No spare stackpages

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Peaches4U, Oct 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    The following problem is beyond my knowledge. I need this info. for a friend who has it. Can you please tell me what it means and how to rectify it. Thanks.

    No Spare Stackpages. Increase settings of 'MinSPs' in SYSTEM.INI. There are only 5 SP's allocated.
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    Hi Peaches,

    Can you also give some more information? Version of Windows? System configuration? Circumstances that cause the error to occur (just at first bootup? after starting some specific programs? etc.)

    People probably can make some guesses and say go into system.ini and edit this line to this value, but adding more information would really be a good idea as there may be more here than meets the eye.

    Thanks,
    LowWaterMark

    P.S. I'll move this question over to the Software & Services forum section, which is a place where it'll get more attention.
     
  3. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    Thanks LWM - The following was the message sent to me.

    "When I did the free panda virus check, I got a blue screen which said I had No Spare Stackpages. I should increase settings of 'MinSPs' in SYSTEM.INI. There are only 5 SP's allocated. Can you tell me what this means, and how do I fix it? Thanks."

    Will see if I can get more information to work with. Cheers.
     
  4. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    8,523

    I had this problem a while back. You can change the MinSPs. but I would wait like LWM said. If your friend does decide to make a change, the value must be changed in increments of 4. 4, 8, 12, 16, 20 etc. Not in order, but the value must be divisible by 4.
     
  5. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    Before making any recommendations then on new values, you ought to get the friend to post here (or send to you to post) the full current contents of system.ini as well. It'd be good to see what's there now before recommending any changes.
     
  6. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
  7. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    Well, I just directed those with this problem along with other problems to this forum cuz I know y'all will help with far greater knowledge than I can.... thanks. ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.