabling real-time protection make a difference?
     
  9. Ashtoruin

    Ashtoruin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    Disabling Real Time protection did not work, but Uninstalling ESET did work.

    and Siljaline, I'll fill one out now...
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2010
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,408
    Please try to narrow down the issue to the particular module per the instructions here. Your findings will give us a clue where to start searching for the root of the issue.
     
  11. Ashtoruin

    Ashtoruin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    - Windows 7 64 bit
    - EAV 4.2.58.3
    - Self-defense support Module 1016 (20100404)

    It's an Issue with the Self Defense Module, Game worked Fine when I disabled that... Soooo, What did I auctually do to Nod32 when I disabled that? do I need to have it on?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.