NOD won't update/can't update?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Carbonyl, Nov 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Carbonyl

    Carbonyl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    256
    This morning when I stared my computer, I was a little perplexed when NOD didn't update its definitions. When I checked them, it was stuck at the 4610 definitions, even though the Threatsense website showed 4612 as the latest version.

    I tried to manually update the definitions, but not only did the update link in the update pane say "Update unnecessary", but clicking it did nothing. It was as if it weren't even checking to see if updates were available. After a reboot, I tried manually updating again. This time it did start to check, but it hung on the 0/0 progress bar, and then wouldn't respond to requests to abort. Eventually it timed out, and now my update pane has a big warning on it saying "Virus Signature Database Update Failed".

    Can anyone please provide advice? I just did a full system scan yesterday (along with a full MBAM scan), and they both came back clean. I'm not sure if this is malware blocking update attempts or what, but any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

    Note: I'm using Win 7 Professional, and NOD 32 v4.0.437.0

    Update: Looking at the open Ekrn.exe connections through TCPView shows that it's trying to connect to a variety of uXX.eset.com addresses for the update. Pinging these domains from my machine give me no response. I checked my HOSTS file, and I found nothing in there that has "eset" in it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2009
  2. RyanW

    RyanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Posts:
    77
    Clear your update cache?
     
  3. Carbonyl

    Carbonyl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    256
    Thanks, RyanW, but I admit that I don't know how to do that? If anyone can advise how, I'll give it a shot as soon as I can (at work right now, machine afflicted is at home).

    Although I did just try to ping the uXX.eset.com servers from the OS X based machines where I work. They're timing out here, so it might be a server connectivity issue...
     
  4. metalalbert

    metalalbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    Same problem here. Please advise.
     
  5. RyanW

    RyanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Posts:
    77
    Open up eset and hit F5 for advanced, go to "Update" and click Clear next to "clear update cache"
     
  6. metalalbert

    metalalbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    That option is not even there in my version. I have 4.0.424.0.

    EDIT: Found it, but that didn't help.
     
  7. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  8. metalalbert

    metalalbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    Ah, well it just worked. Now updated. Thanks for the help people.
     
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    On behalf of everyone that takes this Forum Seriously, that values the significance of good customer support, you are welcome.
     
  10. RyanW

    RyanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Posts:
    77
    4612 worked just fine for me on the 5 workstations I'm testing NOD32 AV on (through ERAS). Tough 4613 is out now, so I guess it's moot.
     
  11. Carbonyl

    Carbonyl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    256
    I am unfortunately still unable to contact any uXX.eset.com servers. I additionally still see 4612 as the most current update available on ThreatCenter.

    Also, please correct me if I'm wrong, but won't I still need to download 4612 (both parts) before moving up to 4613? So if the split nature of 4612 is causing problems, how can I alleviate this?
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2009
  12. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Have you tried SOL # 2206 ?
     
  13. Carbonyl

    Carbonyl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    256
    I will try this as soon as I can. Thank you for the tip!
     
  14. metalalbert

    metalalbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    Uhm, don't know if this is meant in a sarcastic way or not, but I actually am grateful. What I did was clear the update cache, reboot my computer and then it worked. Guess I should have told what I did :)

    Still updating fine at the moment btw.
     
  15. Carbonyl

    Carbonyl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    256
    Given the packet loss I'm seeing from a variety of different computers on different ISPs when trying to ping u20.eset.net, I'm wondering if this might be a server-side issue? I've pasted a just-ping report below to illustrate what I mean:

    http://i33.tinypic.com/9s6ohg.png
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.