NOD32 and Battlefield Bad Company 2

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Ashtoruin, Aug 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ashtoruin

    Ashtoruin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    BFBC2 was working fine before I installed Nod32, and after I installed Nod32 my computer basically freezes when it starts up... after 10-15 minutes BFBC2 will finally start and then lags horribly, so I uninstalled NOD32 and BFBC2 worked fine again... any Ideas on how to fix this?
     
  2. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    A quick use of that widely-used feature called "google" came up with this page, which suggests it's got zilch to do with ESET...
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Do you use default settings? Does disabling advanced heuristics for newly created / modified files make a difference?
     
  4. Ashtoruin

    Ashtoruin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    Been there, Tried that, got the T-shirt... Next please...

    And Yes, I am using Default Settings Marcos, though I have tried adding a few Exceptions to Nod like site Jim linked to said...
     
  5. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Have you configured your settings for gaming ? If no joy, please submit an issue ticket to ESET.
     
  6. Ashtoruin

    Ashtoruin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    Yes, I did like that page said and then at the bottom it has the Exclude game-specific applications from protocol filtering guide, and my Nod32 windows don't match the windows that the guide shows.
     
  7. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    If this is the case please refer to the latter comments in this post

     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Could you confirm or deny that disabling real-time protection make a difference?
     
  9. Ashtoruin

    Ashtoruin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    Disabling Real Time protection did not work, but Uninstalling ESET did work.

    and Siljaline, I'll fill one out now...
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2010
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Please try to narrow down the issue to the particular module per the instructions here. Your findings will give us a clue where to start searching for the root of the issue.
     
  11. Ashtoruin

    Ashtoruin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    - Windows 7 64 bit
    - EAV 4.2.58.3
    - Self-defense support Module 1016 (20100404)

    It's an Issue with the Self Defense Module, Game worked Fine when I disabled that... Soooo, What did I auctually do to Nod32 when I disabled that? do I need to have it on?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.