NOD32 2.7 And AntiVir

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Graystoke, Nov 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    I'm running Avira Security Suite. I also have a license for NOD32. Although I like the way Avira Security Suite runs on my computer, very light, can't hardly tell it's there, I'm beginning to think about NOD32 again.

    Since the new NOD32 2.7 beta has come out, I've been reading about it's rootkit detection, improved spyware and trojan detection. How does Avira's AV compare with this? I guess I'm mainly interested in the rootkit detection. Would my computer be more secure with NOD32 2.7. than with Avira's AV?
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006

    Im in the same boat as you are.
    I got a free license from avira for the suite
    I got a license for nod32 given to me which was nice.
    Dont know which one to use either, i will probably use antivir and then try nod32 when 2.7 goes final and then when 3.0 comes out.
    lodore
     
  3. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    Lodore I thought you had Kaspersky
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    nope i have a license for nod32 and antivir suite.
    I have trialed kaspersky and loved it but why pay out for kaspersky when i have two free license's one for antivir suite and one for nod32.
    if i didnt have those license's i would probably of brought kav 6 thou.
    im glad ive got the license for nod32 because then i will be able to try out the amazing 3.0.
    but i think i will use antivir suite when i have the time to install it.
    lodore
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    That,s nice, two free licences. OK, Antivir for beta testing?
    NOD 32 for what?
     
  6. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    Can we please get back to my question. :)
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Let me settle this for both of you. Avira doesn’t have rootkit detection yet, but you both know from the beta forums they just about do, and it is going to be a nice feature. Nods new beta is nice but at this point doesn’t compare to Antivirs suite because of the firewall being added. Having said that I am smart enough to know that, when Eset releases their suite, it will probably be the best there is at that moment, but it isn’t here yet. So are you looking for now, or 6 months from now. That is the question. I really, really think that when it comes to a suite that is light, solid, protective and not loaded with crap, it is going to be between Avira and Eset in 2007. No one else is in this category. Their will be other suites that are great, but none that can match what these 2 can do without the hassle and true effectiveness these 2 can offer.
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Sure, but unfortunately I have nothing to say. BTW I am interested to know also RoTkits and Avira? Do they scan for rootkits now?

    Edit; just saw the post above.
     
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    rootkit detection is in beta and will soon be part of the suite.
     
  10. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    And lemme guess, current suite customers will have to pay to upgrade to add the rootkit feature. lol.
     
  11. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    Lets hope not since it should be an intricate part of the suite.
     
  12. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    I really got ripped off. I bought the Premium in Sept and now the Suite comes out and I don't have the money for it, even though I was a betatester, no free lisence for it.

    If anyone has a Suite lisence they don't want PLEASE PM me, I'd be so grateful.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.