No Destination Requested under Disk Backup

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by s660117, Nov 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. s660117

    s660117 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Posts:
    45
    Hi,
    Why, when I do to do a partition backup using the Recovery CD, does Paragon not prompt me for a destination for the backup?
    How can I control where the backup goes?
    Thanks,
    s660117
     
  2. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399

    Please clarify which version of software you are using, please clarify which recovery environment you are using, as well as what process you are performing and where you run into the issue where it doesn't give you an option to pick your location.
     
  3. s660117

    s660117 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Posts:
    45
    Hi, Matt. Thanks for your reply.
    I am running Paragon Hard Disk Manager 2010.
    I boot from the recovery CD and select Normal.
    I then select Partition Manager, which is the first option presented.
    I then select a partition and select Backup Partition.
    That presents a pop-up where I believe the only option is to name the backup.
    I don't see anything that asks me where I want the backup to be taken.
    I also don't see any way to back up the entire drive.
    Hope this is clear.
    S660117
     
  4. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Give the back up a name.

    I believe the next thing it will ask you for the destination - I am not familiar with the Linux cd - but I expect that will be it.
     
  5. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    Attached is a WinPE SS of the Backup partition screen and the location/name area is both, once you browse by pressing the ' ... ' and browse to the location and give it a name click the backup option and apply.

    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/801/img20351.jpg/
     
  6. s660117

    s660117 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Posts:
    45
    Matt,
    Thanks. Yes, of course now I see where the destination can be coded.
    One other curiosity that I stumbled upon, though --
    If I take a full drive backup using the Recovery CD, the backup is written to a set of Img_DO... files instead of the "arc" files written to when a backup is taken with Paragon Hard Disk Manager running under windows.
    What's more, the backup - the Img_DO files, are not visible from PHDM running under Windows and there is no way to cleanly delete those files from the CD.
    Am I missing something here?
    s660117
     
  7. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    I don't know what the question is.

    If you want to delete a backup image , just rt click it and delete in windows explorer - like any other file.

    Is that the question?
     
  8. s660117

    s660117 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Posts:
    45
    SIW2,
    What I was trying to say is that the archive file generated by performing a disk backup using the recovery CD does not appear on the archive window displayed when running Paragon under windows and so cannot be deleted from there.
    Of course the archive can be deleted using Windows, but you need to know what you're deleting.

    Archives.jpg
     
  9. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I prefer that Paragon doesn't make changes to the HD when it's running. If I'm imaging with the CD then it means I want the HD static and that means no program is writing into the Paragon database. Normally, I do everything from within Windows.

    It should be easy to see what you need to delete since Paragon typically uses a folder for each archive and all the files are contained within it. I speak only of full images, I don't know what it does with differentials and incrementals.

    Within Paragon running in Windows try adding the missing archive to the database and then deleting it with the Paragon command.
     
  10. s660117

    s660117 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Posts:
    45
    seekforever,
    Thanks for your reply.
    You write "Paragon typically uses a folder for each archive and all the files are contained within it". But that is only the case when a backup is taken by running Paragon under Windows. If I take a hard disk backup using the CD, Paragon writes to a series of individual files starting with "Img_D0". These files are not among those displayed under the Archives window.
    I take a backup using the CD by selecting "Normal" on the first window, then Paragon Hard Disk Manager on the next. I then select the Hard Disk pull-down menu and finally choose "Backup Hard Disk". On that pop-up window, the Archive Name is listed as "(HDD1/Part0/Img_D0.pbf)". I have not tried over-riding this with a folder name.
    s660117
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.