NOD32 2.7 beta available for testing

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Marcos, Oct 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    /me snickering :D
     
  2. iNsuRRecTioN

    iNsuRRecTioN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    303
    Location:
    Germany
    Hey,

    nope, it's all about efficiency, and who wants to compete with the other AV soft out there, which is maybe more efficient in this particular area, then Eset must either reengineer that and bring it to the same or better level, or can't no longer claim, the lowest/smallest (RAM) footprint..! :p :shifty:

    If you don't understand that or what I mean or what's the point and case, then please don't responst to that, thx.

    best regards,

    iNsuRRecTiON
     
  3. WizardMaster

    WizardMaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    Wonderful NOD32 v2.7 BETA coming a more improvement than previous v2.5. She scanned found a another few infection from Outlook Express Inbox Data. I thought v2.5 didn't it. I feel bit weird !! :doubt: Well, So I pleased the v2.7 is better performance scanner about less 38 seconds off than previous version. (Maybe increase lots numbers of files)

    We will wait for heard a new version 3.0 Security Suite. I quote say "Optional will Little extra cost for upgrade to 3.0 Security Suite with exist licence will replace a new licence key for v3.0 as possible"

    This v2.7 are :thumb: ;) :thumb:
     
  4. ragnarok

    ragnarok Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    36
    found a bug, only the windows shown as update, NOD32, IMON, DMON AND EMON in control center window are the ones "incomplete", other ones are complete/normal, i installed over version 2.51.30 (english).

    using windows xp w/sp2, no graphics card.

    http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/1507/bugka9.jpg
     
  5. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Obviously, there will be a dependence of RAM usage and general resource footprint on machine specifics including OS setup and other running processes. Just to provide one objective snapshot of NOD32 vs, for example, KAV applicable to a single PC, the composite image depicts RAM/VM usage from the same boot partition where the only difference was the specific AV installed. Each shot was taken after install/reboot with no difference in any of the other launched applications. Completely default installations for both products. Both are the latest beta versions of the respective products.

    My personal opinion, if you either posturing about, worried about, or making purchase decisions based on these differences, you're focusing on the wrong target from either side of the fence.

    Blue
     

    Attached Files:

    • both.png
      both.png
      File size:
      43.4 KB
      Views:
      1,341
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,161
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Nice to see.
    Also I agree I will not mind the numbers unless they ae big enough.
     
  7. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    thanx for new ver of Nod32 , i will try it today.
     
  8. scaa

    scaa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    202
    update worked like a breeeeze. Could not believe that it hardly needed any intervention.
    Only thing I want to know is whether the improvements are activated by default or some settings are needed to be tweaked
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,161
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    But I don,t see any change in GUI. It needs to be user friendly.
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    It has been known that the giu will be changed in NOD32 v3. This is still version 2.x, hence the gui is still same.
     
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,161
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Ah, I did not know that. Thnaks.
     
  12. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,964
    A positive comment:

    Installed the 2.7 beta a few days ago on my XP-home machine (Dutch with English version of NOD32), over the top of my existing version.
    Everything fine !!! No problem with scanning, no problem with updating the defs today.

    Thanks Eset !!!
    Keep up the good work !
     
  13. leehigdon3

    leehigdon3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Plano, TX USA
    Same as I found. I am running Win2000 Pro SP4.
     
  14. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    after trying nod32 beta
    its very smart and fast, i just try 18 hour
    so every thing working good with nod32 beta
    no problems untile now
    its good
    good job nod32 team

    and i will talk about kav or kis 2006 , its not fast and its slow my pc
    and when you do any thing for example if you want to open program the cpuage will be 100% , so for what i will use kav or kis ? to make my pc slow ? im not fbi to use this program kis or kav , im normal user

    and nod32 very smart its working fast and normal.
    thanx
    i will keep trying and if i have any problem with nod32 beta i will tell you.

    i forget to tell you about my pc
    windows xp pro sp2
    1gb ram
    1500 intel cpu
     
  15. mark.eleven

    mark.eleven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Posts:
    81
    Location:
    Island of Sodor
    I have been testing NOD32 2.7 since last Saturday. Prior to this, I was using trial of KAV6.

    RAM usage of NOD32 2.7 is slightly higher at an average of 18 - 20 MB. KAV uses about 12MB. But you'll still feel that NOD is much lighter. Startup of NOD is also lighter.

    Deep scanning of my harddisk using NOD32 2.7 takes around only 20 minutes, slightly faster than NOD32 2.5 . Compared to KAV, KAV takes more than 2 hours to complete deep scanning my harddisk.

    Last week, my PC was infected with a trojan horse that KAV missed, but NOD detected it.

    Overall, I'd give NOD a thumb up for this new version.
     
  16. Littlemutt

    Littlemutt Guest

    Cannot update, states no username/password. Guess trial users still can't update... There is NO embedded username/password in the beta download.

    I've stated this before, as has others...
     
  17. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have asked for someone from Eset to take a look at this.

    Cheers :D
     
  18. ctrlaltdelete

    ctrlaltdelete Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    318
    Location:
    NL
    As far as i can see there is a username & password in the beta's for trial users (use the downloadlink with "eval" in it).
     
  19. mark.eleven

    mark.eleven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Posts:
    81
    Location:
    Island of Sodor
    I am using the trial beta and I can update. This morning just updated to signature 1.1843 and moment ago, updated to 1.1844.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2006
  20. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    I was just about to submit a post about version 2.51 not scrolling any more when doing manual scans, then I noticed this Beta release, Problem solved, it scrolls now no problem :D
     
  21. shanijee

    shanijee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    107
    Location:
    Faisalabad(Pakistan)
    i install nod32 2.7 Beta
    it eating too much my ram
     

    Attached Files:

    • nod.jpg
      nod.jpg
      File size:
      52 KB
      Views:
      674
  22. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,161
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
  23. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,161
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Resource usage on my system( XP Home SP2). Is it OK?
     

    Attached Files:

  24. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    it's OK aigle. The same for me. :)
     
  25. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,161
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Thanks.
    I am using NOD first time. I enabled all option( max security), no slow down.
    Did a usual system sacn and another deep scan. It,s fast.
    Don,t know whether they have got any improvement in spyware/ adware detection than before? Also anybody tried it against rootkits?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.