No Sound??

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Cochise, Aug 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Me AGAIN,

    I seem to be going from one small disaster to another!!!

    Went to play a music disc in my Windows Media Player 9.

    It would'nt play, No Sound.

    Error messages: Error, Problem getting sound information, result code =0x8878000 the request failed because Direct Sound resources, such as the priority level,were already in use by another caller. Whatever that meanso_O?
    Also in DXDIAG:- Test Direct sound, failure at Step 3, Direct Sound create, 0x88780078 (No Driver).
    Error ID=0xC00D11BA, condition ID=0x00000000.

    So there you have it Chaps and Chapesses, any ideas what I may have or have not done, I don't recall deleting anything. Do I need a Driver and if so, where from please.

    Best Regards and TIA, Cochise. :cool:
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Cochise,

    Is it just that one disc, or do you get that error everytime?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    hm I got no idea but if you check out www.oldversion.com you can try an older WinAMP and if that works then you know it's only WMP - to be honest I find WinAMP a lot nicer anyway - doesn;t try to spy on me and update itself, etc :) If nothing else, it'll let ya play your discs till you figure out that WMP problem :cool:
     
  4. Uguel707

    Uguel707 Graphic Artist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,999
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hi Cochise!

    here are some tips that may work for you

    What you can try:

    1. Open Media Player, Tools, Options, Devices. When the window pops up, double-click Speakers. Choose "Default Direct Sound Device" from the dropdown list and Apply.

    2. Try re-installing WMP9 over itself

    3. Make sure your drivers are updated

    4. In case you have that feature, sometimes a system restoration can help.

    And a link related to your problem:

    http://www.annoyances.org/exec/forum/winxp/n1042332459

    Bye,

    Uguel
     
  5. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Ladies first, thanks Uguel for your input, tried Winamp and everything else you kindly suggested except update Drivers, (don't really know where to go for that) I tried M$, didn't look like they did drivers, if they do, I couldn't find them. Had already Googled to Annoyances, it looked as tho' I wasn't alone with this problem but I didn't see any real answers. My OS is Win 98se so no Restore. Thanks again.

    Sir Pieter,

    Yep!, get the same error message with all music Cds. Programme Software install discs run Ok so it's not my CD Drive. Everything works AOK except no sound, sort of takes the edge off Pinball eh?

    Still hoping for a miracle cure.

    Byeee, Cochise. :cool:
     
  6. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Cochise,

    You're not the only one, if that is any comfort:
    http://thatforum.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=4146
    http://forums.techguy.org/t128310/s26a3e5aceae4fad78a0f5c82af74b3dc.html
    http://www.tweaknetwork.net/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=616&PN=1 <= possible solution
    http://www.annoyances.org/exec/forum/win98/r1051953571

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  7. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Good evening Pieter,
    yes, in my last message I said that it appeared I was not on my own after visiting Annoyances.

    I will have a look at your "possible solution" in mo' but just checked on a Belarc I did a couple of weeks ago, it shows in Multimedia my sound thingy as:-
    "QSound_SigmaTel Stac97 PCI Audio."
    I have just run Belarc again and the above is not shown in Multimedia!! Could that possibly be the bit I need, have already been to M$.com and searched, got Zip! so I don't think it belongs to them, any ideas in your vast knowledge bank my friend
     
  8. Dan Perez

    Dan Perez Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    1,495
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    Hey Cochise,

    I'm a bit confused (lol)

    When trying WinAmp you are still getting no sound?

    Can you hear WAVs either outside or inside of MediaPlayer?

    Thx,

    Dan
     
  9. Dan Perez

    Dan Perez Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    1,495
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
  10. Dan Perez

    Dan Perez Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    1,495
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    Lol,

    I didn't catch your latest post, Cochise, til just now.

    Definitely, if windows is not recognizing your sound card properly you will have problems hearing CDs :)

    If you go to Device Manager is your sound card listed at all there (either by the make/model or as "generic")?

    If not, you might want to go into safe mode and see if you can see it in Device manager there. If you can see it in Safe mode but not normal mode, the best thing to do is to remove it from Device Manager and reboot and let it autodetect.

    HTH,

    Dan
     
  11. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Hi Everyone,
    Downloaded Winamp, Still Zip my friends, went into Device manager Dan, under Audio just got yellow Question Mark, so obviously I am bereft of any Sound whatsoever. Off now to give DirectX a good bashing, don't go away.

    Regards Cochise.
     
  12. Dan Perez

    Dan Perez Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    1,495
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    Hey,

    You still might want DirectX but the main thing is to address the yellow mark next to the soundcard. If you go to properties on it it should give some indication of what the issue is. Usually it will be

    1. Resource Conflict

    2. Corrupt Drivers

    You want to make sure you have the drivers available on floppy or CD. As best I can tell from my searches, that device is usually embedded on a motherboard (or possibly also a PCI modem) so you might want to hunt down your CDs just in case.

    If it is a device conflict we probably won't need to remove and reinstall the drivers. So let us know :)
     
  13. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Hi Dan,
    Looked at Device Man. properties for Audio, just said update Driver but in both instances it says driver not found, even let it have a go with my Disc in, nothing!! Starting to get a little brassed off now with the whole thing, I can't understand why I lost it in the first place, one minute I had sound the next I didn't, go figure?
    Downloaded full update of DirectX (45 Minutes), didn't make any difference.
    I'm now going back to Annoyances to see if there's anything there friends.

    Cheers for now, Cochise.
     
  14. Dan Perez

    Dan Perez Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    1,495
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    Hi Cochise,

    Go ahead and go into safe mode and remove those devices from the Device manager. Also, look for additional phantom sound card entries there that were not visible in normal mode as they may interfere with the operation of the device in normal mode.

    Once they are removed reboot into normal mode and it should detect and hopefully operate fine.
     
  15. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Quite a mystery this one (especially the cause) but Dan's last post really oughta fix any recognition problem.
     
  16. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Hi All, I'm back,

    Thanks Dan and Detox and everyone else for your kind input, tried the safe mode trick and removed Audio from Device Man, re-booted, message saying driver not found?? Sorry.

    Popped along this morning to my little local IT shop, showed him what I appear to have missing:-
    "QSound_SigmaTel Stac97 PCI Audio"
    OR
    "Avance AC97 Audio for Intel(R) Audio Controller"

    Lo and Behold he said, Bring your Tower in and I will reload it from a disc, takes about Quarter of an hour!!??

    Apparently, sometimes the Audio drops out of site for no particular reason.o_O??......

    So what can I say, except thank you all so much for your efforts on my behalf.

    Very Best Regards to you all, Cochise. :cool: ;)
     
  17. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Wow, that is really odd... well at least to me and since I'm pretty n00bified... Maybe not strange lol

    Seems it though; like the driver disappeared on its own... hmph! Maybe you oughta be sure and save a copy of that driver to a disk :D

    Anyway glad it worked.. and give Winamp a try anyway I like to convert people to the non-bloated no-spy stuff :cool:
     
  18. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Thanks Detox,
    But guess what? this morning I fired up the OS to find that after the first few start up screens etc., I get 3 full windows of text about not being able to find some file in the Win.ini. Each page ends with -vnetsup.vxd, vredir.vxd and dfs.vxd respecively, followed by Press any key to continue, then a little window pops up with:-
    "Unable to load the dynamic Link Library msnp 32dll.
    The system cannot find the file specified, some or all
    of the following feature is not available:-
    Microsoft Network"
    Once I click out of that everything works as normal (except my sound of course).

    I really don't know why I bother sometimes, everyone tells me that Comps only do what you tell them but I'm beginning to wonder!!!

    Anyway, the whole shebangs going to the mending Man on Tuesday cos I've had it.

    Byeee for now Folks, Best regards, Cochise.
     
  19. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    argh I hate to hear that - let us know what is found in the end anyway. I don't believe puters only do what you tell them either - sometimes they do decide to pull some garbage nobody's ever seen before, I've seen it!
     
  20. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Hi Folks,
    Just to keep everyone upto speed, Googled "Dynamic Link Library msnp32dll" it took me to several Sites, one being microsoft Support, which covered in great detail the probs I was having......carried out all the Resolutions to the letter......not one of 'em workedo_O??......tried some of the other sites.....they didn't work either.

    I did find a Site that has every File there ready to d/l:-
    www.groovyweb.uklinux.net - that gets you to www.how-to.tk but it is loaded with rubbish and ads as well!! so I didn't bother.

    So my very nice mending man on Tuesday seems to be still on the cards.

    Byeee, Cochise. :cool: (Still Cool an' smilin' tho')
     
  21. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Hi again,

    Would any of you kind people now where I might find:-

    "Windows Audio Service" and set to Auto and Running on my Comp please. I have reason to believe that this could help with my sound prob.

    Best Regards, Cochise. :cool:
     
  22. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Cochise,

    Start > Run > services.msc > Scroll down to the W > rightclick Windows Audio Service > choose properties > on the General tab choose Automatic as the Startuptype.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  23. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Hello Pieter,
    Your going to have to start replying faster than this (LOL)

    Tried that, get a message:- "Cannot find the file "Services.msc" (or one of it's components), make sure path and file name are correct and that all required libraries are available". o_O?

    Am I in trouble or what?

    Cheers, Cochise, :cool:
     
  24. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    No, I just remembered you don´t have Win2k or XP, right?

    No use looking for services then either, I´m afraid.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  25. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    DOH!!!

    Why didn't I think of that?

    Thanks anywho Pieter.

    Best Regards. Cochise. :cool: ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.