Nod 32 and firewalls

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by leebob, Jun 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. leebob

    leebob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    I have a question regarding NOD 32AV. I have been shopping around for a new AV and firewall and have read posts about NOD 32 not " cooperating " with certain firewalls. Does it work well with Norton firewall? If not, please let me know of a good one it will work good with.Thanks in advance for the assistance.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi leebob, welcome to Wilders.

    I always setup ZoneAlarm (Free) or Look n Stop if the client wants a paid version alongside NOD32 , both firewalls are simple to use.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    I would propose the idea that Norton doesn't work very well with NOD. As Blackspear said, NOD works very well with ZA free and LnS, I have used it with those two as well as Sygate Pro and free, the Windows Firewall and now Outpost Pro with no problems. There are also people on the forums here using it with Jetico, Comodo, Ghostwall, Tiny and many others I might have missed.

    The only problems I am aware of with NOD and firewalls relate to the LSPs that NOD uses in IMON interfere with some firewalls that also use LSPs. ZA products use them when you enable IM protection. This function isn't available in their free version. Additonally, Eset is moving away from using IMON in their next version, or at least they are changing how they scan http traffic anyway.
     
  4. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    My experience is that other products don't co-operate with NOD32 - I do not see it the other way around! ;)

    I've seen instances of the Norton Firewall blocking web access on ports other than 80 and 443 - ie, control panels for web hosting - and as we're in the web hosting business, and Norton has blocked well known control panels, such as cPanel - consider Norton to be inferior and shoddily coded. Plus, our experience is that it's bloated and slows things down un-necessarily.

    This depends on your situation. If you're behind a firewall built into a broadband router, then updating your firmware and running the windows firewall can be sufficient.

    If you want more protection, then Zonealarm or agnitum are good. I hear great things from regulars here and elsewhere about look-n-stop and sygate personal was reasonable too.

    hth

    Greg
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    Norton's firewall works with nothing !!! It is really stupid firewall , by the way .
    It automatically blocks Norton processes , hate it ...

    Windows Firewall or ZoneAlarm ;)
     
  6. esco673

    esco673 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    hi, @Blackspear
    I heard a test about firewalls.
    http://www.firewallleaktester.com/tests.php
    The results for Zone Alarm Pro is good (19,5/27) but for free version not good (4/27) In free firewalls, Jetico seems better. What do you think about that?
    thanks...
     
  7. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    There`s a new build of Comodo coming out tomorrow you should give that a try too.
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi esco673, welcome to Wilders.

    To further discuss firewalls please ask this question in the Other Firewall Forum as we are in the "NOD32 Support Forum" ;) :D

    Cheers :D
     
  9. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    I think there is even already a thread asking that same question there.
     
  10. rothko

    rothko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    UK
    my Outpost license ran out recently, and as much as i like Outpost and it plays very nicely with NOD32, i don't want to renew if the Eset Suite is due sometime soon (ie within a year).

    lee
     
  11. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    I haven't used NOD yet, but am definitely interested in it.....and I've heard talk of this, but is this just speculation at this point, or more of a fact? And if they do "move away" from IMON, what will they incorporate to replace it....and will it be considered an "upgrade" or a "downgrade" by doing away with IMON? From my perspective, it seems like kind of a necessity that they may be doing away with, in all honesty.....
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Fact, told to us by Marcos.


    An upgrade, this is Eset we are talking about ;) :D


    Whatever the solution they have, it will be better than what they currently use.

    Cheers :D
     
  13. proll

    proll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    I think ZA pro is a good choice.
    ZoneAlarm Pro version:5.5.094.000 is just comfortable choice.:-*
     
  14. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    There will be a suite available that includes a firewall communicating with all other NOD32 modules, and thus improving proactive detection capabilities of ThreatSense even more. In the mean time, you can use a 3rd party firewall. I'm aware of problems with NVidia firewall only, but it is said that it collides with many other software.
     
  15. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    SunBelt's Kerio Firewall works good on one side of my dual boot and old Sygate free on the other works good also. :D
     
  16. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I recommend Sygate or GhostWall.
     
  17. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    I've used Look n' stop, kerio & sygate...
     
  18. Elwood

    Elwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Mis'sippi
    Can you tell us if this version will be compatible with Win9x? Sorry if this is considered hijacking, but I'd really like to know.

    I use Kerio 2.1.5 without problems with NOD32.
     
  19. cdr

    cdr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    143
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC USA
    I have been using NOD32 with Look 'n Stop firewall, and they work beautifully together. I have had no issues whatsoever come up with these two. IMO, they are a great team!:)
     
  20. BetterIT

    BetterIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Looknstop or Kerio 2.1.5 Free or paid have been fine & test ok + are easy to confugure for home networks compared to others.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.