Nod32 4.2 lock up a computer

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Claud44, Mar 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Claud44

    Claud44 Guest

    Hi, This might be a silly question but can Nod32 4.2 make my computer to lock up?

    Thank you,
    Claudia
     
  2. prasid

    prasid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Most probably not!

    0lly
     
  3. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    If you run two anti-virus programs at once, this will happen.
    Are you having problems with a current NOD32 installation ?

    Regards,
     
  4. Claud44

    Claud44 Guest

    I'm not running two anti-virus programs at once. I'm not sure if I'm having problems with a current NOD32 installation, but it seem like when I updated my NOD32 to the current version my problem has started. My computer doesn't lock up every day. I am running windows 7 64 bit.

    Claudia
     
  5. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    Check the Reliability and Performance Monitor and see if its flagging and nasty events that might be related.
     
  6. Claud44

    Claud44 Guest

    How do I check that?
     
  7. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Start > type 'rel' and "View Reliability History" will be first in the list that appears.

    philby
     
  8. Claud44

    Claud44 Guest

    Thank you for your help. I know now it not NOD32.
     
  9. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    I've had some problems with the new version (4.2.35.0) dropping my internet connection. Dropping java and javaw being scanned as browsers under Web access protection seems to solve the problem. I did not have this problem with earlier versions of NOD32.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2010
  10. Claud44

    Claud44 Guest

    Thankful, Please tell me what I need to do fix this.
     
  11. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    I am not sure your problem is related to my problem. However, this is what I did (screenshot included): Enter advanced setup tree,
    Web access protection->HTTP,HTTPS->Web browsers, I only checked those according to screenshot (Internet explorer, Firefox, Windows media player)
    I would appreciate feedback from an Eset rep.
    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

    • web.GIF
      web.GIF
      File size:
      32.9 KB
      Views:
      649
  12. Claud44

    Claud44 Guest

    It might not the some problem that you had but its worth a shot. Hope it fix my problem. Thank you for everybody help.
     
  13. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    This solution should help.

     
  14. JeremyWW

    JeremyWW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Except that those instructions are out of date for the 4.2.35.0 interface.
     
  15. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    If you would double-check the solution the graphic clearly displays what you may access in the UI of the current build.
     
  16. nrms

    nrms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    Strangely, I dont seem to have the "web browsers" section in my copy of NOD32 v4.2.35.0 - what gives?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    The solution points to protocol filtering as per screenshot.
    Web Browsers screenshot were posted here
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 21, 2010
  18. nrms

    nrms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    I was referring to Thankful's screenshot, not the one in your link.
     
  19. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    You should have quoted Thankful's post in your reply to avoid confusion.
    See screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Claud44

    Claud44 Guest

    I have tried what thankful suggested and it don't help. I am running windows 7. Here is a screen shot what I have. I really don't feel its Nod32.
     

    Attached Files:

    • nod.JPG
      nod.JPG
      File size:
      48.1 KB
      Views:
      493
  21. nrms

    nrms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    my apologies, but as I mentioned the "web browsers" section in my post and then posted an image with that section missing from my Settings, I didn't think I was adding any ambiguity.

    Anyway, as I said I don't have the Web Browsers section in my installed copy of 4.2.35. I tried uninstalling, deleting the registry setting for Eset and then reinstalling the NOD32 application. Same thing, no Web Browsers section under Web Protection entry.
     
  22. nrms

    nrms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    OK well it looks (from the Help File, under Internet Browsers) as if the answer to my problem is:

    "Starting with Windows Vista Service Pack 1 and Windows Server 2008, the new Windows Filtering Platform (WFP) architecture is used to check network communication. Since the WFP technology uses special monitoring techniques, the Browsers section is not available."

    NigelS
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Again most of the things that you see in the interface does not reflect all of the OS's some settings are different from XP down to Windows 7 and the links provided to ESET kb articles don't reflect Windows 7 Setups as ESET needs to update there articles to show for all OS's! My screenshot is from Windows 7 32bit!

    Regards,

    TH
     

    Attached Files:

  24. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    This was cited here or here

    Would it fair to assume that your are running Vista SP1 or later or Windows Server 2008 ? This would have been handy, had you stated your Operating System in your initial remarks.

     
  25. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    I would like to hear from Eset which items should be checked under 'Web browsers.' If I don't need to include java or javaw, then protocol filtering should not be an issue.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.