Nod 32 on demand scanner and Internet Download Manager (IDM)

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Glock, Feb 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Glock

    Glock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Hi everyone,

    I am looking/hoping for some help with this issue I am having.

    Whenever I download anything using Internet Download Manager (IDM), Nod32 doesn't scan the files.

    I am using Vista ultimate retail 32 bit and FF v.3.

    I have used these settings so far:

    Virus scanner program:

    C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus\egui.exe

    ^^\ekrn.exe

    and also ^^^^ \ecls.exe.

    I have also used the following command line parameters;

    [File] /base-dir="C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus" /log-all /aind /no-boots /adware /sfx /unsafe /unwanted /heur /adv-heur /action=clean


    [File] /quit+"

    "[File] /quit+"

    and also (in the Virus scanner field)

    "C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus\ecls.exe" /base-dir="C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus" /log-all /aind /no-boots /adware /sfx /unsafe /unwanted /heur /adv-heur /action=clean



    Through searching around, I have used this archive post and this one for reference, but I just cannot get Nod to scan my files, can anybody help me?

    I would really appreciate some advice and/or help.

    Kind Regards

    Many thanks in advance.
     
  2. mr_yoda

    mr_yoda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Posts:
    57
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  3. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello Glock,

    How are you verifying this?

    Real-time protection will scan the files as they are written to the hard drive.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  4. Glock

    Glock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Posts:
    3

    Hi mr_yoda, that link isn't working, file not found error. Thanks though.




    Hi Richard,

    Well, the cmd scan doesn't show any real time scanning action has been performed, and with the actual Nod 32 splash screen I get;

    Date and Time of the last scan which is from my last manual scan etc, it doesn't display the recent files and times which should have been scanned, they only show the last time I manually scanned something.

    The log files are the same- only showing my last manual scan.

    It does open up as if it's going to start though, but doesn't actually scan.

    Also, there is no message from IDM recognising/alerting me of a Virus scan in action or has taken place.

    As for the scanning as files are written to the drive, it used to scan everything when using the default download manager in FF, but I am finding this way too slow (the download manager) , so I am using IDM instead.

    I will take some screen shots later on to show you, if that's of any help?

    Thanks both for your replies- much appreciated. :thumb:
     
  5. mr_yoda

    mr_yoda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Posts:
    57
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  6. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello,

    Nothing will show in the logs. The Number of scanned objects should increase. Can you verify this?

    Number of scanned objects.jpg

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  7. Glock

    Glock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Hi again,

    Sorry for my delay in replying.

    Richard- thanks for that, I have tried downloading several files and watching the scanner, and tbh it is quite difficult to tell, as the file numbers scanned are constantly changing. I can see a jump in numbers, but this also happens now and again without downloading any file. o_O

    I can only guess that by the sharp increase- then sudden stop, that this is it doing it's job.

    I don't know.....

    mr_yoda: thanks for the reply and for the link, I have placed the command line parameters and virus scanner path.
    As of yet, I am still unsure if it is actually working..

    I assume that because it's 'real time' scanning, then this is why it won't show in the log files?

    Then again, I have just noticed and increase in the number of:

    Web access protection, number of scanned objects.

    Is this the one also?

    Say I downloaded (EG) a pdf file of 50 pages, will it scan each page as 50 items, or the pdf as a whole= 1?

    Again, many thanks for the help and kind regards

    Kris.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.