NOD AntiVirus Beta 2 Comments

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by Thankful, Aug 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    Everything seems fine so far. Definitions updated O.K. I like the little touch that was added to Update re: 'Update not needed. Definitions up to date'. Ran scan O.K. Checked AV vs. Eicar test virus and program responded with virus message.
    Virus definition signature now displayed with tooltip.
     
  2. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    Can we see some screen shots of the AV only version for interest please from anyone using that ?

    Many Thanks.
     
  3. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
  4. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    At the first view :

    Still have to disconnect to install :'( or else :

    error.JPG

    Still 5 warnings from eicar instead of 1.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Network must always disconnect for an instant when any network drivers are being installed. If you know about such a firewall, I'll be interested in testing it.

    This is not a matter of ESS. If your browser tries to re-establish a blocked connection 5 times, ESS will block it 5 times. It won't block it 4 times and one time will let malware do its job.
     
  6. Steel

    Steel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    219
    Maybe I'm wrong, but the small Taks Icon shows newest Date Base 2.278. But inside the programms it shows 2.280 o_O
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Mine shows the version correctly at both places.
     
  8. dormix

    dormix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Center of Italy
    ESS BETA2 Very good first impression.

    The waiting has been rewarded. Very Nice!
    My first impression is:
    - Traditional lightness and fluidity.
    - Optimized graphics of GUI.
    - The scan on demand works very fine showing the log in a new window and without many use of performance and without GUI hanging.

    I find a little problem with the context menu scanner: when I moved the TASK MANAGER window on the context menu scanner window it didn't refresh.
    Anyone knows how to set the scan from winrar toolbar?
     
  9. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    You are right. But only in ESS case installation ( after disconnect and reconnect or not ) ends to an error.

    Abot EICAR or any other malware - suppose my browser will try to download that a hundred times will I have to get a warning every single time ? No I don't think so. My personal opinion is you should block it once and for good ( terminating that connection).
     
  10. PcVersteher

    PcVersteher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Hello

    What must i see, since Installation in system32\drivers Directory ?
    epfwtdir.sys ? When i delete this driver from a other Winxp Installation an reboot i read the Message : Failed to read Firewall settings ?
    A Personalfirewalldriver in Eset Antivirus ? Sorry Eset. No Way for me :(

    mfg PcVersteher
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    The solution for you is installing ESET NOD32 Antivirus which does not include firewall. Of course, if you manually remove crucial drivers ESS will complain and can return errors.
     
  12. PcVersteher

    PcVersteher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Hello
    ESS will complain and can return errors?

    I have installed only Eset Antivirus. When ESS has a Personalfirewall, ok.
    I don´t like to have an Personalfirewall. I installed Eset Antivirus.

    EDIT: Why have the new ESET Antivirus an Personalfirewalldriver? This is a great Problem for me.

    mfg
     
  13. psychokilla

    psychokilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    171
    My MSN (Live) messenger is now crawling when sending files and I've enabled it in all directions, any help with configuring for this would be great. Can I also suggest that you have some pre-configured rules for things like messengers, browsers, etc in the final product? It would save people a lot of time.
     
  14. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Had the GUI hanging on me when I had password enabled. Did not try without having password enabled. Password box would not show for a long time and CPU went up to 100% and finally passwword box would appear and CPU would go down but this was quite annoying but I know it is a beta and that is why I mention it.

    Gary

    Gary
     
  15. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    I am getting thousands of "internal errors" when doing a scan.
     
  16. AshG

    AshG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    East TN
    Same here. There are pages after pages of internal errors, especially where archives are concerned.
     
  17. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    I made the report into a word document, it's 228 pages:(
     
  18. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    Well, send the report in and see what they say. Obviously, not everyone is seeing those errors, so let's see what they say when they get your report. It may be Beta 2, but it is still a beta.
     
  19. Steel

    Steel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    219
    Now the mine shows the same at both places, too. But, today it shows 2.281 so it itself update but didn't show me the update ballon. And, it showes me the the named places 2.281, but at now at On demand Scan it show 2.280 ?

    It seems, it didn't changed/count to the newest datebase itself ?
     
  20. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Sent in the report, but uninstalled the beta, just didn't feel secure with so many errors. No one file type seemed to cause them, there were txt, htm, log, tmp, zip, rar, arj, vbs, doc, docx, jpg, .... you name it and it's in there, the greatest majority seem to be packed file types, zip and rar in particular but there were also plenty of uncompressed files as well.

    This on Vista Home premium btw, NOD 2.7 and F-Prot have no problems scanning on this system and both were uninstalled prior to the Beta being installed.
     
  21. oldshep

    oldshep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Posts:
    139
    Hi flyrfan111,

    Me too with the internal errors... I just loaded the ESS beta 2 and ran the first scan. On the plus sides, it did find my trojan simulator files and quarantine them.

    edit: I am using the suite, not the stand alone antivirus. Also, most if not all of the files listed as "internal error" appear to be zip files in the directory - C:\Ibmtools\aps\RNR\...
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2007
  22. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Dealing with support about the internal error messages now, sent them a few files to examine and see what the prob is, will keep you guys posted.
     
  23. Steel

    Steel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    219
    Now the mine shows the same at both places, too. But, today it shows 2.281 so it itself update but didn't show me the update ballon. And, it showes me the the named places 2.281, but at now at On demand Scan it show 2.280 ?

    It seems, it didn't changed/count to the newest datebase itself ?

    And i see no ballon pop up ufter udating datebase.
     
  24. Steel

    Steel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    219
    An other thing. After or during an on demand Scan, is there no possibilty ( avaible ) for sumitting an infected ( or maybe infected file ) ?

    I mean, directly sending from the on demand Scan ? Or do i first save the file into quarantine or another place submitting it to ESET ?
     
  25. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    At least ESS nor my NOD32 v2 don't report any error and both scan all files inside. We'll try it with Eset Antivirus to see if it makes a difference.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.