NOD32 2.7 for Exchange installation parameters

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by jreiter, Dec 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jreiter

    jreiter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    Can anyone tell me what the available command-line installation parameters are for NOD32 2.7 for Exchange? In particular, I'm trying to include a custom config file I've created. I'm familiar with NOD32 v4.0 and simply having a cfg.xml file in the same folder as the installer package (that's what we use on our workstations), but to my understanding things work differently with the older NOD32 v2.7.

    I'd rather not install it with the defaults, then import a config. I like to have my custom config in place immediately, just so all my exclusions and settings take effect immediately.
     
  2. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Hello,

    The xml file needs to be named NOD32.XML and should be in the same folder as the setup file. You should specify the /SILENTMODE switch to install in silent mode.
     
  3. jreiter

    jreiter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    Thanks! Along those lines, once I've gotten everything installed, is there a way to load in a new config file? For example, if I've created a new config with the Configuration Editor, how do I then load it into NOD32 for Exchange? I'm not seeing a way. (This is assuming you don't have an ERAS to push out a policy with.)
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  4. RyanW

    RyanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Posts:
    77
    Interested in this as well. Will be deploying my Exchange part of ESET's package soon.

    ERAS/ERAC doesn't look like it has a way to manage NOD32 for Exchange anyway?
     
  5. jreiter

    jreiter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    ERAS's policy management feature does have a configuration tree for version 2.x clients, thankfully. That includes all the modules that you can install in 2.7, including the XMON feature. I am indeed pushing out an XMON policy with my ERAS, but it doesn't seem to successfully push out 100% of the settings I make.
     
  6. RyanW

    RyanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Posts:
    77
    XMON is what is used for Exchange I guess?

    I'll need to look more closely at the 2.x features.
     
  7. jreiter

    jreiter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    Correct. In NOD32 2.7, it's broken into all these modules, such as AMON (the on-access file scanner), IMON (the internet monitor), XMON (Exchange monitor), and so forth. I believe the normal NOD32 2.7 installer includes everything, while the Exchange version of the installer only includes AMON, DMON, and XMON. I disable DMON on the Exchange server, though.

    FYI, I only learned all of this in the last couple of days. :) My company uses only NOD32 4.x for Windows, and 3.x for Linux. Until 2 days ago, I had no idea I had to go all the way back to 2.7 for Exchange.
     
  8. RyanW

    RyanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Posts:
    77
    Uh oh. Well I have version 3.0 of NOD32 AV running on my server. I'm assuming that the 2.7 version would conflict for AMON, IMON, DMON etc.

    I wonder if I can just run the XMON from 2.7, but leave the file level AV to 3.0?
     
  9. jreiter

    jreiter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    I'm fairly sure you *cannot* mix the versions. I encountered a number of posts during my last few days of searching (including some posts from ESET support reps) saying you must first uninstall your newer version of your file scanner (such as 3.x or 4.x) before you install 2.7, since 2.7 is all-inclusive.
     
  10. RyanW

    RyanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Posts:
    77
    Augh, that'll require a reboot of the server. Lame
     
  11. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Importing an xml config file into an existing client is only possible through the Remote Admin Console for 2.7 clients.

    It is not possible to run just certain modules of 2.7 (ie XMON) and then run version 3 or 4 for the file level scanner. You can only run one at a time.
     
  12. jreiter

    jreiter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    Wayne, thanks for the response. Is there a way to specify a config file during installation of the client, such as with a special command line parameter like with the later version of the clients? Or is the RAS literally the *only* way to push a config to a 2.7 client? So without the RAS, my only other option is to manually configure all the settings in the client?

    If that's the case, I have to ask: Why is there an xml config file editor included with the 2.7 client installs if there is no way to actually import those config files into the client? :)
     
  13. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    The 2.7 client when configured as an update server (for 2.7 clients only, v3 and v4 clients are not compatible) can serve out config files when the clients download updates. This method has been made obsolete with Remote Administrator, as it does not rely on the update schedule to hand out configurations.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.