No Script Question

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by tamba1, Oct 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tamba1

    tamba1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    UK
    Hi having browsed this forum for several hours I see MANY people referring to how excellent FF addon noscript is... Although I can understand how noscript protects you I can not understnad how so many of you sing ts praises..

    That being said I am wondering if I am doing something wrong .. because when i used it I found MOST webpages would not load properly until the various scripts were allowed.. in many cases i would allow one pae wld not load, allow another etc until eventually all scripts were loaded and so would the page o_O?? ( which kind of defeated the point of using it) ESECIALLY as I dont have much of a clue which script is safe or not.. hmmmm

    so I disabled it and found FF addon Adblock plus seemed to be a better solution for me.... BUT am keen to learn and find out how you guys use noscript ..and moreover what I have been doing wrong or NOT doing ...

    Many Thanks
    tamba1
     
  2. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Maybe its about what web sites you visit? I have found that most of the scripts that are in web sites are not necessary for me.
    Sometimes I need to allow scripts at some pages if I want to download or get a rolling menu to work, but other than that no use.
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    When some websites wont load (for example zalman.co.kr) I get something similar to:

    http://i23.tinypic.com/nwcyg9.png

    And I just click on the appropriate link and voila.
     
  4. tamba1

    tamba1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    UK
    Hmm thanks for your replies Well Sukarof and WSFuser having read your replies I thought I would try noscript again... so I reenabled it and tested a few sites and YUP it seems to be working fine ...o_Oo_O I feel really stupid ..

    Ironically when I was having the most problems with noscript the other day it was whilst surfing for answers /info to security "questions" I had so was in LOTS of sites I dont usually goto having seaarched for the info on google ..

    Another site that just would not load properly was ebay?...It looked very odd and nothing was in teh right place.. until the scripts were allowed...

    So I have re-.. enabled it and will see how it goes ... I have tested it so far on the following sites

    Amazon.com
    ebay
    paypal
    yahoo
    and quite a few others and they all seem ok ..

    So for now noscript stays :)

    Many Thanks for your help
    tamba1
     
  5. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    When I first installed NoScript, I also came across a lot of webpages that would not load properly when you blocked the script function. I had to temporarily allow for them to run to get the complete webpage. Sometimes it is hard to determine what is a malicious script from one that is legitimate. Many of the secure webpages have embedded scripts that need for them to run in order to allow you to enter information to access your account, for example. You could think to yourself, well why are there all of these blank pages when I use this browser when I got to view all of them in Internet Explorer fine? If you say, well no script can run under no circumstances, then you can avoid many possible infection vectors, but also cut yourself off from your online accounts as well.o_O :doubt:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.